We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service and facilities for this rate” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Laodeum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Laodeum
Ranked #86 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Tuebingen
1 review
“poor service and facilities for this rate”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The room looks nice but for the rate the facilities and mainly the service is lacking. The staff is lazy and after 10pm ithey are sleeping at the reception and are bothered by customers going outside or just having a smoke outside in this non-smoking guesthouse. You even need a torch since they switch of the lights. Minibar is an empty fridge.
After telling the remote of the outdated chinese tv isn't working they just replaced the batteries and went straight to bed, ignoring the fact/comment that it's broken.
Not willing to pay 40 bucks for that kind of service.
This guesthouse is overpriced concerning the service and facilities. Looks nice on the first sight, that's all.Get something worth the money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goetz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    40
    16
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
41
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
296 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We chose this hotel due to its location- perfectly located near the night markets and river and attractions. The rooms are small but clean. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is adequate. The manager woke us up to see the monks in the morning and that was worth doing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrishyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We are very luck to book this giest house as there are only 8 rooms in this guest house. The staff and owner are very friendly to help and offer tour information for us.

The guest house is located in only 3 mins to National Museum and night market. And the monk will pass by this guest house at 6 am every day.

The room is wooden style, very clean and comfortable. The free breakfast is wonderful with Lao Coffee and season fruit, bread, eggs,

I strongly recommend when you travel Luang Prabang, this guest house is the only choice. When I come back, I will stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amandachang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Nice and helpful staff. Cost / benefit excellent. I felt like at home.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuizSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
401 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

This is a very nice guesthouse in a great location and close to the pier with restaurants close by. The property is very nice and the terrace area has some tables for breakfast and is a nice place to relax. We had read that the rooms are a bit small, but in fact showed larger in. The room was extremely clean and the bed was quite comfortable.

The included breakfast is delicious with a selection of sandwiches and eggs served various ways with a baguette. You also get a selection of coffee, tea and a fruit place.

Honorable mentions would be the mini fridge, complimentary water, coffee & tea station on the terrace, the free map and glass of juice upon arrival.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fancytravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

Coming back to Villa Laodeum feels like coming home. The owner and staff remember me, though seem as helpful and friendly to new comers as they are towards me. True the second floor rooms have more space and I always request one of these. The place is just a block from Mekong River and near the night market, ideally located to explore Luang Prabang on foot. Rooms are on the small side, but cozy, clean and nicely decorated, with very comfortable beds. Nice terrace for hanging out during the day, good breakfast and free wifi and airport pick up and drop off. Nice touch is 2 free bottles of water a day that come in refillable glass bottles, so they don't contribute to plastic bottle waste.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms in general better than downstairs rooms, though in some cases no difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mocona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

Staff is first rate, location superb, a block from Mekong bluffs. One block to Night Market, perfect location. Family run with attentive and kind staff who aimed to please. In the early morning, the monks file right by the guesthouse with their alms bowls. Great breakfast on the veranda, wonderful budget wise room rates, A/C, television (BBC, CNN, etc.) endless hotwater, giant shower. The owner speaks excellent English, will make local arrangements for bike rentals, day touring, river boating, etc.
I've stayed here several times and certainly will again! Sok Dee, Sayvanh!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Airlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#35 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salakphet Guesthouse
Salakphet Guesthouse
#71 of 135 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phounsab Guesthouse
Phounsab Guesthouse
#29 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#15 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Saykham
Villa Saykham
#11 of 135 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#17 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Laodeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Laodeum

Property: Villa Laodeum
Address: Ban Choumkhong, Ounheuan Rd, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Laodeum 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Laodeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing