We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in Luang Prabang”

L'Elephant Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 205 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Fine dining in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

L'Elephant is one of the nicest and most expensive restaurants in Luang Prabang. (And it's still not very expensive by big city standards: under $100 for three-course dinner and drinks for two people.) The cuisine and ambiance are truly fine dining, and the attentive service makes for a pleasant, relaxed meal. We couldn't resist the French menu, so we shared the eggplant appetizer (divine) and meat entrees (both the steak and the lamb were delicious). Dessert was nice but not particularly memorable. Since the majority of your meals in Luang Prabang can be extremely cheap, it's worth treating yourself to at least one dinner at L'Elephant!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gkincaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    430
    155
    47
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sant Pol de Mar, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best meal of the year (so far)”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We we're recommend this restaurant by le Maison Dalabua for excellent French food, and they helped us with a reservation which maybe wasn't necessary.

We started with a pair of mini quiches while ordering, then lovely baguette (among the best baguette in Asia?). My partner enjoyed her onion soup with Swiss cheese on top for a tastier, delicious soup; excellent. I enjoyed my salad with Roquefort dressing.

For mains we had a Magret de Canard (duck)- beautiful, flavorful and with lovely potatoes labelled as hash browns (I would probably have called them scalloped potatoes); great taste regardless of the name. I enjoyed the Mekong "perch" which was firm and rich in flavor, in a cream sauce. Also excellent.

For desserts we had a lime sorbet- refreshing and cool- and what we thought was to be a fruit plate but appeared as a pineapple cake, but also very nice.

Service was excellent, and we agreed that this has been our best meal this year. And nice being able to pay with a credit card. Although you can find less expensive restaurants around town, I think this represents excellent value: two people with a three course dinner for under $60!

Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taolxd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Outstanding French cuisine (especially the onion soup)”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Quite expensive for Laos, but well worth the cost as the cuisine (note that I don't use the noun food) was outstand. A wonderful change from other local restaurants and hotels.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandil, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We really enjoyed eating at L´Elephant and recommend making a reservation to ensure a nice table on the verandah. The service was very good and so was the food.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank jlp-arg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, nice atmosphere...”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Went here twice during our stay in LPB... ended up having more or less the same food :-) Really liked the food and the service. One of those rare places where you can actually feel you are eating at a more fancy restaurant while still being able to bring your messy two-year old. Staff was very good in serving us, as well as entertaining her. Will definitely come back... probably for their Luangprabang style creamed mushroom soup and buffalo medallions with black pepper sauce.

Helpful?
Thank Nils C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Elephant Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to L'Elephant Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing