We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Elephant Restaurant

L'Elephant Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 198 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent quality French and Lao food. A welcome option if one has had many days of Asian food and longs for a bit of good class French. We eat here four nights in a row.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank hrcollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    399
    145
    42
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food with awesome ambience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

If want to have dinner with little style L’elephant is the place to be. The ambience is mind-blowing. Though it gets quiet populated as it gets late but if you go for an early dinner you will be not be disappointed. Food is delicious and nicely presented but what impressed me most is their good selection of wine which ranges from high quality which can be on the expensive side to good, cheaper wine. The staffs are well mannered and speak good English. It’s a great place to spend romantic, cozy evening with your better half.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBmorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best food for an expensive and overly busy restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

We snuck into this place by being early diners, as we had no reservation on a Friday night. (Got my first mosquito bite in Laos here, thanks to the watering of the plants surrounding the open air edge of the cafe.) It was slow service despite the many waiters and the fact that we were the first guests of the evening, and the food was really not very impressive. I think perhaps it sacrifices flavor in favor of "fine dining" food options, and the result was that my lamb shank was decent but heavy and less tender and flavorful than I'd anticipated. My husband was equally unimpressed with his meal, and it was the most expensive meal we had in Luang Prabang. Doubt we'd go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank melroyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not Just Delicious Food but a Total Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

A visit to Luang Prabang is just not complete without at least one evening at L'Elephant Restaurant. It is simply the place to be! The menu is made to suit all palates and tastes, including, of course, a section for Lao food. The food never disappoints. It is always excellent and well-presented. A lot of imagination in the preparation of the dishes only serves to enhance the culinary experience. The restaurant has a good selection of wines, which can be a bit on the expensive side, but they are of high quality and it offers good, acceptable, cheaper wine in a pichet too. The service is impeccable. It's interesting just to observe the subtle efficiency of the staff. Everyone knows their place and role. Even when the evening's at its most hysterical (which it can be!), composition and professionalism on behalf of the staff pervades the place. They are amazing! I have not experienced any delays in getting my food even though I've been there when they've been, or should have been, overwhelmed by the sheer numbers of demanding guests. The staff are always there when you need them and there is no feeling of any stress, just friendly, accommodating and personal service. There are, for me, few restaurants anywhere in the world whose ambiance can be compared to that of L'Elephant Restaurant in Luang Prabang. There is just something very special about the premises as such. So, add to that what I've written above about the food, the wines and the service, this equates, in my book, to everything that I want from my ideal restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Over rated and overpiced French bistro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We thought it would be nice to push the boat out and have memorable last evening in Luang Prabang, so having read of this place, booked it three days ahead.
The restaurant purports to provide high end dining and is certainly priced accordingly but whilst the staff are all immaculately turned out, they lack training and understanding; I frequently had to call for attention and they could not even understand our food order, bringinging us two Margarita cocktails instead of two magret de canard, despite already having seved us our wine.
The food is tasty and nicely presented but lacks any sophistication and of a standard that one would find in most European neighbourhood restaurants. By European standards it is in inexpensive, but not for Lao.
The one highlight is the extensive wine list, which includes some Grand Cru wines, but at a price.
There are reviews that suggest this restaurant is worthy of a Michelin star, I can only assume that these are posted by people have have never eaten at a Michelin rated restaurant.
In all a pleasant enough dinner but save your money and eat in some of the fine Lao restaurants nearby.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Elephant Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to L'Elephant Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing