We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic but Expensive”

L'Elephant Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic but Expensive”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The food is really a treat, it is absolutely fantastic. However, I found it a little expensive, probably paying more than I would in a western country for similar quality.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phi_phiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    411
    148
    43
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great food, classy ambiance. Certainly caters to tourists but doesn't feel like a trap and stays true to Lao cooking and culture. This was our last meal of the trip: it's a bit on the fancy side, and higher price range - but of course in Southeast Asia, that still means really affordable. It was a perfect way to end our excellent trip.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank vamostb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Really fantastic place,with very good food,service is excellent,
Noy the waitress she was very polite and efficient!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WerdmullerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best food in Asia!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Cut a long story short my best food experience in all of Asia. We visited Thailand, Vietnam & Laos and this gem of a restaurant was the best on the Asia leg if our round the world trip. Order the vegetarian selection and the suggestion & you will not go wrong :) a stal at around £40 for a couples meal including drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NodarK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
220 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent food & service & ambiance”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Excellent food & service & ambiance. US$20 for the taste of Cambodia - 9 stunning dishes (the Western food costs more) - best meal I had in Laos

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Elephant Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to L'Elephant Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing