We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good choice”

L'Elephant Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 203 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very good choice”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Walking by the restaurant in the afternoon we were attracted by the ambience, checked the menu and decided to return for dinner.

Any trip to Luang Prabang deserves a meal at this fine French restaurant. A little pricier than most but far ahead in quality and service.

We dined about 6:30 PM If the restaurant becomes crowded it would be after our departure at 8PM

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elewis877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    422
    151
    45
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent intro to Laos cuisine in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were fortunate to be seated without a reservation on our first night in Luang Prabang and Laos and so pleased with our decision to go there.
The ambience, food and service were excellent.We would happily have returned to eat there again but with only 3 nights in Luang Prabang there were other places we wanted to try as well!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Could eat here everyday”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is exactly the type of place you hope you find on a romantic vacation - cozy, charming, a great wine list and amazing, amazing food. After traveling through SE Asia for a few weeks, I was a little sick of Asian food, and where I live you cannot get good French food. So I was in heaven eating creamy pumpkin soup, a delicious salad with a big hunk of brie, a cheesy cannolini pasta dish, and wonderful creme brulee for dessert. Yes it was a huge meal. My husband and I loved it so much that we went back for dinner the very next night.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WalkerTalker1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great food in a great setting”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I have been eating at L'Elephant since they opened over ten years ago. The restaurant is set in a colonial period-style building which is open along two walls.

It is always a delight to dine here. The service is courteous and attentive. It is often very crowded so one has to wait for a table or dine in their small space that normally serves a raw menu.

Classic French and Lao cuisine are offered. The owners grow their own vegetables and herbs and source other foods locally when possible. A variety of meats, fish, and vegetarian courses are available. There is a changing daily menu as well as set menus if one doesn't want to dine a la carte.

The chocolate mousse is my favourite!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrMcinBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lao-French”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

With a week in Luang Prabang we decided to go for classic French food for one meal and we were not disappointed. An excellent Bordaux-Medoc (best of our trip) was a pleasant surprise. The specials of the evening were very good - an outstanding warm pureed veggie soup had a dash of Lao flavor. Our main courses of duck and (I succumbed) entrecote de boeuf were delicious. All the vegetables and herbs are picked fresh daily from the restaurants own gardens on the outskirts of town.

Service was very good. The atmosphere fits Luang Prabang... a wide open veranda with teak furniture. Nothing fancy but it really works

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank idefixaegean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Elephant Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to L'Elephant Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing