We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food busy restaurant”

L'Elephant Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 205 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Notts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very good food busy restaurant”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This restaurant was busy little place and no wonder the food was delicious. I had the best coq au vin I have ever eaten, certainly not average by my book. My only criticism is that the tables for two are really a bit too close together at the front of the restaurant but then there is a demand so who can blame them? Reserve as there is a demand for this restaurant we couldnt get in on the first night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JammyNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    430
    155
    47
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average French Food”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nothing realy waow in this restaurant, no decoration just tables. Concerning the food better go to La Belle Epoque at the Luang Say Hotel. We had a untasty terrine of boar, followed by a duck which was really tough with a undescrible sauce full of cornstach. Dessert are alo not really interesting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Many of the tourists that were with me went for the international menu, but don't miss the local menu. Delicious food! The service is excellent!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank viajero2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in LP”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great food...book as soon as you get to LP as they are usually booked up for 2-3 days ahead especially if you want to sit outside. Superb service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gezspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Loved the Lao set menu”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I gave this a lower rating because we were recommended to visit this restaurant and try the tasting plate. After a period of trying to locate this on the menu we asked for assistance to find that so little English was spoken that we had no hope of getting any assistance. We tried to get help from all of the waiters. This is a common situation in LP. We revisited the menu several times determined to find our desired food and to be fair, it wasn't called a tasting plate. It was a 5 course set menu. Anyway it was worth the determination and we left both delighted at recommendation. We would have returned had it there not been a need to try other TA restaurant recommendations in our 6 days stay.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sallylyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Elephant Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to L'Elephant Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing