We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go ahead and treat yourself”

L'Elephant Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 203 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Ft. Thomas, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Go ahead and treat yourself”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This restaurant approaches state-side prices (USA) but was worth it. We had a fabulous meal and a table that was outside with plants for privacy. Best glass of wine in a month of Indochina travels, and that was buying by the glass. I had the beef medallions with pepper sauce, my friend had buffalo tartare - she loved it. I loved mine. Cooked exactly as I asked it to me and french style french fries came with both. We ate every bite of everything we ordered. Two other friends joined us a bit later so we sat with them while they ate. They were also very happy with their meals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargaritaConSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    422
    151
    45
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really good French food in Lao”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The food is really quite delicious. Only dish that was so so was the Buffalo Mozzarella and tomatoes, the cheese was just not great. However both French mains were excellent! Highly recommended after weeks of good Lao food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank drreinisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Apparently the finest French restaurant in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Well, we'll never know if it really stands up to the reputation as we only went to one French restaurant on our trip to Luang Prabang. It was good but didn't quite blow us away. Look, I'm not expecting a 3 star michelin restaurant in Luang Prabang but I did expect a little more from what is supposed to be the best French restaurant in a French colonial town filled with French tourists. I was so impressed by French restaurants in Hanoi so I think that is where I had set my expectations. The duck breasts with Matoom sauce was nice, and the buffalo tartare was a novelty. Maybe we would have been more impressed if we weren't told about it beforehand. A nice and much needed break over all from several days of eating a variety of the same few dishes in Lao food though.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank trevostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great French Fusion, nice ambience”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

L Elephant turned out to be the best French restaurant in Luang Prabang. There were 11 of us and almost all of us enjoyed good value for money meals. By all accounts, it is inexpensive. I would strongly recommend anyone who loves French food to give it a try. Reservations recommended..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffmachoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“do not miss this”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

we were lucky , no reservation, but we had a table the evening we decided to have dinner at L'Elephant in Luang Prabang, :Laos
the service is excellent - the restaurant is simple decorated, but it is all about the food
everything was perfect - try the Mekongh fish in butter

we will come back for sure

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Elephant Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to L'Elephant Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing