We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in luang prabang”

L'Elephant Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 203 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best restaurant in luang prabang”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Spent a week in luang prabang and tried quite a few restaurants. Hands down, this was the best meal we had in LP and the service was exceptional. Actually was the best meal we had through both cambodia and Laos in our one month of travel!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    422
    151
    45
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth WA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had the set menu and were delighted with the meal. So reasonably priced and the food was wonderful. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaviniaPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had the set Lao menu, which gave us a taste of a variety of different dishes from starter, main to dessert. All of it was delicious and beautifully presented. The ambience in the restaurant is lovely, and all in all the perfect place for an enjoyable evening out. I would recommend that you eat here atleast once during your stay.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finlay122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good Lao set menu”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had seen recommendations for L'Elephant and so booked a table as part of our organised trip. Although the French menu looked delicious we felt we ought to try the Lao set menu which was excellent, repeated many of the dishes we'd learnt on our cookery course at Roots and Leaves with some extras. Glad to have booked a table as the restaurant filled up quickly, plenty of helpful staff and the service was very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T00ts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Le Elephant Vert..... Different and inspirational”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We dined at Le Elephant Vert, the set Lao dinner menu was very reasonable and provided us with a totally different dining experience.
It isn't yet as popular as its well known sister restaurant next door, as Le Elephant Vert is a Vegan restaurant serving mostly raw food.
Don't be put off..... I think it's very brave and deserves to do very well.
I have since researched the author of the a menu and purchased her wonderful cookery book.
It's upmarket, superb wine, excellent value, super healthy, using locally sourced very fresh ingredients. It should be a very hip place to dine..... Perhaps Luang Prabang isn't quite ready for it yet?

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mintymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Elephant Restaurant also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to L'Elephant Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing