We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book elsewhere”
Review of Villa Maly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Maly
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Book elsewhere”
Reviewed January 10, 2011

My family should have stayed here for 7 days as part of a tour over a 3 week period. We were all bitterly disappointed as it was supposed to be a "Deluxe" hotel. Our 2 rooms were small and dark and several sockets in each room didnt work. We had to re-organise the lamps in the room so that we could access the wardrobe/safe as this area was pitch black - you couldnt even see the safe to access it unless you opened the front door and then you were on full display to the pool area whilst trying to get into your safe. The bathrooms were totally ineffectual and my daughters had to sit sideways when using the toilet in their room as the there wasnt enough leg room due to the huge "pots" they place the wash basins in. The restaurant I would only class slightly better than a cafe and the breakfasts left a lot to be desired -stale bread and cakes and not a lot of choice. The worst part is how close the grounds are to local properties which are literally at the side of the fences. Brochure desription says "tranquil gardens". Wrong - we had to endure music daily from 8am to 11pm from the local houses. We complained to the hotel 3 times over a couple of days and they did nothing. We asked to be moved, but there were no other rooms available, plus the property is exceptionally small so you could hear the music everywhere you went. We were just told that it is usually quiet and the locals must be having a party. In the end we driven to distraction and contacted our travel agent back in Manchester who thankfully got us transferred to another hotel which was so much better. I wish I had read trip advisor before booking this hotel and this is the first time I have ever commented on a hotel, but definitely not worth the money and definitely not Deluxe by any standard - I would say a guest house at best. The current room rate was $350 per night!!! And we had to pay £40 per person for Christmas Dinner - this was compulsory and to be honest vastly overpriced. Thankfully we were transferred out on the 23rd December. The Manager eventually came to see us as we were waiting to leave and she really didnt care about our concerns at all. Our tour guide informed us that when she had been shown around the hotel, the management had shown her the deluxe rooms in another part of the hotel, not the rooms that we had been allocated. A bitterly disappointing (and costly) experience.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluejr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    229
    45
    22
    2
See reviews for
133
347
70
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We stayed at Villa Maly during our honeymoon, the hotel is quite beautiful and very comfortable, the staff is very nice, the swimming pool is great, but the prices felt too expensive. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, with almost only Western food and a very annoying music playing in loop. It's still a nice place to stay, but there might be much better value options in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artemiss0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Booked on-line through Adoga, not the best price,should have booked direct.
Outstanding service,charming on-suite room with a terrace. Table and chairs on the terrace with outside lighting and fan.Beautiful gardens around the centre pool. I watched the gardners crop the palm trees and was brought a fresh coconut with a grin. Breakfast was fine and i ate in the resturant a couple of times which was also good. The staff are just so friendly. Sabadii

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Will be checking out in the morning and Villa Maly has been a joy.
The rooms are lovely, even up in the eaves! Have seen bigger, brighter rooms which may have been nicer but no complaints. Bathroom is quirky but it works. Breakfast is more than adequate, Service is excellent. All the staff are really nice.
The location is fantastic. A really easy walk to the main areas of town. The pool is great to visit at the end of a day wandering.
The Lao people are wonderful, happy, smiley and not at all pushy. Tuk Tuk? No thanks. No problem!
The almost perfect? Asked for laundry to be returned on hangers...came back folded. Last night, no turn down service which means no mosquito spray and no net put down. Deal breakers? No. We could do all that ourselves. Would we return? I would say yes. This is a lovely place in a lovely place.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeijingPandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We never spend much time in our hotel, we want centrally located, safe, clean, quiet, private bathroom and A/C. We got that and more at this hotel. The staff was exceptionally nice as they arranged tuk-tuks to our restaurants at night. There was a restaurant where we ate an included breakfast each day - the croissants were like what we had in France. We didn't eat dinner at the restaurant - we like to go out in the evenings. The only thing bad about our room was that it had a post in the center of it and there was no electric outlet in the bathroom so my husband had to string an extension cord to shave.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovestravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We stayed at Villa Maly in October 2009 as part of a package they were running with their sister boat cruise down the Mekong and so had a really great rate for our first two nights. For that price, it was a bargain and we adored the beautiful pool area which we found really peaceful and luxurious. We had one of the ground floor rooms by the pool which we found really spacious although - as other reviewers have mentioned - the design of the bathrooms is bizarre with lots of dividing walls which makes it seem a lot smaller than it actually is. Still all beautifully done up though. Restaurant staff were really friendly and the breakfast was great.

We liked the place enough to want to extend our stay and that's when we were a bit shocked about the prices!! The rack rates here are extortionate and after a quick conversation with the manager he halved it almost instantly (so definitely look for a deal!) - the price they want might be appropriate in a luxury hotel in a major city but it's ludicrous in Luang Prabang and if you can't get a deal on the price there is much better value elsewhere. We also found the prices of beer and phone calls($4 a minute internationally) ridiculous when you can get both for about 10% of the price 5 minutes down the road. Seems like the hotel is just hoping its customers are well-off enough to not care but it felt like they were taking advantage.

Location is about a safe 15 minute walk to town and restaurants which was OK for us and the benefit of being a little way from the town centre is enough land to have a pool which was great on the very hot days we had!

So, on balance, recommended if you get a deal on the room rate and don't buy anything else at the hotel but otherwise not the best value.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBug1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Our main issue with this place was it is completely overpriced. The room is fine with a small bathroom and the pool area is nice - but its more like a guest house that is pricing itself like a luxury hotel.

We were originally given a 'deluxe' room in the main building in the eaves and asked to change rooms as it was very very small especially given the room rate of $295. They gave us a larger room by the pool which was apparently a standard room but felt substantially bigger.

Having notified the hotel of our flight time the night before our early morning departure, we stood waiting for our airport transfer only to find out that they hadn't arranged it and so we had to wait another 10 minutes for a tuk tuk to arrive! As we sat freezing in the back of the tuk tuk, we really couldn't believe that this was their 'airport transfer' - it just confirmed to us that this place is a long way off a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marni26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
289 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maly

Property: Villa Maly
Address: 75 Oupalath Khamboua Road | Ban That Luang Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maly 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Lao royalty, today Villa Maly is an exquisite boutique hotel, surrounded by luscious tropical gardens. Its rooms evoke the subdued elegance and creative touches of a bygone time. The hotel's 33 guest rooms are each subtly created to incorporate time-honored Laotian architecture with an essence of the Colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Maly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maly Hotel Luang Prabang
Maly Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing