We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, quiet yet near the sights”
Review of Villa Maly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Maly
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2009

A lovely hotel We had a great stay and I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NosherEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for Villa Maly
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

556 - 562 of 779 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2009

Yes, there are those roosters nearby and the bathrooms are awkwardly designed but why focus on those things when you can mention the pleasant ambiance, lovely outdoor room for breakfast, the gardens, and the nice pool area. The main building was the former home of a Laotian prince. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wynnetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2009

Luang Prabang doesn't have too many choices for upscale accommodations, so I was glad to find Villa Maly. The main building and lobby is like a grand villa and the rooms all feel like special guest quarters. The beds are super comfy! My room was really beautiful and spacious. I thought the staff was very friendly, too.

The design of the hotel is not so typically Asian, but something along the lines of French Colonial. It was nice to stay in a hotel with a historical feel to it. The bathrooms have a funky design, very hip and modern - but needs to be more functional.

I heard some corporate guy there talking with some guests and the GM. I think he was doing a site inspection or something and because the hotel is quite new, they are listening to guest feedback and making some changes.

I also liked the location. It was a quiet neighborhood, but within walking distance to the night market (great!) and other monuments like Pousse Mountain/Temple.

I really enjoyed my stay here. It was comfortable, relaxing and well worth the price. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank sushibananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Check-in was very quick and easy. Pool area is VERY nice, with ample lounges. Room is quite small with windows that provide no noise insulation at all. Hotel is situated next door to a rooster farm that prevents you from sleeping past 5:15am. The bathroomwas VERY poorly designed. Shower is not enclosed, so you freeze while you're showering. Shower has a small shelf big enough only for 2 mini shampoo bottles and nothing else, so all toiletries, soap, washcloth have to be put on the floor of the shower. bathroom has nowhere to put any toiletries at all. there is a small cart that holds the soap, hand towel and wash cloths which is placed in front of the sink, so there is very little room to stand in the bathroom. Room has fat-screen TV.
Does not accept American Express.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank U2NyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank giank66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank lucia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
770 reviews
0.9 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
814 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 68 in Luang Prabang
653 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maly

Address: 75 Oupalath Khamboua Road | Ban That Luang Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $99 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maly 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Lao royalty, today Villa Maly is an exquisite boutique hotel, surrounded by luscious tropical gardens. Its rooms evoke the subdued elegance and creative touches of a bygone time. The hotel's 33 guest rooms are each subtly created to incorporate time-honored Laotian architecture with an essence of the Colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Maly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maly Hotel Luang Prabang
Maly Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing