We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at Villa Maly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Just back from our holiday in Luang Prabang. We really enjoyed our staying at villa Maly, classy hotel with plenty of old "charme".the property is very well kept, the bedding is good, breakfast delicious with quality products ,local fair trade honey and jams,good coffee and teas (they also cater green tea, additional good point for someone like me who doesn't drink black or coffee), plenty of fruits,crepes and savoury dishes like rice, eggs etc.you can also ask for omelets that are very good. A big thank you to Marie Helene who has well advise us on activities and restaurants and has help made our holiday even better. My husband and I will highly recommend villa Maly

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank romana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Romana b,

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciated our services. Indeed, we strive to make every guest’s stay at Villa Maly a satisfying and enjoyable experience.

Best regards

F.Lehmann
Deputy General Manager
Appletree Hospitality Laos: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 911 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

The location is very good, just a 10-15 min walk to the city center and the night market. The service was satisfactory, they can help you arrange tours and acivities. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast is ok but there is not much option. Overall a very nice hotel but a bit expensive for this country.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Dear Sonkon,

Thank you for having taken the time to share a comment during your recent visit to Villa Maly. The comments and opinions of our guests are of extreme importance to us as it is the primary mean of ensuring that our high quality standards remain consistent.
We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciated our services. Indeed, we strive to make every guest’s stay at Villa Maly a satisfying and enjoyable experience.

Best Regards

F.Lehmann
Deputy General Manager
Appletree Hospitality Laos: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Having been to LP a few times we deviated from our favourite hotel & tried this one as we had friends staying nearby.
To summarise, it's a perfectly ok choice but for the price there are better options in LP with exquisite rooms.

The good:
- it has a clean pool!
- gorgeous well maintained gardens,
- easy check inn & staff with a good level of English,
- a clean room with several sitting chairs & lots of light,
- expansive buffet breakfast, plentiful coffee refills. Do order an omelet - the one I had was delicious
- there are mosquito nets which are draped over the bed posts guaranteeing a mosquito free sleep. We didn't notice many Mosquitos at the hotel with the exception of dusk.

The average:
- there would have been a dozen sunbeds which was not sufficient for the number of guests. We were disappointed that we couldn't obtain a sunbed at times. Why not put sunbeds where you have a dining table setup?
- hotel restaurant food was average (actually my husband said his western sandwich was pretty good) and commanded high prices for Laos. I think places should be upfront and include taxes etc in the advertised rates.
- The ease at which you could order drinks from the pool varied tremendously with the bar been left unattended for large periods of time during our stay
We noticed other guests just buying beer & drinks at the local shop (even baguettes & a pizza) & drinking them by the pool so maybe we should have been more prepared like them ha
- No poolside bathroom and no bathroom at the restaurant - only one in the reception area - really?
- the room decor. When you arrive you are greeted by this beautiful wooden lobby. The rooms have exquisite furniture which is beautiful. But..I was so disappointed that every piece of timber in the room had been painted in colour (yes even the beams & floorboards). Combined with the hideous pink the room was painted it just ruined the room - I'm sure it had so much potential. The bathroom is pokey and very dark. My husband found it very difficult to even have enough light for shaving.
Why are there no proper pillows? And why is there no where to put your bathroom amenities in the shower? The turndown service consisted of putting brochures on our bed & leaving cheap candy. No quick room tidy up or emptying bathroom bins to be seen here.
- the rooms are noisy. We were woken up both nights by guests returning to their rooms and gossiping in the hall. We also heard noise from the pool. Perhaps if we had upgraded our room there might have been less rooms in the block.
- we called the hotel on the number on their website for several hours before we landed but no one answered. When we enquired about this on check in, all they said was 'we don't know'
- although not the hotels fault, the other guests ruined our stay. There was a particularly noisy group of young people who insisted on playing their own music loudly by the pool, swearing continuously, consuming the entire pool with their blow up floaties and making lots of noise in the corridor when they got back at night. A tricky one.

We're glad to have tried it but won't be returning for our next weekend trip

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 665kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear 665kate,

We thank you for having taken the time to fill in a comment regarding your recent visit to Villa Maly.The comments and opinions of our guests are of extreme importance to us as it is the primary mean of ensuring that our high quality standards remain consistent.

We strive to make every guest’s stay at Le Villa Maly a satisfying and enjoyable experience.We are sorry to learn that the general quality of our property fell far short of what you were expected, and for that we apologize.

We have taken notice on the different points you have mentioned as average, and will work on each of them one by one.

Kind Regards,

F.Lehmann
Deputy General Manager
Appletree Hospitality Laos: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Very nice hotel, good location, nice swimming pool, ... all the family enjoy the stay. Pimaï in Luang Prabang is a very interesting experience. We recommand for any family to have a nice stay in this world heritage town of Lao PDR.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear Olivier G,

We first would like to thank you for the time taken to share your experience.

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and appreciated our services. Indeed, we strive to make every guest’s stay at Le Villa Maly a satisfying and enjoyable experience.

Best regards

F.Lehmann
Deputy General Manager
Appletree Hospitality Laos: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Off the busy Main Street this little gem of an Inn is worthy of comment. Well managed and maintained, this older hotel is quaint and picturesque. The pool is nice (cold) and the grounds are just lovely. The staff are very helpful and courteous. Dining by the pool is very pleasant on a nice evening. As an aside, there is a local barber down the street (left turn from the front door ) who gives an awesome haircut for $2.75

Room Tip: Ground floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saffron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great and quiet location close to the main attraction in Town.attentive and warm welcome beautiful traditional Colonial home and decor.
Pool area is in the middle of a lush tropical garden. Room overlooking the pool is quiet, a bit
small and dark, bathroom is not very practical and electrical plugs need revision.
Nevertheless, it's an ideal spot to spend à couple of days.
A spécial appreciation to Marie Hélène the resident Manager for her help and assistance.
My wife needed medical help and she accompanied us to the Emergency Room in the local Hospital and spent extra time to take care of us. Never experienced such dedication in more
Than 30 years of international travelling.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean claude V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I think it's Lonely Planet that says your pulse drops instantly when you get to Luang Prabang. Well, not quite but it plummeted to delirious levels when I arrived at Villa Maly. It's a peaceful oasis of old indochine charm. Nice rooms (although my bathroom was a tad cramped), excellent service all round , good breakfast. The pool is lovely if a little small to try to do any serious laps but I suspect I'm in the minority on that desire. I had a much needed and much appreciated relaxing 5 night sojourn here and would certainly return. Two relatively minor criticisms: I think they could ditch the poolside music. It's kind of unnecessary and when you have a room by the pool all you hear is this slightly annoying noise, not quite music but a vague noise. Also, it's nice to have your bed turned down in the evening but leaving the brochures for spa and tours on the bed smacks of the hard sell, which this refined establishment doesn't need to do. But overall a fine experience and one I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LakembaKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 71 in Luang Prabang
683 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
758 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maly Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maly Boutique Hotel

Address: 75 Oupalath Khamboua Road | Ban That Luang Village, Luang Prabang 84330, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $109 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maly Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Lao royalty, today Villa Maly is an exquisite boutique hotel, surrounded by luscious tropical gardens. Its rooms evoke the subdued elegance and creative touches of a bygone time. The hotel's 33 guest rooms are each subtly created to incorporate time-honored Laotian architecture with an essence of the Colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Villa Maly Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maly Hotel Luang Prabang
Maly Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing