We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel in wonderful Luang Prabang”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Maly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Maly
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel in wonderful Luang Prabang”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This wonderful hotel is a very good basis to explore Luang Prabang and the surrounding area. The breakfast and dinner options are a nice combination of Lao and French food, which match very well.
The staff is very helpful for exploring options other than only in Luang Prabang itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MM74KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear MM74KL,
I would like to thank you very much for posting this message and sharing with us your experience at Villa Maly.
I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again, MM74KL, in a near future. In the mean time, I wish you a great day.
Warm regards

A. de Boynes
Operations Manager - Laos
Apple Tree properties: Villa Maly, Kamu Lodge, Nava Mekong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    225
    44
    22
    2
See reviews for
128
325
64
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Villa Maly is a quiet oasis within a 10 minute walk to the busy night market and central town area of Luang Prabang. A complimentary shuttle service is available taking you where ever you wish, but the walk is easy and the local people are friendly. When you give them a smile or a wave, they beam back to you a warmth that is true.

The rooms at Maly are exceptionally clean and functional, the beds are large and comfy and the a/c is strong. The washroom, despite being large and a lovely almost art-decco look, are exempt of hooks and shelves that makes navigating it a challenge. The pool and outside dining areas are excellent, and the buffet breakfast has a good variety of fresh fruit and foods.

The lunch time Mekong Nava Cruise that the Villa Maly organize is a terrific 4 hour outing visiting the Pakou Caves, a local fishing village that offers good value items, and the cruise includes a wonderful lunch.

But where the Villa Maly shines is in a service that is over and above the norm. All staff literally did everything we requested, and they actually exceeded all our requests, with a smile and a genuine desire to please.

Marvelous Villa Maly, definitely worth it for a visit that, regardless of how long you stay, you will find it much to short. Bravo ! !

Room Tip: Rooms in the Locus Building have balconies that allow you to sit out and enjoy the lush gardens, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petem0ntreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear PeteMontreal,
Greetings from sunny Luang Prabang,
A very warm thank you for sharing your experiences at Villa Maly. I will definitely let our employees know about all the nice things you have said... they will love it !
I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you again soon and wish you a great day.
Warm regards,

A. de Boynes
Operations Manager - Laos
Apple Tree properties: Villa Maly, Kamu Lodge, Nava Mekong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Checking into this property after being in the far north of Laos, was a very welcome change, and a full return to civilisation. Check-in was quick and efficient.
Beautifully appointed room with super comfortable beds (mosquito netting), tea/coffee making facilities, shuttered windows to block out noise and light, decent size safe for valuables, flat screen TV with proper reception.
However, the bathroom disappointed. Small, clever layout, but the dark colours of the walls did not appeal at all. Also, the only amenities provided was a comb and ear buds - no shampoo etc., and the small amenity shelf was pulling out of the wall. The only mirror in the room is also in the bathroom, with very poor lighting, making this unusable.
The breakfast was fabulous.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizpowrie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear lizpowrie_11,
Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang...
Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. I take note of your comments about our bathroom and can assure you that I am already working on some the points you are mentioning (mirror, lights...).
Looking forward to welcoming again in the future, lizpowrie_11, I wish you a great day.
Warm regards,
A. de Boynes
Operations Manager - Laos
Apple Tree properties: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I chose to stay at this boutique hotel during my trip in Luang Prabang. I was impressed by the hotel decoration and its lush gardens. We had a room with the view to the garden. In the morning, when I woke up, I could breath the pure and fresh air and special fragrance of flowers in the gardens. My stay was more enjoyable thanks to the great cares of the hotel staff and the management. They really took care of me. When I strolled in the gardens, hotel gardens greeted with a bright and friendly smiles. Overall, my stay was more than my expectation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear DannySmile,
Once again, thank you very much for sharing your experience at Villa Maly with us. Our employees will be delighted to hear that after all, we exceeded your expectations. This means a lot to all of us.
Hoping that we will welcome you again in the future, I wish you a great day.
Warm regards,
A. de Boynes
Operations Manager - Laos
Apple Tree properties: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I spent 2 nights at Villa Maly with my friends when travelling to Luang Prabang. Have read all the reviews on Tripadvisor before deciding to choose Villa Maly, I was totally satisfied with my decision. My room is lovely and the bed is comfortable. On arrival, we were welcomed with bright and warm smiles of the staff, made me feel as if I had been at my home. What I was impressed the most is the friendliness of the staff.

I like white lotus flowers blossom near the swimming pool and Villa Maly’s lush gardens. When strolling through the gardens, I could smell the fragrance of flowers.

I would definitely stay here again when I come back Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Dear Tina N,
It is always very nice to read when our guests enjoyed their stay with us. I will let our staffs know how much you were impressed by their friendliness. They will surely love it...
Thanking you again, Tina N, for sharing your experience with us, I look forward to seeing you again at Villa Maly.
Warm regards,

A. de Boynes
Operations Manager - Laos
Apple Tree properties: Villa Maly, Kamu Lodge, Nava Mekong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Villa Maly to me is not simply a hotel but a beautiful house with lush and well cared-for gardens. I especially like the swimming pool and the paths in the gardens. The hotel is near the night market and some other interesting temples. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It's a pity I only stayed one night there. I definitely want to stay at Villa Maly again when I visit Luang Prabang next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuongLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
Dear HuongLan,
Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang,
I would like to personally thank you for your kind message about you stay with us at Villa Maly.
I hope that we will be able to host you much longer the next time you come to Luang Prabang. I remain at your disposal should you need any information.
Warm regards,

A. de Boynes
Operations Manager - Laos
Apple Tree properties: Villa Maly, Nava Mekong, Kamu Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Found Villa Maly through Trip Advisor and were yet even more impressed than we expected to be. The setting is lush, beautiful, private, peaceful and tranquil. The villas are roomy, with both open air and indoor space. The staffs are kind, friendly and aim to please at all times.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qhtrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMaly, General Manager at Villa Maly, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear qhtrang,
Greetings from sunny Luang Prabang,
A warm thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and dedicated staffs. I can already picture the smiles of the employee when they hear another great guest's feedback. It means so much for all of us.
Thanking you again, I hope, qhtrang, that we will be able to welcome you again in a not too far future.
Warm regards
A. de Boynes
Operations Manager - Laos
Appletree properties: Villa Maly, Kamu Lodge, Nava Mekong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maly

Property: Villa Maly
Address: 75 Oupalath Khamboua Road | Ban That Luang Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maly 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Lao royalty, today Villa Maly is an exquisite boutique hotel, surrounded by luscious tropical gardens. Its rooms evoke the subdued elegance and creative touches of a bygone time. The hotel's 33 guest rooms are each subtly created to incorporate time-honored Laotian architecture with an essence of the Colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Maly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maly Hotel Luang Prabang
Maly Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing