We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, nice relaxed hotel in Luang Prabang” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Maly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Maly
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Good location, nice relaxed hotel in Luang Prabang”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

The location of this hotel is not in the centre of town but there is easy walking access to all the important sights in Luang Prabang. Pleasant quiet side road with some local small shops nearby and the night market a few minutes’ walk away. Great selection of really good restaurants for lunch or dinner also nearby in town, all good value and quality. You can get a Tuk-tuk if need be.

Hotel itself is mix of a character colonial style building with deluxe rooms above the lobby and new build rooms around the pool area. Booked a deluxe room, which was an interesting shape and spacious but there was no outside area. Suggest consider an entry-level superior room with veranda/balcony if you want to sit outside the room. Whoever designed the bathroom clearly had a bad day at the office but it does just about work. For an unknown reason the hotel is really mean with toiletries which spoils the luxury image, also mosquito control was poor in the room but there was fly net around the bed. The deluxe rooms are also above reception, which means there is a lot of early morning noise when groups are congregating to go out. Breakfast is a fairly limited selection.

The pool is a real bonus to refresh after pounding round the temples. You will enjoy Luang Prabang; do not miss Tak Bat in early morning.

Room Tip: Consider an entry-level room with a veranda if you want some outside space
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GastrodontUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    219
    44
    22
    2
See reviews for
124
314
63
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Villa Maly is a stylish compound consisting of various typical villas. Secluded, cosy, the right place to find peace of mind. Our room was spacious and well decorated. Opulent breakfast with local and international selection. Staff attentive, but some a bit slow even when one is relaxed. Transportation to attractions by TukTuk which are sometimes not easy to get at the Villa - ask in advance to call.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clemera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

A bidden gem in Luan Prabang. We stayed here during our Laos Cambodia tour. This hotel is well furnished. It's à small villa in à quiet location near The center of The city. A Nice swimmingpool complete The hotel. À real boutique hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louwrens65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed for a week in January and found it a very nice hotel. Staff all very friendly, excellent large bedroom - bathroom fine but slightly quirky design. Delightful pool of swimmable size which I think is rare in the more central parts of Luang Prabang. Convenient quiet location about 300m from the Mekong and 7-8 minutes walk to bars, shops, restaurants and the wonderful night market. Breakfasts fine and good food at lunch around the pool - but dinner best taken in one of the many excellent restaurants in LP. They also provide free golf buggy transport to any points in the city, if you are feeling lazy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights. Booked for the cheapest room and were pleasantly suprised when we got a pretty large room on 1st floor facing the pool - it was great. Yes the bathroom was a bit small and dark but we weren't bothered - there was enough room to wash and shower!
The service around the pool was amazing, they have slightly dodgy lounger cushions that have a tendancy to fall apart but there is always someone to assist and whenever I wanted a drink there was someone there! The location is great if you don't mind a short walk into town - its worth it for the peace and quiet. We only ate breakfast once and it was a little dissapointing, no egg station and most things were stale or cold - don't get me wrong it's fine and adequate but we stayed in 7 hotels in 2 weeks and this was the most dissapointing...
We tried the spa and had massages - they were just okay, the Laos massage is not as relaxing as some of the others you get in Asia we found it a little slappy!
This hotel was our second choice but we are very pleased we were here over 3 nagas - lots of hotels don't have a pool so this was a real bonus.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maniacnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Villa Maly in January before starting a tour in Vietnam. Villa Maly was delightful; everything that we expected after getting a recommendation from friends who stayed there in December. The hotel is in a pleasant quiet neighborhood. We were able to easily walk into the heart ot town 2 evenings and took advantage of their complimentary shuttle the third. The room was very pleasant and each afternoon we took advantage of their lovely swimming pool with ample pool-side lounges. it was a great way to start our trip.

Room Tip: Get a room pool-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level Contributor
377 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

The Villa Maly is a stylish hotel, 10 minutes walk from the town centre, set in the old colonial quarter. Rooms are set round a lovely swimming pool and sunbathing area. There is a small bar with the inevitable TV showing wall to wall sport but the sound is turned down, and a pleasant lounge area by reception to sit when it rains. The bedroom was delightfully decorated and the bed very comfortable with lots of pillows and a mosquito net. Unfortunately our shower room was small, dark and the only mirror in the whole room back-lit. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, served in a covered area between two accommodation blocks. The staff are pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a decent sized bathroom on the 1st floor level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjhHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.8 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#14 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#23 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maly

Property: Villa Maly
Address: 75 Oupalath Khamboua Road | Ban That Luang Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maly 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the home of Lao royalty, today Villa Maly is an exquisite boutique hotel, surrounded by luscious tropical gardens. Its rooms evoke the subdued elegance and creative touches of a bygone time. The hotel's 33 guest rooms are each subtly created to incorporate time-honored Laotian architecture with an essence of the Colonial past. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Maly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maly Hotel Luang Prabang
Maly Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing