We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“indeed a big tree!”
Review of Big Tree Cafe

Big Tree Cafe
Ranked #41 of 203 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
österreich
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“indeed a big tree!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

good food, nice staff and some great photos on the walls indoors! many books to look at, service a bit slow

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank sissiibk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    43
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A really nice place.”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We went to Big Tree without any knowledge of the good reviews. We thought it was great. We were lucky as we sat outside, overlooking the Mekong and there were no other people around in the middle of the afternoon. A great place to just stop by for a rest and a snack. We went back for a meal because the snacks we had were superb.
Mealtimes outside are inevitably the victim of tobacco smoke, loudspeakers and traffic noise - it's a busy street; inside the restaurant/bar/cafe it was quieter.
The staff were really nice - only one or two spoke English/French with any fluency but communication was not a problem.
The food and drink were as good as anywhere in LPB and the situation was excellent, just a very nice feeling to the place. Also very inexpensive!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ljkjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“very good coffee by the river”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

A nice place to have good coffee by the Mekong in front of a huge amazing tree. They have a small covered terrace outside, so even when it rains you can enjoy the view. I didn't try the food but the coffee was really good!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank buzzlnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Out of the ordinary”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Lovely place, lovely owners. Heart-warming staff. At a great location overlooking the Mekong, the place breathes a relaxed and yet international atmosphere. This means great coffee and good Lao and Korean food.
We liked the photos on the walls, too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank otopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Interesting Korean Menu”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Surprisingly good. Right on the riverfront. Interesting Korean/Lao menu. Well done ! Nice portions, pleasant atmosphere. Enjoyed our lunch there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Siam-Orchids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Tree Cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Big Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing