We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Tree Cafe

Big Tree Cafe
Ranked #40 of 202 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Incheon, South Korea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

The food (I had Korean dishes) is quite good. But I must say not the best. Quite authentic Korean food, but it has slightly different flavor than the truly authentic Korean dishes.

Atmosphere is great! I give 5 stars for the atmosphere. Overall, a great restaurant in Luang Prabang.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank myopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    38
    18
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Setting, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

As the name implies, the restaurant is a sidewalk cafe under a huge tree above the Mekong River. After dark, the lights in the trees give the place a magical feel. The menu is lengthy and the food is very good.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
down under
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FABULOUS ANCIENT TREE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

Sitting under this amazing tree, eating great Lao food and enjoying a Beer Lao is a great way to while-away an afternoon. Superb.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank macropod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“best kimchi outside of Korea (and maybe better than some places inside)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Mija, the owner of this fine restaurant is awesome. She cooks delicious food and always has valuable helpful information for her guests. I love korean food and i really LOVE her kimchi. I've lived in korea and know a thing or two about korean food and hers is great. Really great.

I'm pretty sure the other food is good as well, as everything she touches is great but honestly I only get the korean food here because it's just that good.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank stock210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“When you miss Korean food in Luang Prabang”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Big tree cafe is very famous among Korean tourists as it serves Korean food in Luang Prabang. Many Koreans recommend tourists to try there Korean ramen noodles. However I found out they have many more then Korean food. I enjoyed Lao foods served at Big Tree Cafe. You can either dine outside overlooking the beautiful Mekong river or inside which feels like a small gallery. It is a place you might want to not miss.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pooky34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Tree Cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Big Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing