We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most charming and welcoming hotel in Luang Prabang”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most charming and welcoming hotel in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed February 7, 2010

You will fall in love with this place.

We had visited two other guest houses in Luang Prabang had were not particularly impressed. We were so trilled to discover the Bel Air: the most charming hotel in Luang Prabang.

The staff is welcoming, helpful and friendly. The location is ideal on the banks of the Khan river. Beautiful views, elegant rooms, great food and impeccable service.

Truly a hidden gem. Visit their web site at: http://www.lebelairhotels.com/

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Form_MTL_with_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    228
    54
    8
    2
See reviews for
89
362
90
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed at the Le Bel Air for 3 nights at the start of our tour around Asia (taking in Vietnam, Cambodia and Thailand) and have to say, by the end of our holiday we found ourselves fondly remembering this place, it was one of our favourites. Our room was in the block and we found it to be quite quirky (you actually had to padlock your front door!) The room was extremely spacious and we loved the big bed with mosquito net.
Staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The setting is beautiful and peaceful; as long as you don't mind the occasional prop plane coming in directly overhead (we thought this added to the interest of the place!) We always loved relaxing at breakfast watching the world go by. A free bus runs into town during the day, usually at set times, but you will find if you stand around and look lost for any amount of time, a member of staff will ask if you need anything and one day they took us into town, although a bus wasn't meant to be leaving at that time. Laos people are so accommodating and friendly, you will love it there. Only wish we had more time there. Luang has plenty on offer, lovely sights, restaurants, bars (but they do close early) and the walk into town was always a pleasure from the hotel and of course crossing the bridge over the river. It's an early to bed, early to rise place! We'd love to go back and if we ever did we would definitely stay here again. Go and see for yourself!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenvilla2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

The Bel Air Boutique Resort is indeed a boutique hotel. It is located on the banks of the Nam Kahn river which flows through the beautiful, peaceful town of Luang Prabang. It is a short walk over a unique bridge to the center of the town . It reflects the character of Laos in it's understated decor and beautiful setting. Mr. Somnuek and his staff are warm and gracious and extremely concerned about the welfare and comfort of their guests. There is an open air restaurant that serves wonderful made to order breakfasts, and lovely dinners. A small open air bar is available as well. There are no "public rooms" to speak of. The hotel is comprised of individual cottages, and two multi room hotel rooms. Our room in the newest building was large and comfortable with a lovely deck.
You will not find 5 star amenities at the Bel Air Resort, but you will find a wonderful warm and welcoming staff and a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemarytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

This fantastic little hotel is the best place to stay in Luang Prabang.

The hotel grounds are beautiful, overlooking the river running through the town. The hotel is very quiet and there are less than 20 rooms. Our room was a freestanding structure overlooking the garden which added to the feeling of seclusion, though there are other rooms in a main block.

The room itself was quaint, comfortable and adequately equipped. The staff were extremely friendly and helped at every opportunity to book tours, suggest excusions and even offer to drive you to the centre of the town.

The only downside would be that the hotel is a little further than others located in the main tourist area in the town. However, it is only a 20 minute walk, which is very safe. Alternatively, the hotel offer free bike hire, and cycling takes only 7-8 minutes.

Overall a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

The setting for the bungalos and the garden rooms is breathtaking! The service is very friendly led by the hotel manager...who is very professional and will do everything to please a hotel guest.

Buffet breakfast was very good. Excellent transportation services are free. Location is a short walk to the center of town. The price was a bit of a splurge for us...but worth it!

We were treated very well and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobnfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcudbright
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2010

Some reviews for here have been a bit over the top - this is a nice place, well run and we had a comfortable and enjoyable stay at a very reasonable price but it is a three star hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff who made us feel very welcome - with mutual help to practice our Lao and their English. The food was good and the service very good. The location of the hotel is 15 minutes walk (shorter by bike) from the centre of town - but it is directly under the flightpath (and not many metres). Given the current number of flights, their timing and type of aircraft, this isn't a problem at the moment.... but might be if Luang Prabang gets much busier... and it is getting busier.. we noticed a big change in the last two years in the town. Good that tourism is helping the local people... I just hope that it doesn't kill the goose that laid the golden egg.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandS_Kbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Great value. Loved it. Quiet but close to town.

I actually liked the attention at breakfasts. The food was very good and we also ate several dinners there. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmoody6240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Property: Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing