We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2009

The Hotel is quite new and in very good condition. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms in the bungalows are spacious and comfortable with pleasant view of the river. The main shortcoming of this hotel is its restaurant which offers only basic dishes. If you love silence beware accomodation in bungalows beacause of morning noise coming from neighbouring bridge.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyPool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

501 - 507 of 712 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2009

We stayed 4 nights in one of the guest bungalows at this hotel, which is located in good quiet surroundings, a little out of the town.

The bungalow accommodation is very good. The restaurant menu is very limited, but food provided was of a good standard.

Some of the service levels were a little naive, which led to disappointment. As an example, wine and a specified soft drink was not readily available with our ordered meal, in spite of being on the menu. It was provided at the end of the meal.

These points need resolving to enable the hotel to be effectively competitive and benefit from the surroundings and accommodation..

Whilst as mentioned above, the hotel does have some good attributes, we were very surprised to find that they warranted a Number 1 rating in the town on Tripadvisor

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelexperience12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

My husband and I have been traveling in SE Asia for the past month and just spent five nights here. It has been the best hotel of our entire trip and one of the best that we've ever stayed in, even better than some big name resorts in Hawaii (and at a much lower price). The setting is beautiful; if you are able to, stay in one of the bungalows. They have wonderful views of the river and are beautifully decorated and very, very comfortable. The service was exceptional. The staff was happy to help with any request that we had and everyone with whom we interacted was extremely friendly. One of them even wrote down a little cheatsheet for us with the pronunciation for some useful terms in Lao.
The hotel is outside of town, about a 15 minute walk. This wasn't very inconvenient at all and they also had a shuttle service available.
We had a great time in Laos and hope to return and stay here again sometime soon. Le Bel Air is sure to end up in the next edition of the guidebooks and I just hope we can still get in (and that they don't raise the rates!).

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aml888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009

LOCATION - Le Bel Air is located just across the wooden pedestrian bridge that you have to cross in order to get to the central part of Luang Prabang. It is a fairly rickety and terrifying bridge to cross, especially at night, but the hotel offers a complimentary shuttle service until 10:00 PM every night that will take you into town. Driving takes longer than walking, as you have to drive way out and around to get into town - plan on 15 minutes to drive, 10 minutes to walk. The best option is to use the complimentary bikes and ride across the pedestrian bridge, this is much better and safer than the pedestrian portion of the bridge, and lands you in town in only minutes. A tuk-tuk will cost $2 to the bridge and $5 if you want to be let off on the other side of the bridge. There is a fruit market just down the street, and a couple of local restaurants, but of course central is where most of the tourist action is. The resort is located on the banks of the river, with limited river views if the water is high enough. Nice setting, very relaxing, quiet, and only minutes from town. Most taxi drivers don't know where the hotel is, so make sure to bring the hotel's brochure with you (it has the address in Thai).

WEBSITE DISCREPANCIES - The hotel's website advertises unobstructed river views from every apartment, you can cast a fishing line into the river from your balcony, and that there are only four bungalows and eight hotel rooms. This is all terribly out of date, and the reality is that they have added several new bungalows, a new hotel building, and the foliage has grown up to block most of the river views. When the water is low on the river, only two of the bungalows have river views, and they are smaller than the newer ones. Two others offer a river view if the river is high, and the rest have only very limited or obstructed views of where the river would be if it was high enough. You cannot fish from your bungalows, they are too far from the river and too much foliage is in the way. There are no unobstructed river views at all - only partially obstructed ones. Just so you know when going in what to expect.

ROOMS - The bungalows have two types - older and smaller, but with better views and more style, or newer and bigger with obstructed views and not so much style. We stayed in the bigger one, # 7, which had two other bungalows blocking it's view of the river, which could only be seen from the deck, and only if the water was high enough, which it wasn't, and only a small piece. The two riverfront bungalows are a lot smaller, but more stylish, but are right next to both the restaurant and bridge with it's motorcycle traffic, so not as quiet. There are no shower curtains on the showers so water goes all over the bathroom when you shower and there is no privacy, there is no alarm clock, and no phones to call in a wake up call so bring your own alarm clock, or walk down to the lobby and ask for a wake-up knock. No irons or ironing boards, so bring your own. Hair dryer is very weak, so if this is important to you, you might want to bring yours from home. Bed is hard and pillows are huge and hard, very uncomfortable pillows. There is free wi-fi in the rooms, but the last day it was horribly slow and in and out, very frustrating - the rest of the time it worked ok though. There was a flat-screen Samsung TV (not in all rooms), and a large deck to sit on and watch the sunset. Had a large desk for working, a room safe, a mini-bar (not plugged in we found out), and a bathtub with shower. Toilet is in a separate closet-like room with no top. Very few electrical outlets, so bring a power strip if you'll need to charge electronic devices.

AMENITIES - There is a river view restaurant with a waterfall that has a nice ambience and passable food. Breakfast is mediocre, but passable. Small bar with happy hour from 5-8 PM. Internet kiosk with two computers is outside with river view, four lounge chairs along the river bank (fence prevents river view), free shuttle into town, free airport or boat pier pick up (our pick-up didn't show up, so we had to call and wait 10 minutes for them to arrive), laundry service, front desk staff will arrange rice and transport to the monks alms giving ceremony, credit cards have a 3% fee added on and if you're checking out early plan to pay cash because the credit card room is closed in the morning. It took us over a half-hour to check out, as they hand-drafted and calculated the room bills, and had to call an employee from home to ride into work and open the credit card door. There was no swimming pool that we saw, no spa. Bikes are free to use, and recommended.

STAFF - The staff here is very friendly, especially if you are friendly back and outgoing, and even more so if you try a few words in Lao. Cries of "Sabaidee!" can be heard throughout the grounds as the staff greet you with a warm welcome. The hotel staff is still in training, and their English is limited, but they try hard to please you, and really did everything they could to make our stay a good one. You just have to have a little patience sometimes is all. We met the manager, and he really was dedicated to trying to make this place even better, it's just new and so is he, so as money presents itself, the little things will doubtless get even better. While it's very nice now, you really get the feeling that in a few years, it will be great. We were disappointed that our toilet leaked out of the base the whole stay, and each day the housekeeping wiped it up and didn't get it fixed. We tried to tell the front desk attendant, but he didn't understand.

OVERALL - We loved our stay at Le Bel Air - I listed off some picky points just as FYI for people trying to decide what to bring or which unit to stay in, just so you are aware of what to expect, but really the big picture was that this is a great little boutique hotel, with friendly staff, management that tries to please, a beautiful setting, peace and quiet, with wi-fi in the room, all only minutes from the main part of the town. This is not 5-star accommodations, but it is not rustic either. It is an enjoyable stay for all but the most demanding of tastes, and we would not hesitate to stay here again on our next visit to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We loved this place - it was the highlight of our teip. Really well fitted out room, good food, wifi, riverside bungalow was great too. We stayed 4 days in 2x2 day visits and the staff went out of way to help us. Early breakfasts, shuttle to the airport etc etc. We borrowed bikes to ride into town and also rented a motorbike from the hotel for $14 which was very handy for getting around. Lovely gardens overlooking the river.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pommysydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2009

The hotel is out of town just over the old wooden bridge..an easy walk, but tuk tuks can't cross, so at night the free taxi service from the hotel is advisable.
Breakfasts were good and the one dinner we had in their restaurant was as good as the better places in L.P.but without the fancy french names.
Noise (see some previous reviews) was never a problem to us. We found it peaceful.Luang is a laid back place and the free hotel cycles are an easy way to get around.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littlegreenwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

I found this small hotel to be a great find in Luang Prabang. It is not located on the mainstreet, or near the Mekong, but rather a slight walk away, which enhances the experience. You need to cross another river to get there, but it is an easy walk. The hotel is adding rooms, so construction is going on during the day, but the noise wasn't bad. The staff here were extremely friendly, and the list of pros is long. Among them: free airport pick-up, free laundry service whenever you need it done, a complimentary extensive breakfast, use of shuttle to be taken into town if you don't feel like walking, free wireless and use of their laptops, and the list goes on and on. For the price paid (less than $40 a night including all taxes), I found Le Bel Air Boutique Resort to be the perfect place to rest after a few nights in seductive Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boddicker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 68 in Luang Prabang
370 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#34 of 68 in Luang Prabang
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#31 of 68 in Luang Prabang
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing