We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Location, but poor service and rooms very very noisy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #21 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Location, but poor service and rooms very very noisy!”
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We were in a room in the principal building. It was an small room, with a good batroom, everything ok. Bad things came at night. The room is not isolating of noise from other rooms. We can hear everything on our neightbours. Even the deodorant spray, it was incredible!!. It was very uncomfortable, its better to book a bungalow.

Everybody were very kindful and smiley, but not very effective. Last nght, we had water falling from the ceiiling in the bathroom, we talked with one employee at 21:00 but nobody came to see what was happening. At 22:00 I went another time to lobby and some minutes later, a boy from the staff came, and told us that it was normal!!. And it was imposible to fix till some days later!. I had to insist to go upstairs to see if was something wrong up there, but we do not know if he went or not. We had all night the water falling, and in the morning was a big "lake" of yellow water in the middle of the bathroom. In the checkout, nobody told us anythong about it.

So, location is very good, they had very good services, free bikes, free laundry, motorbikes for rent, but the rooms in the principal building are very very very noisy and if it occurs some problem, they can not fix. I would recommend the bungalows.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Role
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    228
    54
    8
    2
See reviews for
89
362
90
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Stayed here in September 2009. I can only agree with all the glowing comments about this place. Excellent service from management and staff. Lovely rooms, bungalows and scenery. The whole resort is beatifully presented. When we arrived we were booked into a room near the new cabins they are building. It was quite noisy and when we requested to move we were upgraded at the first opportunty with no fuss to one of their best bungalows. As it was low season they were expanding but as the building is nearly finished it will not be a problem for future visitors. This has to be the best resort we have stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vultureMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

The hotel offered a great view of the Old Bridge and river from our balcony. It's nice and quiet, away from the hustle and bustle of city centre. Definitely value for money for the room quality and location. The only thing is, be prepared to either walk or bicycle across the narrow path over the Old Bridge...it's the only way to get into town on your own. We were squeamish at first but after a few times, we were able to walk across and ride the motorbike without shaking knees. It's about a 10min car/motorbike drive into town.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

Experience starts well with the hotel collecting you from the airport (and I guess from the river boat stand as well) - a mere 10 minute drive to the hotel.

Rooms are a choice between cute little bungalows or rooms in a traditional style wooden building, all set within a luscious tropical garden overlooking the Nam Ming river. We stayed in the wooden building - all the mod-cons, A/C, fan, fridge, flat tv, safe and balcony with comfortable chairs. Was great to sit on the balcony with a book and a cold beer lao.

Breakfast is good - choice of eggs, juice, fresh croissant, coffee etc. Service is friendly and kind - always served with a beaming smile.

Free bike rental is available if you fancy a quick cycle around the area, but walking to the old Luang Prabang area takes just 10-15 minutes. Crossing the river is an experience you will probably never forget - the bridge is next door to the hotel, and appears to be more decrepit than it actually is (or at least that is what I kept telling a reluctant partner!).

Couple of bits you should be aware of - the hotel isn't in the centre of the town but I think that is an advantage as you can escape from the backpacking hoardes. We prefered to wander into the town, but you can grab a bike or the hotel minibus can take you for free - equally there are Tuk Tuk's on the other side of the bridge. Similarly there is some building work going on at the moment (Sept 09) - I actually think it added to the character and belief you were living amongst a Lao community but if you are a light sleeper it might annoy a bit.

I've not stayed at many hotels with more helpful and friendly staff - they were always eager to help, find out what you done that day and answer your questions so that your stay is special and memorable.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

An absolutely wonderful hotel in an absolutely wonderful town - if it wasn't for TripAdvisor we wouldn't have stayed here so can't thank this website enough!

We had one of the villas right on the river front (1 down from the bridge) and it was beautiful. A good size with dark wood flooring, a huge bed and floor to ceiling windows overlooking a private balcony and the river. The villa was not connected to any others and with no overlooked windows the room was very private and wonderfully quiet. The bathroom was a good size with plenty of hot water. The air conditioning worked perfectly and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean.

And there's more!

Free laundry (yes, really!) - drop if off in the morning and by mid afternoon it's back with you clean and dry.

Free bike rental - Luang Prabang is designed for bikes and they are by far the best way of getting into and around town. The sign said they had to be back by 8pm - but the staff were more than happy to let you take them in the evening so we used them to get to and from dinner as well.

The hotel advertises a free shuttle bus to town - but that doesn't do it justice. In reality you have your own private taxi driver as they'll take you whenever you want (i.e. no waiting for the next bus). They said if you called they'd come and pick you up wherever...in the end we always walked back but a great offer. Also free to / from the airport. We used the bus for the first day until we discovered the bikes (much better way of getting around!). On this point note that the hotel is not in the centre of town but it absolutely wasn’t an issue for us and it really isn’t far – a short 15 minute walk / 5 minute cycle / 10 minute on the shuttle bus (it can’t go over the pedestrian bridge).

And finally, and perhaps the best bit of the hotel, the staff. Without exception they were all wonderful. We got along very well with the manager and it’s obvious he understands what makes good customer service and he instils this into those who work for him.

We liked the hotel and town so much we extended a 3 night stay to 4...and if we weren’t limited by time would have happily stayed here even longer. We really hope to come back one day.

PS some of the restaurants in Luang Prabang are obviously targeted at tourists and the food was a bit hit and miss, we made a mistake the first night there. We strongly recommend “Biblio Bistro” for lunches and dinners – delicious local food, great colonial building and (again) wonderful staff. Address is 98/5 Sakrine Road Ban Wat Nong.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TomFromCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This hotel like the town grows on you every day you stay there...you will first notice the peaceful nights in Luang Prabang, the absence of traffice, the laughing faces and the slowness and lack of pace in everything.

As the check in and the proximity of the airport dawns on you, you realized you are in a different city altogether and a slice of paradise uncovered.

The resort is ably manned by Mr Somnuek and his very very friendly team. They try very very hard and it shows in the everyday things they do while you stay with them.

The check in process is great and during my stay there, I stayed in both the bungalows and the regular rooms and would recommend you spend the extra $20 dollars for the bungalows

The bungalows are well furnished and with the same day laundry service it;s great for the humid weather currently in LP.

The breakfast is a good basic spread and served with a load of smiles and friendly service from Nan & Khek both very pretty and very evry friendly.

Shuttle service is available at anytime to drive you to town, bikes are faster as it gets you thru the old bridge while if you decide to take one of the complimentary bikes, you are a 10 min pedal away. It is so relaxing to do that in the early morning and evening hours I would recommend that.

Free wifi is provided making this a very good value location. The Nam Khan river is just there and from the hotel, you have a well maintained lawn to relax and chill out.

For those who may be thinking there are better locations and hotels right in town, you are not wrong, the location of the Bel Air is not right smacked in town and after a few days here, you realized that is the charm of Luang Prabang...there is no rush to be right there in the action.

The hotel is well suited ofr its role of allowing guests to enjoy LP at its best and as for tours, I would recommend the Mahout Training and waterfalls trips...all great plus the amazing temples there.

The night crickets and roosters will charm you at Luang Prabang and Bel Air is the best spot for just that.

Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank TCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2009

I stayed in one of the cottages facing onto the river for 5 nights. I was able to see the bridge very close from my cottage and it was very interesting watching people crossing there from the balcony every morning. All the staff there were very friendly, helpful and tried their best they could to help the guests. The manager, Somnuek was very attentive and was eager to listen to any comments that the guests make about the hotel so that he could improve the service. The free bicycle was a bonus and the location was very handy taking only 10 minutes to get to the town center by bicycle. This place is one of the best small hotels I have ever stayed in SE Asia. Will stay there again when I go back to LP. Rie Gilding/Australia

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byronplantation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
745 reviews
0.6 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Property: Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing