We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #18 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Maryborough, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Delightful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

From reading quite a few TA reviews of this resort, we thought this is the place for us to stay.
From the minute we were picked up at the airport by hotel transfer, I knew this was going to be special.
I can now say we were not disappointed in any way what so ever. From the staff to the ambience of the resort to the management and our bungalow was superb!! Every thing we needed to know was kindly and respectfully offered to us. I can only say the very kindest of words for this resort.
The staff are up there with the best we have had, even in 5 star hotels. Their kind and sincere friendly and wonderful service made our stay amazing.
We were not prepared for the freezing cold conditions when we arrived in December and they kindly put warming fire pots under our table at breakfast or dinner if we dined in the resort.
We had a lovely bungalow with a wonderful big doona which kept us very snug for the unseasonal change in temperature. Lashings of lovely hot water in a very big rain shower. The bungalow was very spacious and comfortable and clean.
The manager of this resort was wonderful with great information and so helpful. Thank you to you and your staff to make our stay there delightful. Nothing was too much trouble.
The food in the resort was excellent.
Beware the bridge to the town as it is a little rugged. ( I sprained my ankle coming home one night in the dark, maybe a torch might be a good idea).
This is definitely the resort I would stay at next time in Luang Prabang as it is just out of the noise of the town, with all the rural atmosphere when you walk out of the front gate.

Room Tip: The bungalows are very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Wenaus,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving us a very nice review. It's always a pleasure to read about guest experiences at the hotel. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Luang Prabang and that your bungalow, our breakfast, and services have served you well. You are correct when you say 'nothing is too much trouble.' Anything our guests need we do our very best to provide. Thank you again and all the best on your travels.

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    228
    54
    8
    1
See reviews for
89
362
90
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
251 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

With a large group (we took over the entire resort) I stayed here for four nights.
My bungalow was divine, everything worked perfectly. The linen was wonderful, the shower sublime, it was quiet and peaceful and the staff were fantastic. They couldn't do enough for us. They were so helpful and accommodating for our event and went out of their way to help with some off the wall requests.

The only negative I found was that wifi was not available in room and reception was patchy even in the common areas. Otherwise everything was fantastic.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are great. Some rooms on the lower floors in hotel part can be a little noisy fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Poohtravel,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. The staff would like to thank you for your comments. The wedding was a terrific experience for all of us and we look forward to hosting more such events every year. In many ways it is us who should be thanking you for choosing Le Bel Air for the wedding and warming our resort with your lovely family and friends. It was a real treat for us to meet everyone in your group and get to know one another. We hope that everyone was satisfied by our performance as we certainly enjoyed taking care of you. Thank you again. We wish all of you the very best of health and happiness while traveling and welcome your return to Le Bel Air soon.

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed again at Le Bel Air in Luang Prabang in October 2013 and choose the bungalow this time, really enjoyed the space and the view the bungalow offers. The bungalows are away from the 2 main buildings and offer their own private balcony with a view on the river.
Location is perfect in my opinion as it is next to the old bridge which offer access to the old town in 3 mins per their rental bikes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guido_T,

Thank you for choosing Le Bel Air once more. We love taking care of our returning guests and are happy to offer discounted rates and negotiate even better rates for long term stays.. It was great to have you with us again. I wish you the very best of health and happiness on your travels.

Regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this Hotel. It has a great location by the river and close to the Center of town. The room was really beautiful and the staff was nice. If you rent a scooter there is much that you can see and I had some awesome adventures here. It is a five minute bicycle ride into town. There is an air pollution issue in this area however, so don't expect to sleep with windows open.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colettetravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Colettetravel1,

Thank you for your very kind review of Le Bel Air. It was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you. Everyone wishes you safe and healthy travels where ever you happen to go with lots of fun in the sun. All the best.

Kind regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

The room is nice and clean and "boutique".
The facility in the resort is enough for you to enjoy a peaceful afternoon or a sun bath.
The location of the resort is not too far from the town (which is good) and not too close ( so to avoid any noise or music from other bars) either.
The resort also offers bikes to borrow (for free) so it's easy to explore this small city.
The only thing "no so nice" is that.. when we were in Luang Prabang it was cold (8 degree C in the night) and there was no heating indoor so it felt very cold in the room in the nights. But this is probably very common in most hotels in south east asia since there are only a few days cold in a year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eratolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Eratolin,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at Le Bel Air with the online community. Yes, this year temperatures in December fell to record lows for about a week or so. It was quite unexpected and I confess we were unprepared except for electric space heaters for each room and extra blankets. I apologize for any inconveniences.

Temperatures are now back to normal and everyday guests can expect cool weather in the mornings and evenings with hot and beautiful afternoons starting around 11AM until sunset. I am lobbying to update our air conditioning systems to feature both a warm and cold air option. I hope to have them soon.

Thank you again. Where ever you happen to be these days I wish you excellent health, happiness, and lots of fun in the sun.

Very best regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We could only stay 1 night as we booked on the day and was fully booked for the next weeks of this high season month. Upon arrival we were upgraded for the deluxe room wich was amazing. Friendly staff. Great breakfast with Mekong river view. Loved it and was a pitty we had not booked in advance to stay longer

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VascoCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear VascoCM,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing the online community with some insight into your experience at Le Bel Air. If you have an opportunity for a longer stay in the future it will be my pleasure to show you some great things to do Luang Prabang. From everyone at Le Bel Air we wish a safe, healthy, and fun holiday season to you and your family and friends. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

A couple of things about this hotel before we get started. If you want to be in the main streets of the old town this is not the hotel for you. If you don't like riding a push bike, then you will need to walk or taxi to visit the old town. But if you want a really relaxing place to stay with amenities and accommodation that sit right beside the river then consider the Le Bel Air. The rooms are large and airy and I really enjoyed my stay here. I liked riding my push bike across the old bridge, (no cars allowed only motor and push bikes) and meandering my way along the one to two kilometres into the town. I loved eating beside the river where the nights are quiet and peaceful. The manager, JP is very involved in day to day interaction with guests and had excellent suggestions for activities. The staff are polite, helpful and anticipating what you might need next. I have stayed in the centre of town and it is also a good experience but the prices are becoming steep and the accommodation is not as good as this place.

Room Tip: I prefer the ground floor garden rooms. The upper floor do get a better view of the river but you lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phidipidies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Phidipidies,

Thank you for your staying with us and for sharing your experience with the world. It was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you. I wish you and your family a happy and healthy holiday season. All the best!

Sincerely,

Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#21 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#17 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Property: Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing