We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the Le Bel Air Boutique.
The manager of the hotel, Jean-Paul, came to the airport to greet me. He was great to talk to and very helpful with his knowledge of activities to do in Luang Prabang. The room was wonderful, everything worked well, bathroom, showers, hot water, etc.
The breakfast was lovely. You had a wonderful view of the river whilst having your breakfast and coffee. The gardens were very well maintained. After breakfast, you could loan a bicycle from the hotel (free, nice one). Cycling over the Old Bridge is an experience. The aircon worked great and you could leave it on even if you are not in the room.
The hotel and its staff were very accomadating to all types of travellers and groups.
Also, you had the option of taking a courtesy shuttle into town if you wish. At night, the bus usually drops you off at the food night market (worth a visit).
I would like to thank Jean-Paul and the staff for a wonderful time in Luang Prabang and hope to stay there again sometime in the future, hopefully sooner than later.
Also, thanks to Jean-Paul for your help with dealing with a rather unique Windows 8 problem.
Travelled between 28-08-13 to 02-09-13.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank GP-Thevinylpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear GP-Thevinylpusher,

Thank you for staying with us and for offering the online community a very useful and accurate depiction of Le Bel Air. And thank you for your kind words about me. I very much appreciate them. I enjoyed meeting you and speaking with you as well. As you say, we do our best to take care of all different kinds of travelers and meet their various needs. Even sorting out the complications of Windows 8. : ) Thank you again for taking the time to write about your experiences here at Le Bel Air. It was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you. If you do ever happen to make it back to LP again you will find yourself most welcome with us.

Best regards,

Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    228
    54
    8
    2
See reviews for
89
362
90
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We moved here after spending a couple of nights in another hotel that we thought was just a little too far away but it allowed us to view the monks collecting alms in the early morning. Le Bel Air is not in the heart of the town but in easy distance. The hotel provides bikes that allows you to cycle in and out of the town across this gorgeous old wooden bridge. There is space over on this side of the town and your away from the cramped areas of town, quiet too. JP who is the Manager here was thoroughly attentive and was extremely helpful with information about the area. Beds were soft and comfortable. Breakfast was a smorgasborg of whatever you liked. Great coffees. We loved everything about the place and would come back again and wished we could stay longer. We initially booked for two nights but extended it to 3 nights. We had cocktails overlooking the Nam Khan river and ate in their restaurant which was nice. We had our laundry done over the bridge on the right hand side for $2. The views, gardens and surroundings are beautiful. Thanks JP.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Karen M,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at Le Bel Air with the online community. And thank you for the personal mention. I very much appreciate it. As you mention, we are the perfect distance from town. Since Luang Prabang is much busier than in previous years our guests report they enjoy getting out of the center as much as they enjoy its highlights. Thank you again for your warm and generous review. It was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you. If you ever happen to be in the LP area again you will find yourself most welcome with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed a few nights at Lau Lu Lodge, but were hoping to find a place on the river for our final 8 nights. When we visited Le Bel Air we instantly fell in love with it. A great setting with large shady trees on the bank of the Nam Khan, just a few hundred meters upstream from the confluence. The rooms were adorned with wooden floors and wall trimming. The furnishings and lighting fixtures were warm, clean and quite welcoming. The setting is idyllic, the breakfast, especially the home made yogurt, will start your day with great nutrition. Free bicycles will get you easily to anywhere in town. The manager JP is from Toronto, well spoken, very knowledgeable, and a gentleman in every way. He's also an astute businessman who is willing to negotiate for terms agreeable to both parties. I won't say what we paid, that wouldn't be fair to you, or JP, but I'll say it turned out to be quite a value at low season in early September 2013. The only complaint I have is the beds are wayyyy too comfortable. I almost didn't want to get out!

Room Tip: We took the classic, but looked at the deluxe and bungalows. Any choice would be a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onetwor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear onetwor,

Thank you for your kind words about Le Bel Air and myself. They are much appreciated. Yes, our beds are quite comfortable and I often hear from our guests how well they have slept. I am happy to hear you had a good time with us. And, yes, our setting for breakfast is about as idyllic as it gets. Thank you again for your feedback. It is valuable to us and definitely useful for future guests. It was a real pleasure to meet you and I wish you all the best on your travels. Thank you again.

Best regards,

Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Le Bel Air, is from what we could tell in our 2 weeks in Luang Prabang, definitely unique. There are lots of hotels in the center and outskirt of town. There are plenty of homestays. However, what we really loved about Le Bel Air was the spaciousness of the property along the river, coupled with private bungalows. We never saw any accommodation like it in LP.

Jean Paul, a Canadian owner, is probably the most helpful owner we have experienced in our six months of travel in S.E. Asia. Every morning, he is at breakfast, greeting guests, helping them with their day’s plans and giving useful suggestions. We really appreciated that!

Breakfast was one of the better selections we have had in S.E. Asia. I loved the fresh salad every morning in addition to a good selection of Lao and Western food. Service was wonderful – dishes were cleaned away immediately and the staff were very attentive.

Jean Paul very kindly upgraded us to a bungalow – probably because of the unusual length of our stay. We loved that! The bungalows are great, although they are a bit close to each other, but we still felt that we had privacy from our front porch. The butterflies are amazing in Laos and we could sit for long periods of time watching the butterflies. It was very quiet for the most part, except for Sunday, when a restaurant across the river had karaoke going for a good part of the day and it was pretty painful to listen to. However, even then, the music was bearable and we took it in as part of the experience of S.E. Asia.

The bed was comfortable – if you have been traveling in Asia at all, you know that cannot be taken for granted. AND when it was advertised as a King, it really was a King! I don’t like blankets but prefer quilts which we often get in our travels. However, they did bring us an extra blanket which was fine. Some nights were cool enough in August to not use a/c which was great.

We didn’t like the locking systems for the bungalow. The windows were a pain to lock and the door had a key padlock which was at the bottom of the door. That meant getting on our hands and knees to lock and unlock the door which at times was definitely stubborn. We also would have preferred much more comfortable chairs on the front porch as the chairs there are surely instruments of torture after about 2 minutes. Internet was a problem. We visited 3 cities in Laos and everyone had internet challenges. It did create some costly problems for us as we had to make calls back to the US on our Laos cell phone which was very expensive. Jean Paul suggested we go to another internet café across the river but because of the time difference between Laos and the US, the internet café was not open at the times we needed to make calls on Skype. And lastly on the negative, I didn’t like the cancellation policy on booking.com for this accommodation. It was much stricter compared to every other place I have booked and it made me a bit nervous. However, it worked out well as we stayed the 12 nights booked and added 2 more!

The staff was the best trained we had come across to that point – now after a month in Vietnam we have experienced service out of this world – but for Laos, the staff were amazing! They were also the best we had in all of Laos. We also really loved having the free bikes to use as Luang Prabang is perfect for getting around on a bicycle.

The food at the restaurant was for the most part excellent. After having chicken in Thailand, my husband found the chicken a bit tougher than he was accustomed to, and you will quickly discover that prices in Laos are NOT cheap. Everything is on average about 25% more than Thailand and motorbikes are 3 times the price! We were surprised at the prices but compared to most parts of the world, they are still very affordable. The green fish curry at the restaurant was amazing – fish was the best I have had in S.E. Asia. I don’t know how many times I ordered that dish but it was several! We actually loved Lao food – lots of vegetables and very fresh tasting. There are several great restaurants in Luang Prabang and on bike, it is only about 10 – 15 minutes away.

We really enjoyed the feeling of being away from the center of town, yet close enough to enjoy. We would definitely go back to Luang Prabang because it is just such a lovely little town and we would go back for another visit at Le Bel Air.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Jan J,

Thank you for your very kind and informative review. It was my pleasure to upgrade you. I try to offer such perks to guests whenever possible. I would like to take a second here to say that I really enjoyed meeting you and having conversations with you. It really was enjoyable. Thank you for staying with us and for sharing with the world your experiences here at Le Bel Air. I am sure they will be helpful to future guests. All the very best to you on your adventures.

Very best regards,

Jean-Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Bel Air in Luang Prabang was the best place we stayed during our 1 month travelling around Laos, Vietnam and Cambodia. The place and the service was - in my opinion - at that of a four star hotel at least. We stayed 4 nights in July 2013.

The service was excellent. The staff were all very nice, almost too nice. At times the staff and the manager could be a bit too focused on being service-minded, which bothered me at times. I think that especially the American tourists (which there seemed to be a lot of) liked that part of it. The hotel offers free airport drop off, and offers guest to use the shuttle bus as they prefer when it is raining. Otherwise the shuttle bus is driving to the city centre (10 min) several times a day.

The rooms were huge and very nice. The place has a nice garden, which we didn't use much though. The breakfast is amazing and you can enjoy it with a view of the Mekong river.

It was worth much more than the ~50 USD we paid per night for a double room (which actually had one double and one single bed and could have fitted 3 people.

Note that the hotel is about 10 minutes from the city centre of Luang Prabang. However the hotel provides bikes free of charge, and we drove the bikes to and from the centre almost every day - which was no problem whatsoever. If it's raining it's, as mentioned above, possible to use the shuttle bus for free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Jacob B,

Thank you for leaving us a very kind and warm review of Le Bel Air. It was very nice to meet you and to serve you. Regarding our service, in the past few months we have been developing our approach to ideal customer service, having experimented with different ways to meet the needs of our guests. I apologize if it came off as a bit too much for you but you happen to be the only person ever to say so. I assure you that since your stay we believe we have found the ideal way to service our guests that is informative and in no way intrusive. Thank you very much for this important piece of feedback. How to deliver customer service in the best possible way is the question that interests all hotels. Your input is greatly appreciated.

We also appreciate you commenting on the value of our rates. Yes we are competitively priced for what we offer and this is easy to see when comparing hotels in Luang Prabang. I encourage all future guests to compare as much as possible before booking their stay. I am confident they will find Le Bel Air within their top 2 or 3 choices. Thank you again for your review. We wish you safe travels and good times where every you go.

Kind regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Bel Air and were overall impressed by its quality – true value for money (esp. compared to the hotel we had booked in Vientiane).
Location: I had some mixed feelings, after reading the reviews about the bridge and that it was a bit outside town. Yes, it is a bit outside and you need about 10-15 minutes to get to the center. And yes, you need to cross the bridge. However – the location is also beautiful, right on the river… Amazing views. Relaxing atmosphere. And the footbridge isn’t all that bad. By day it’s perfectly fine and by night it’s not that bad. Yes, it’s a bit dark but the bridge seems sturdy. And the one night it was raining and I was afraid it might be too slippery, we simply took the middle path of the bridge, which is for bikes and motorbikes. No one complained and we simply stepped aside when they passed (they’re not driving all that fast). Crossing the bridge is a matter of 2 minutes and it never spoiled our mood. Furthermore, the hotel offers complimentary bicycles and a free shuttle service and also tells you to call them if you are in need of a pick-up. Across the hotel is a mini mart and if that is closed, there is one on the other side of the bridge.
Staff: Check-in and check-out went smoothly. We were greeted by a very friendly Caucasian manager (Mr Jean-Paul, if I’m not mistaken) who made sure to tell us about the shuttle service and the bikes. The reservation Manager Mr Oon was also extremely helpful and friendly, especially in our efforts to communicate with Lao Airlines concerning our luggage. Lao Airlines had delayed sending our suitcases from Vientiane because they had detected suspicious sprays (a hairspray and a Dettol-Spray) and instead of asking us before departure to open the suitcases they waited till we arrived in Luang Prabang to ask us for the keys to the suitcase-lock, send it back to Vientiane etc. Mr Oon and other staff members were very helpful in communicating with Lao Airlines, to ensure the suitcases were delivered to the hotel as well to see whether the sprays could be returned (they could not - unless we returned to Vientiane to pick them up, which we couldn’t). Free airport transfer (and the airport is close by!).
Rooms: Rooms were fine, with a nice balcony offering views of the river (only the chairs are a bit uncomfortable). The bathroom was separated from the main room with glass windows (WC of course had walls – this room could in fact do with some renovations). Basic toiletries (no body lotion); slippers, umbrellas. We had both a tub and a shower cabin. Yes, the counter space is not sufficient in the bathroom, but there was space right next to the bathroom. Rooms were very clean. Socket next to the bed so cell phone can be kept close during night while charging. Maybe the lighting in the bathroom could have been a bit brighter.
Breakfast: We had read quite a lot about how good and rich the breakfast was, but .... it wasn’t really all that amazing. Few options (and not much for vegetarians, at least not marked as such), no cheese. On the other hand, as many have mentioned in other reviews, the coffee was good and the view on the river was lovely.
Overall – a lovely place I honestly recommend. It’s one of these hotels that makes you actually regret going sightseeing instead of staying there and soaking in the atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Alex J,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you and to have you stay with us. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed everything. All the best to you on your adventures and if you are ever in the Luang Prabang area again you will find yourself most welcome with us.

Kind regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Charming resort style- wooden interior, brick ceilings.. Basically looks exactly as the photos posted by their management. Love the gym area that faces the river (I'll be sure to try it tomorrow morning!), staff here are genuinely interested in helping you get the best out of your stay- the GM, Jean, was there with a driver for the airport pickup! & all (like i really mean Everyone here in Le Bel Air) is genuiely friendly & helpful! It's gonna be hard for me not to expect the same when level of service when I get to neighboring cities!

The rooms: beds are comfy. Pillows are nicely firm. blankets are a little thin but you dont really need them in this part of thr world. theres a nice rustic wardrobe, umbrellas for your use, bathrobes and bedroom slippers- & a really old school padlock for the door (I love it!). In my room, The A/c blows directly at the double bed & can get a little too cold so I'll recommend using the ceiling fan (summer here isn't as unbearablely humid). But do Keep the citronella oil burning or the mosquito repellents right by every corner of your bed.- part of being in a close to nature environment means you can't really avoid the mozzies or the house lizards.

Bathrooms are decent & clean with the basic amenities. don't expect the same luxury as a glass clad modern hotel; you wouldn't have picked Laos as a destination if you wanted true blue luxury anyway-. I have to say i actually really liked their shampoo and conditioner. I brought mine but didn't use it since theirs is pretty good!

Breakfast is at their garden river side restaurant just a stairway from my room- view of the river + what looks like local villages across- just the perfect wake me up in the morning!

A note when taking your own transport back at night- make sure you tell the tuk tuk drivers or mini vans that they are to send you to the hotel entrance on "Old Bridge". My almost perfect day was ruined because a tuk tuk driver charged me 30,000K as he said the hotel was out of the city centre- I agreed and then he took me to the other end of the bridge and refused to bring me over. It was 10pm, and I was carrying a huge shopping bag (night market here is fab!) and I had to walk (in darkness!) across the bridge.

It wasn't a long walk. But there's no lights except when a motorcycle zooms pass -right beside you. & the mosquito attacks are really quite nasty. It can be quite nerve wreaking for single females so reminder to ensure you have the drivers send you to the old bridge entrance at night.

Other than that, everything else is as lovely as all the other reviews that made me pick this place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolloo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Carolloo83,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experiences at Le Bel Air with the world. In fact, I thought I already replied to your review but I guess it didn't go through. I have to say I like your review of the hotel. You have given very useful and accurate information that will certainly help future guests. Regarding the old bridge, although a beautiful feature of the hotel, sometimes it is not perfectly lit at night and we must watch our steps at all times. Otherwise it is a very exhilarating and unique part of the Le Bel Air experience. Thank you again for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you. All the best to you on your travels.

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
356 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#36 of 69 in Luang Prabang
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
763 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
395 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Property: Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing