We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We extended our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2013

First and foremost, this place has some seriously nice staff, even the trainees were really sweet and after only 5 nights we felt sorry to say goodbye. The hotel is in an interesting location, across the old bridge, 20 minutes walk from the town centre. This can be a bit of a drag in the tropical heat but you can borrow one of the hotel bicycles for free and the hotel also runs several shuttles to town together with a free pick up / drop off service to the airport. This makes up for the hotel not being right in the centre. On the other hand, crossing the old bridge over the Nam Khong (or something like that) river is a fantastic experience, both on foot or by bike. We did not get upgraded to a bungalow like some of the reviewers but our room was great, if a bit dark. Beautiful wooden floors, a good size bathroom and very spacious overall, with a balcony overlooking garden and river. Breakfast was great too, in a magnificent spot.
Our original plan was to stay there for a few days and then move into town for a different experience. However, after taking a good look around we decided to stay on, as the small distance to the town centre was not a problem but an added advantage. In fact, we found some very good bars on the way, which we wouldn't have discovered otherwise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonioGP_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear AntonioGP_13,

Thank you for choosing Le Bel Air and for sharing with the world your experience with us. I very much appreciate the balance of compliment and criticism in your review. Yes, we are about a 15 - 20 minute walk to the center of town however, as you say, free bicycles and shuttle service are the way to beat the heat and get the most out of the town. Our location over the last year or so has become quite the marketing advantage to tell you the truth. It was not always so, but as the town has grown, our particular spot has become more and more attractive to guests seeking peace and quiet. I apologize for not being able to offer you a bungalow at the time but none happened to be available. And yes, as you say, our breakfast has got it all. Since the new dining room has more dramatic views of the river and bridge, guests seem to linger in the dining room much longer than any time in the past. I think we're on to something good here. Perhaps we should consider extending breakfast time altogether. Thank you again for your warm and generous review. It was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you. Where ever your travels are taking you we wish you the very best of health, happiness and good times.

Best regards,

Jean Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

269 - 275 of 712 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very good tranquil hotel with a great big garden. We stayed there 5 nights. Our room was in the nice authentic Lao style, but a bit dark, esp. the bathroom. The staff was very friendly. Thanks a lot to manager Jean Paul (very competent and helpful). The food was delicious (esp. fresh fruits and creme caramel).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Nazar13,

Thank you for your brief yet very warm and generous review of Le Bel Air. It was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you. Thank you for mentioning me personally. I appreciate it very much. Yes, our gardens are big an beautiful, our restaurant is now fully renovated with an updated menu, and yes, our rooms are modernly fitted yet warm with dark woods. Thank you again for your review. I wish you the very best of health, happiness and good times on your travels.

Kind regards,

Jean Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

What a pleasant surprise this place was and a general testament to others on trip advisor that I found and took their advice. We had been travelling for three busy weeks when we got to Luang Prabang and were very ready for a bit of R and R. Our plane had been re routed and delayed just to make things worse. Imagine my surprise to be picked up and deposited in a tropical oasis overlooking the river and met with a' white wine meet and greet'. How lovely. Jean Paul is the consummate host who goes above and beyond the call of duty in caring for his guests. Our bungalow was absolutely perfect. Beautifully furnished and so comfortable that we barely moved for the next 4 days while we recuperated. The staff are extremely friendly and caring and fascinated in everything you have to tell them about your home country while they practice their English, We loved the interaction, The food is delicious and we did not have one bad meal while we were there, There is a shuttle bus that goes to and from the town or it really isnt far to walk to anything if you dont mind the heat. The motel also has free bikes to make it easier. Jean Paul will have a chat with you and help you plan your days if you need any assistance. Absolutely recommend this place as awwwweesome.!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Bungalow is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntlynPozieres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear AntlynPozierez,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a kind and warm review of Le Bel Air. And thank you for the personal mention. I appreciate it very much. Yes, it was quite a night when you arrived right in time for one of our wine receptions. It's so much fun to mingle with guests from different countries and backgrounds and get to know one another before we head out on our evenings. Thank you for mentioning how well furnished our rooms are. The rich dark woods theme warms the entire resort together our sprawling garden they help make up the ideal environment for beauty and relaxation. And yes our staff is quite outgoing and enjoy getting to know our guests and of course practicing their English. Thank you again for sharing your experience at Le Bel Air with the world. I really had a good time meeting you and serving you. From everyone at Le Bel Air we wish you the very best of times wherever your traveling adventures take you.

Very best regards,

Jean Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Pick up from the airport and free upgrade to bungalow room which is so close to Nam Khan river (just in front of the room for less than 1 minute walk through the garden). Daily free transport are provided to town whenever request our is made. Early in the morning (5.30 am) free transport to watch and involve in the morning offering to monks. All these added to a sweet and memorable for our 3-night stay at LBA.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qingzhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Qingzhe,

Thank you for staying with us and for your brief yet very kind review of Le Bel Air. And thank you for sending the photo of us in our new restaurant. We are adding it to our photo album and collage. Yes, sir, as you mention our daily shuttle service is made available to our guests at anytime during the wet season and not only during our scheduled times. It is the very least we can do to make days that have some rain a little brighter. And yes, it was our pleasure to offer you an upgrade to a bungalow. If ever possible we do our best to surprise our guests with an option of an upgrade. Thank you again for your review. It really was nice talking with you and getting to serve you. If you ever happen to be in Luang Prabang again please come and visit us. I will be very happy to meet you again.

Kindest regards,

Jean Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

From our first interaction with his hotel---making the reservation and exchanging emails, we knew that this would be a wonderful place to stay. Jean Paul, the manager, picked us up from the airport, and had upgraded us to a bungalow instead of the standard room. Our bungalow was cozy and well furnished overlooking the lovely gardens containing many tropical fruit trees.
The breakfasts were outstanding, with a huge assortment of treats ---both western and Laotian.
Loved the spring rolls and the home made yogurt! The staff was attentive and courteous with smiling happy faces to greet us at all times!
Jean Paul gave us tips on how to get to town via the bamboo bridge rather than the scary Old bridge and gave us tips about which tours to take and which restaurants to try out. We went to the bear sanctuary and waterfalls; hired a private boat to float along the Mekong--- and visited a small family run whiskey distillery and banana chips factory; we also had dinner at the Tamarind restaurant---which was outstanding. Luang Prabang is a town which will grow on you, and the Bel Air was our home away from home to which we hope to return in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: Try staying in the bungalows rather than the standard rooms, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonnet4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear sonnet4

Thank you for choosing Le Bel Air and for leaving us a very kind and warm review for online readers. And thank you for the personal mention. It is very much appreciated. It really is my pleasure help our guests orient themselves and find the things they might like to do while in Luang Prabang. As you say, our gardens and the coziness of our rooms are one of the highlights of Le Bel Air: no noise, real peace, and real quiet. And, yes, the bamboo bridge is a unique highlight of the town. It is built every year to help monks get around easier since they can not ride bicycles nor motorbikes. Guests find the bridge charming and interesting to encounter. I too find it useful and unique. Thank you again for your generous review. It was a real pleasure to have you with us and to serve you. Where ever your travels take you everyone at Le Bel Air wishes you the very best of health, happiness, and good times on your adventures.

Best regards,

Jean Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in one of the bungalow here for 7 nights: beautifully decorated and furnished, all facilities and great setting. Hotel manager lovely and made us so welcome from arrival at airport to departure. Rest of staff great too, very helpful and friendly : nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend this hotel. On a very minor point: there was very little veggie food on offer at restaurant and some noise from behind Hotel on one occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Steph B,

Thank you for your very generous review and for staying with us at Le Bel Air. It was very nice to meet you and a real pleasure to serve you. And thank you for the warm personal mention. It is very kind. Yes, as you mention, all of our staff are there to meet guest needs whatever they may be. We all work hard everyday to provide the best possible product and service at the best rates. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your experience with online readers. And since you have left we have already added a clearly distinguished vegetarian menu to our restaurant. We think our guests are going to love it. Thank you again for your review. All the very best to you on your travels.

Best regards,

Jean Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is anchored by two things: a lovely property and an eagerness to serve their guests. The property has nice views of the river and most of the rooms have spacious balconies. Service from the manager was exemplary--better than any 4 star hotel I've stayed in and rivaling many 5's. The rest of the staff was very eager and friendly but more uneven in their helpfulness (it felt like they were breaking in a new staff in the offseason). Offers great value a cheap room there isn't much more than a basic guesthouses but includes lots of freebies like bicycle usage, good breakfast, free airport transfer, etc that add up quickly. If you want to be in the thick of things this hotel is not for you; it's an easy 15 min walk to the main drag or free shuttle service, but it's definitely a peaceful separation from the center of town. Particularly recommended for those who will be on LP for more than a day or two and want a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear eric r,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very kind review of Le Bel Air. It was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you. Also, It is very nice of you compare my service to that of 5-star hotels. It is a much appreciated compliment. Yes, we do offer what is probably the best rate-to-quality ratio than most other hotels in the area. I think this is quite easy to notice through research on Tripadvisor. You're correct to point out that our distance from town is a 'peaceful separation' and that our free shuttle service and bicycles make Le Bel Air an intelligent choice given the increasing density and traffic on the main part of the peninsula. Thank you again for your warm and generous review. Our staff and I wish you the very best of health, happiness and good times where ever your travels take you.

Kindest regards,

Jean Paul
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 68 in Luang Prabang
369 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#34 of 68 in Luang Prabang
97 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sala Prabang
Sala Prabang
#31 of 68 in Luang Prabang
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing