We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightfully affordable 5-Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #25 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Elliston, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delightfully affordable 5-Star”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband & I booked in on-line, for 3 nights & actually stayed for an additional 2 weeks & would've stayed longer had we not a flight to catch...that pretty well sums up our review.
Tremendously efficient & courteous service, combined with gorgeous, comfortable, serene surroundings ,in a prime location, all at extremely affordable rates...the perfect scenario for an all-round memorable stay.
The staff, including Jean-Paul, Mr Oun and the entire team, are more than happy to insure each guest's full satisfaction...a very rare treat, indeed!
Thanks one & all, hope to see you sooner, than later!
All good things,
Maila & Rashid

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rashid_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Rashid_13,

Thank you for your very warm and generous review. It really was the pleasure of all our staff to have you with us and to get to know you. If you don't mind us saying so everyone here thinks you guys are pretty cool people. Honestly you flatter us by calling us a 5-star. We do however work at being a 5-star everyday with each interaction we have with our guests. Thank you very much. It is a much appreciated compliment. Yes, as you say, our gardens are a highlight of the resort; serene and very well kept. And, yes, our rates are quite competitive compared to other places in town especially for guests who wish to stay long term. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. If ever you happen to be in Luang Prabang again you will find yourselves most welcome with us indeed. Thank you again for your review. Wherever your travels take you everyone at Le Bel Air wishes you the very best of health, happiness and good times.

Very best regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    228
    54
    8
    2
See reviews for
89
362
90
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My best friend and I recently stayed at le bel air hotel for our three night stay in Luang Prabang. I cannot say enough great things about this place. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a welcome drink and informed that we had received a free upgrade to a bungalow. It was a great way to be received after a two day slow boat trip down the Mekong. The bungalow was incredibly spacious and tastefully decorated. The breakfast offered in the morning was well prepared and gave us a great start to our day. The highlight, however, was our experience with the owner and general manager, Jean-Paul. His attitude towards customer service rivals, if not supersedes, stays that I have had at at the ritz Carlton or the four seasons. For example, after asking jean-Paul where I could purchase an adaptor for my camera charger, he arranged for one of his hotel staff to purchase the adaptor for me, and it was waiting at the front desk for me the following morning. It was also a treat to be heading out to dinner and to stumble upon a casual wine tasting held by Jean Paul and converse with the other guests of the hotel. Although my friend and I had previously booked our activities in Luang Prabang, jean-Paul offered us great advice and the bikes provided by the hotel were a nice way to explore LP as it is a relatively small yet beautiful city. The night market is great. Lastly, I need to mention the amazing pizza restaurant that jean Paul and his wife have (about a five minute walk from the hotel) it was so good we went both nights. We are from New York and both agree that this was some of the best pizza that we have ever had. Just go an try it, you will love it. The wine at both the restaurant and hotel is excellent. We both cannot wait to go back and stay at bel air again. All the best to bel air and to Jean-Paul, he has created a very special place in LP. -Anthony Zraly and Sophia Porotsky

Room Tip: The bungalows are definitely worth it. Private, nice bathroom, spacious room, balcony overlooking th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony_1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Anthony_1291,

Thank you for sharing with the world your experiences at Le Bel Air. It was a real pleasure to meet you and to serve you. And thank you for the personal mention. It is much appreciated. Yes, I do enjoy helping our guests become oriented with Luang Prabang. I can always tell when someone has gone from feeling uncertain with what to do and where to go, to comfortable with their surroundings and knowing how to find the things they specifically seek. Sometimes I am unsure how much my assistance actually helps our guests but I promise to do my best for everyone. And yes, if there is something our guests needs such as a power adaptor, stomach medicine, reservations at a hotel in another country, anything at all, I do my best to provide as many options as possible and make the process as quick and convenient as possible. I enjoy this aspect of my work. The rewards are instant and quite pleasant. Thank you again for your very warm and generous review. I wish you both the very best of times where ever you happen to be on your travels.

Best regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights, originally planned 3 and could have easily stayed another 6. Rooms tastefully decorated, spacious, comfortable and very clean and maintained that way for the duration of stay. The staff from the cleaning lady to the security happy, friendly and cannot do enough for you. Breakfast included a great selection and something for all tastes. The staff go out of their way to ensure you are happy and also in advising and helping orgaising daily activities. Location is perfect, beautiful gardens on the river and a short walk into the city. Although complimentary transport is available if required. This hotel is a credit to the owner, management and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackstar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Jackstar100,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the world with such a kind and generous review of Le Bel Air hotel. It was a pleasure for all of us to meet you and to serve you. You are very correct to point out that everyone of our staff is 'into' their work and really do enjoy making our guests happy. If it weren't for the efforts of all us pulling together each day as a team then not one of us would be able to be successful individually. And thank you for mentioning the consistent state of our rooms, of their cleanliness and functionality. As within all hotels, they require lots of love and attention to keep in order and we are happy to hear you noticed and that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you again for your very warm review. Where ever you happen to be these days the whole team at Le Bel Air remembers you and wishes you the very best of health and happiness and good times on your travels.

Very best regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and it makes me nervous thinking i almost booked a room closer to the city center. 5 min from airport, 5 min bike ride to city center (or 15 min walk), this absolute jewel is reasonably priced and the service and rooms are beyond excellent. Mr. Um greeted us at the airport (free airport transfer) and he and Jean Paul (JP), the manager, have been by our side ever since, answering tons of questions.
the garden like grounds set upon the hill overlooking the Mekong. we were upgraded to a bungalow due to the low season. king size, exquisitely comfortable beds. plush towels, hot water, daily water bottles, coffee in room. mini-fridge, lock safe, a/c, balcony, and even robes! free wi-fi is throughout the property and very reliable.
mr um and JP helped us book tours, make flight arrangements if needed, where to go to see the morning alms away from the tourist center, and countless food and sightseeing recommendations. they even made arrangements to have a to-go breakfast for our early departure flight.
there are free bikes to use and a free shuttle from the hotel to city center. there are silk weaving ladies on premises, and they have plans to introduce a yoga center and playing around with the idea of an eco-pool. the entire staff is unbelievably friendly. the included morning breakfast is enormous, replete with western and asian food options.
we are sad to leave knowing our travel plans may not include such a wonderful hotel option in other parts of asia. luckily, if we ever come back, le bel air will be our only choice!

Room Tip: the farthest bungalow is more private, but the property behind us had roosters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trav_eler31350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear trav_eler31350,

Thank you for your staying with us and for your very kind review. It really was a pleasure to serve you and very fun talking with you. Yes, as you say, our rooms are nicely fitted and receive consistently positive reviews, and if possible, we like to upgrade our guests when there is something available. Of course, helping guests find the things they want to do in Luang Prabang and suggesting things they might not know about, is really our pleasure. It's very nice to have guests return to the hotel commenting on the experiences they've had. And yes, for guests who have an early flight and will miss out on their buffet breakfast, we provide fresh sandwiches of their choice that are made that morning. I believe it's the very least we can do. Thank you again for generous review. Everyone at Le Bel Air wishes you the very best of times wherever your traveling adventures take you.

Kindest regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at The Bel Air Boutique Hotel and Resort in Luang Prabang. I selected it after researching many hotels in the area and reading reviews. Repeated references to great service set the Bel Air apart. And we were not disappointed. The manager, JP, is a gracious host. He is very knowledgeable about the area and will arrange any type of outing. One morning he even escorted me to a local yoga class and on another arranged a spa visit.
While we were there my husband organized a group trip to the Kwangsi Waterfall. JP arranged for an air-conditioned van and towels. The next day part of our group went on a day long boat trip, also arranged by the hotel. The costs for these excursions were reasonable and required no effort on our part because JP took care of all the details.
The hotel itself is pretty and serene. It is set in the midst of extensive gardens above the river. The hotel offers shuttle service all day until 9 at night and there are bicycles for the use of guests. Also, it is a short ten minute walk into town, using any of several small bridges.
A lovely breakfast buffet was included in my choice of rates (there are different arrangements). Luang Prabang is lovely but the center is very busy with a night market and night life. I really liked being slightly away and isolated from the bustle and mess.
I highly recommend the Bel Air to anyone visiting Lao Prabang, especially first time visitors. The value is outstanding and the service is above and beyond.

Room Tip: I would chose a bungalo for privacy, but I can't imagine any of the rooms are bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Gracy H,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very kind review of Le Bel Air. And I very much appreciate the personal mention. Thank you indeed. Yes, our hotel is set on the Namkhan river within a sprawling manicured garden. It is perfect for those seeking peace and quiet and privacy. And as you mention, although the center of town has plenty of restaurants, temples, and services for guests, it has grown busier in recent years, which makes Le Bel Air the perfect distance from the bustle and the most desirable atmosphere to return to after a day of sightseeing and touring. Thank you again Gracy for your review. It really was my pleasure to serve you and to make your acquaintance. Everyone at le Bel Air wishes you the very best of health, happiness and good times on your traveling adventures.

Warmest regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We recently spent a few days at this resort and we were pleased with our experience.
It is located at only 5 min drive from the airport and there is a free pick up service available.
Even if it is located close to the airport, the resort is very peaceful and we don't get disturbed by the airline traffic!
Le Bel Air is located just at the entrance of Luang Prabang in a wonderful garden.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable providing all what you need during your stay.The Breakfast served as a buffet style was good and all items were fresh.
To get to town, you can either cycle (about 5-10 min), take a tuck tuck or use the free shuttle bus service. We cycled all the time as it provided more flexibility (the bicycles are new and free of charge). Its very easy to go around and not dangerous at all. We had our first dinner at the resort, I will not recommend it as it was average. There are so many good options in Luang Prabang! Finally, the staff was all super nice people always available to help. I think that makes a great difference! :-)
You need to know that you are away from the major temples, night market and restaurants - not a huge distance but enough to plan your day head and use a bicycle! Not bad if you want to stay fit!

Room Tip: Ask a room with a river view. If your flight is early in the morning, you can ask for a free lunch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mylene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Mylene A,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review of Le Bel Air. Yes, our location is the perfect distance from town that offers peace and quiet in a manicured garden setting. Unlike other hotels in the center of town our guests are not woken up by the sounds of tuk-tuks and motorbikes. And yes, our free bicycles make life nice and easy and give our guests the chance to explore Luang Prabang as they wish. Thank you again for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you. All the best to you and your family on your traveling adventures.

Warmest regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Large bungalow rooms with balcony set in huge beautiful gardens beside the river. Restaurant setting overlooking the river is so lovely and open air. Only 10 min easy walk to town or short ride on free bikes. Nothing is too much trouble and staff so helpful. Loved staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanetteH691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear JeanetteH691,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Le Bel Air. Yes our bungalows are quite nice and as you say set within our garden and within view of the Namkhan river. Although they are already popular they are going to undergo a bathroom renovation this year which we hope will make them even more appealing. And yes, our staff does a fine job meeting the needs and requests of our guests. Again, as you say, nothing is too much trouble. Thank you again for your warm and generous review. It was a pleasure to serve you and to have you with us. All the very best to you on your adventures.

Kind regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
342 reviews
0.6 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
685 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
869 reviews
0.5 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Property: Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing