We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just amazing escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #23 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
“Just amazing escape”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Fantastic location, wonderful breakfast every morning with views of the old bridge will be embedded in my memory forever. The grounds are large and well kept and made it a little oasis. We were able to easily ride the free pushbikes into town and used the free shuttle bus at night for the night markets. All the staff were amazing, Jean Paul the Manager was particularly helpful, he organised our rental scooter so it was dropped off and picked up from the hotel itself and he gave great advise to help us go see and experience the amazing luang Prabang. Whole holiday was too awesome for words

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Allison O,

Thank you for staying with us and for your warm and generous review. And thank you for the personal mention. It is very much appreciated. In fact all of our staff are committed to promising our guests total satisfaction no matter what their needs might be. And yes, renting motorbikes is just one of the many services our front desk can offer. We can make quick and convenient work out of any request be it flight arrangements, hotel and dinner reservations, tours, etc., taking the pressure off our guests so they can maximize (or minimize as is often the case) their holiday time. Thank you again Allison O for helping the world know a little more what Le Bel Air hotel is all about. It was very nice to meet you and our pleasure to serve you. All the best of health and happiness on your travels.

Kindest regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    228
    54
    8
    2
See reviews for
89
362
90
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just over the old bridge (an experience in itself!) this quiet hotel is a wonderful haven from the bustle and heat of the town. The service is great, the staff all very friendly. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they give good info on local activities etc. The rooms are tasteful and spacious, there are large balconies to sit out on. Shutters keep the rooms dark at night. This was a never-to-be forgotten gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whakapainga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Whakapainga,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very kind review of Le Bel Air hotel. As you mention, our location has become for us quite the advantage over other hotels since Luang Prabang is small and we are just outside the main part of town. We guarantee tranquility, privacy and great service other hotels perhaps can not. I often receive praise for my work with guests but the truth is all our staff do a great job taking care of our guests. I would like to mention Mr. Oun, Mr. Nilatsa and Mr. Ta who really deserve credit for your comment "Nothing is too much trouble for them..." Regarding our rooms, yes they are spacious and some have balconies while others do not. And for guests who prefer darker rooms we have a few perfect options for them while for other tastes we have brighter options. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with the world. It was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you.

Kindest regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This excellent hotel is all about customer service and making sure your stay is the best possible. The manager Jean Paul provides superb and friendly service. On day one, when I asked about walking into town, he walked with us for a few hundred metres down the back road to show us a more interesting way into town over a bamboo bridge. (Try getting that service in most other hotels) We were in town celebrating a milestone birthday for my wife and when we got back to our room there was a personalised birthday cake and candles in our room !!!! Jean Paul and the very friendly staff are more than happy to help with anything you need. We stayed in a bungalow, which was very private and well appointed. This resort definitely punches above it's weight.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Dave C,

Thank you for staying with us and for your generous review of Le Bel Air. And thank you for the kind words about myself. I do very much appreciate them. Everyone on our team does their best to assist and orient our guests, and maintain an accommodating environment at all times. Also, when it comes to special occasions such as a milestone birthday, for example, I believe it's up to us to share and enhance the enthusiasm in a special way if we can. A personalized birthday cake surprise is one way we try to make our guests feel good. We really hope you had a good time with us and that you are continuing to have great adventures around the world. Thank you again for sharing your experience at Le Bel Air with Tripadvisor readers. It was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you. From everyone at Le Bel Air we wish you the very best of times where ever your travels take you.

Very best regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have to write what a superb experience I had at the Le Bel Air. The rooms were delightful with separate cottages which were spotlessly clean and had everything that you could require. The hotel is on the river and the only sound in the rooms were the cockerels next door. The breakfast did not have a huge selection but the quality was great and the staff could not do not do enough to ensure you had a great start to the day. I have never been asked in a hotel before if I'd had a pleasant dream!
The service throughout the hotel is unobtrusive and superb. Jean Paul the GM and his team cannot do enough to help and nothing is too much trouble. To the extent that the hotel staff made an extension to a cardboard tube for a picture which I had bought so that it could be posted home safely.
The hotel is is just a little way out of town, however this was not too much of an issue as the hotel provide free bicycles and it is less that 5 minutes cycle to the restaurant district.
I cannot recommend this hotel enough to others for a calm and laid back experience in a great town.

Room Tip: The Cottages were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick_Pat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Nick_Pat71,

Thank you for your generous review and for giving us the opportunity to serve you. It was really a pleasure to make your acquaintance. And thank you for the personal mention. It is much appreciated. Yes sir, there are no tasks too big nor small that our team can not accommodate. Everything that concerns our guests concerns us even more. And yes, we receive consistent positive feedback about our bungalows. They are the perfect little retreats in a garden setting. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and experiences with the world. It was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you. Where ever your travels take you our team at Le Bel Air wish you the very best of health, fortune, and good times.

Kindest regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

stayed in this hotel for 1 night in april2013, loved the place as it is very close to the LP center and it has bikes for its guests, just a quick drive over the old bridge will take you to bars and restaurants. The management of Bel Air is making sure you are feeling welcome and introduce themselves over dinner/breakfast. I stayed in the main building , spacious room with airco and fan and upscale bathroom. Would stay here again on next visit to LP.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guido_T,

Thank you for staying with us, for your very kind review, and for sharing your experiences with Tripadvisor readers. It was very much our pleasure to meet you and to serve you during your stay. Yes, it's true, our team does its best to welcome our guests and maintain a warm and accommodating environment at all times. And yes, our main buildings are very well appointed and able to meet any request our guests might have. Thank you again for your review. Everyone at Le Bel Air wishes you the very best of health and happiness on your travels.

Best regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We were picked up from the airport and only arrived at the Hotel around 9 pm. Straight away we were made to feel welcome and a late dinner was no problem. We met the manager - Jean Paul, the next morning and what a lovely chap. He was very helpful on handy hints and on what to see and do in Luang Prabang. We enjoyed our stay at Le Bel Air and can recommend staying there.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Linda B,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very kind review. It was really fun meeting you guys and talking with you. So how was your stay in the countryside? I hope you had a good time. Thank you for the kind words about me. I try my best to orient new visitors and give them ways to maximize (or minimize) their time while in Luang Prabang. It's my pleasure to help if I can. Thank you again for your review. Where ever you may be these days everyone at Le Bel Air wishes you the very best of health and happiness on your travels.

Warmest regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Jean Paul and his staff do an excellent job running this tranquil resort. He even went out of his way to purchase some hydration powder for me when my stomach was in bad shape. The food at Le Bel Air was excellent and the service was always the best. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv4samson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Iv4samson,

Thank you very much for your kind review and for your very generous words about our team and myself. We very much appreciate them. It was my pleasure to help oversee your health during your stay. We anticipate that guests may possibly arrive in less than perfect health and always keep a supply of practical health supplies for such occasions. We hope you are feeling well and your traveling adventures are free from interruption. It was very nice to meet you and quite fun chatting with you during our wine reception. If every you happen to be in Luang Prabang again you will find yourself a most welcome guest at Le Bel Air. Thank you again and safe travels.

Warmest regards,

Jean Paul
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#21 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Property: Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing