We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I almost cried when we had to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #20 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I almost cried when we had to leave!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

When I was chatting with my friends about this review, we were trying to find a negative to make this review more balanced and helpful but, to be honest, I would have to lie through my teeth if I were to give too many negatives.

We stayed in a group of four (two couples) over Christmas. We arrived after being met at the airport by a free transfer service (even though our flight was delayed) and the check in service was quick and easy. We were shown to our rooms, deluxe garden riverside rooms, which had beautiful wooden floors, two large beds covered in rose petals, a well stocked mini bar, hair dryer, dressing gown and slippers as well as the complimentary toiletries you'd expect from a quality hotel. Our only negative about the rooms was the lack of curtain over the door onto the balcony. Even though the rooms are not overlooked, we were still conscious when getting changed. The wifi in our rooms was impressive: we were able to Skype on Christmas Day. The plugs were European style so be sure to pack a European adapter in your suitcase.

The grounds are remarkable. We spent many an hour relaxing on the sun loungers by the river and we also used the free computers. We didn't use the outdoor gym but looked well stocked and the kit was of good quality. After reading a few reviews before we visited, I was a little scared of the, 'Old Bridge'. Walking over it was a daunting experience but it allowed for remarkable views over the river and surrounding areas. Just make sure you have a torch - it is almost impossible to walk over this at night without a torch. There is one torch provided in the room but you really need one per person. Also the right hand side of the bridge, as you approach it from the hotel, is much more stable than the left side.

A lot of people have commented on the location of the hotel. It was perfect for us as we enjoyed the 10-15minute walk into town and you could always pick up a tuk tuk on the other side of the bridge if you didn't want to walk the whole way. The location was so peaceful and homely; I don't think you would have got the same feeling in a hotel in the city centre. When returning to Le Bel Air, it really felt like coming home. Also, the hotel offered a number of free shuttle buses during the day so you could avoid the walk or minimal tuk tuk charge.

The staff were the best we met in Laos! They were attentive, thoughtful, funny and helpful. At breakfast they put hot coals under the tables to warm our toes - just one of the ways that the staff went the extra mile. Xaysone, in particular, made our stay special but he was just one of many. They all worked remarkably hard and were professional and courteous at all times.

The food was amazing too but I will add all of those comments on the restaurant review!

We are seriously considering spending the £2000 in flights from London to return to this hotel again! If you get the chance, do visit this hotel and this amazing country.

Room Tip: The deluxe garden riverside was nice enough if you're watching the pennies but if you wanted ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireTunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Claire,

Thank you for your kind and generous review of Le Bel Air. It was a great pleasure to meet you and take care of you during your stay in Luang Prabang. Agreed, our hotel grounds are unparalleled by any other hotel in town. We guarantee our guests privacy, tranquility, and unique hotel experience.

Regarding the distance from town, some believe it is a bit too far, but 99% of our guests say the same as you, that it's a pleasant 10-20 minute walk to the center of town. I also share that opinion. The motorbike bridge is perfectly safe for pedestrians, but for someone who has never encountered such a bridge it is reasonable that they might feel hesitant about it. Thank you for helping make clearup what the motorbike bridge is all about. It is now well lit at night so there is no longer any need for torches.

Xaysone has read your review and sends his regards. He is an outstanding waiter who probably receives 10 glowing Trip Advisor reviews a year. All of our staff remember you and would be delighted to serve you again. We at Le Bel Air Hotel wish you the happiest, healthiest and safest new year. If ever you return to Luang Prabang it will be our pleasure to make you feel right at home.

Warmest regards,
Jean-Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    228
    54
    8
    2
See reviews for
89
362
90
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Rooms are beautiful and spacious. The restaurant is excellent - good food with fast, friendly service. After checking out we missed our flight due to a Vietnam visa problem, which they took as their responsibility because they were 20 minutes late with their airport shuttle. When we called back to ask for another night, they were fully booked, yet they sent us a driver + staff to help us book an alternative hotel, delivered as there, and offered complimentary dinner, breakfast, and shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you for staying with us at Le Bel Air and thank you for your very kind and honest review of our hotel and your experience. Regarding flight, reservation and transfer troubles all hotels can sometimes experience, we take these issues very seriously and do not stop until the right solution has been found. Your case was no exception. We appreciated your patience and grace in the matter. We sincerely hope your travels after Laos went safely and smoothly. Thank you again, Michael, and if ever you happen to return to Luang Prabang it will be our pleasure to welcome you and exceed your every expectation.

Best regards,

Jean-Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having arrived at the airport from Hanoi without a hotel arranged, due to booking our flights on the day, we were really pleased when the taxi dropped us off here around 9.00pm, on the recommendation of the information desk at the airport.

They kindly kept the restaurant open for us, allowing us time to check in and freshen up. This helpfulness from the staff was consistent throughout our stay, which also included driving us into town at 5.30am for the morning alms giving to the many monks who live in Luang Prabang.

We stayed there for 3 nights, the first in a bungalow and the next two in a deluxe family room, as these were the only available rooms. Both were a good size, with the deluxe room slightly edging it for overall space, layout (bath and separate shower, as opposed to shower bath) and cost. Both were very nice and clean, though if I were to be really picky, the bath/shower in the bungalow did have a bit of rust on the screen mounting and brown stains in the bath, though this wasn't an issue for us.

The breakfasts here were excellent each day, with all the staff friendly and attentive. It's a really peaceful and pleasant place to stay, right next to the river and an old bridge, which only has room for people, animals and motorbikes to cross it. so I'd suggest using the motorbike rather than the pedestrian part of the bridge at night (walking on the left so you face the oncoming traffic, which is quite slow), should you choose to walk back from the town centre, which is twenty or so minutes walk.

Were there to have been a pool, I'd have given them a 5 circle rating, though there is an outdoor gym and computer for general use, along with free wifi. I'd definitely recommend Le Bel Air as a great place to stay, if you don't mind being a little bit out of the centre of Luang Prabang.

Also, try the grilled fresh Mekong River Fish at the evening street market, as it's amazingly good - I had it two nights running!

Room Tip: If there's availability, have a look at a couple of rooms, so you can choose the one you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandAtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Sanda2012,

Thank you for staying at Le Bel Air and thank you for your great review of our hotel. Agreed, our private bungalows are the rooms of choice and they receive terrific reviews from everyone who stays in them. The minor rust issue you mentioned was taken care of soon after you left. Such issues are part of the reality of hotel maintenance wherever you may stay. We really wish you could see the room now.

Regarding the motorbike bridge, it is actually safest to walk on the outer pedestrian walkways instead of within the inner motorbike driving lanes. Although it is perfectly reasonable that one who has never encountered such a bridge might feel hesitant about it, the outer pathways are strong and safe and well lit at night.

It is great you mention the pool. Plans have already been drawn up for a new swimming pool and we are very excited about it. We will update our website with a notice as soon as it enters the construction phase.

And regarding our distance from the center of town, we are indeed a 10-20 minute walk to the center which is really a lovely jaunt. There is so much to see on this walk that it is considered by most guests to be one of the best parts of staying with us.

Thank you again for your warm comments. We wish you a happy new year and safe travels. If you happen to passing through Luang Prabang again we will be delighted to serve you again.

Sincerest regards,
Jean-Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

very nice hotel and location. very relaxing. free transfer to and from the airport. the food is very good quality and value. i can highly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for some peace and quiet.

Room Tip: bungalow is worth getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Ed K,

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind and concise review of Le Bel Air. Yes sir, peace, quiet, privacy and a unique hotel experience is what Le Bel Air is all about. We aim to offer the best products and services at the best possible value. Thank you again, Ed, and if you ever happen to return to the Luang Prabang area, it will be our pleasure to make you feel at home again.

Warmest regards,
Jean-Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
265 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for two nights, first night was upgraded to superior room, second night stayed in standard room.

I got a good deal and it included breakfast and wifi.

The room was comfortable with a safe, minibar and multiple amenities. I personally didn't like the shampoo and shower gel but that is preference.

Staff were super accommodating and last minute activities were planned at a very busty time.

Restaurant was lovely and right on the river.

Overall a nice and peaceful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Jason,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very kind review of Le Bel Air Hotel in Luang Prabang.

With respect to your upgrade, we do our best to move guests into our premium rooms if it is possible, depending on the season and availability.

And yes, we do train to provide quick and smooth service during our busier times of the day. It gives us great pleasure to see that everyone's needs are met at all times. Regarding your preference in shampoo's, however, I too prefer my own tastes in body products.

Thank you again, Jason. Your comments help us a great deal. If you ever happen to be in the Luang prabang area it will be our pleasure to serve you again.

Warmest regards,
Jean-Paul Sara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The resort arranges airport transfers from and to the airport and I was met at the airport on time with an ice cold water and face towel which I thought was a really nice touch.
The resort is set over the river from Luang Prabang and is reached by an old wooden bridge which may not be to everybody's likeing however tow can be reached by a slightly longer route avoiding the bridge if you want.
The resort is set in beautiful gardens bordering on the Meekong river. The staff are really friendly and helpful. I stayed in a cabin which was spotless. The bath is huge. The cabin has a verandah overlooking the garden.
There are umberellas in the room to borrow as well as slippers and bathrobes.
As others have said bikes are free to hire and really are worth taking in to town.
Luang Prabang itself is stunning. The alms giving is, in my opinion, worth getting up to see you can either go in the resorts mini bus, walk or cycle to town. If you do decide to go please stand a respectful distance from the monks.
Although the resort advertises that it has wifi the signal is not always that good so don't depend on it.
I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The private chalets really are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Ian,

It was great to have you with us and we thank you for your warm comments about Le Bel Air. A refreshing bottle of water and a cool face towel are the very least we can offer guests who have been on route. People seem to appreciate that a great deal.

Agreed, Luang Prabang and the location of Le Bel Air resort are both stunning and offer serene comfort, tranquility and terrific sleeps. Our bicycles are in fact free for guests at any time and the center of town is about a 5-10 minute ride from the hotel.

And yes, our private bungalows keep receiving glowing reviews from our guests. They really are perfect little get away spots on the Namkhan river. We're happy you liked them.

Again, thank you so much for your comments Ian. They are very useful to us and the greater traveling community. From everyone at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort and Villa we wish you a very happy, safe and healthy new year. If you are ever in the Luang Pranag area again we will be delighted to take care of you.

Kindest regards,

Jean-Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico city
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a great hotel to have a full experience in Luang Prabang. The hotel staff is very very friendly and helpful. The walk into town is short and you have to cross a bridge over the Mekong River which gives you a different perspective of the city. You can rent a motorbike from the hotel which is very convenience to visit the area or you can use one of the bikes the hotel has in order to move around the city. Getting a bungalow is definitely the best option, it gives you a lot of privacy. They are in very good shape. Laundry service is good and cheap. Don't miss having dinner at the Tamarind Restaurant!!! Is the best in town....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Mariana,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very generous and kind review of Le Bel Air. It was a pleasure to have you with us.

Yes, apparently our staff is becoming famous on Tripadvisor for their smooth and consistant service. Many of them are mentioned by name here. Like any hotel, however, at very busy times in the day we can really be put us to the test. We train for these moments and look forward to oppotunities to improve service at these times.

It seems to be unanimous, our bungalows are one of the best choices of rooms in the entire city, with respect to its peace and quiet, privacy, ammenities, and especially so once you consider our range of services and location.

Thank you again, Mariana. Everyone at Le Bel Air wishes you a happy, healthy and safe new year. If you are ever in the Luang Prabang area again it would be our pleasure to serve you.


Very best regards,

Jean-Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Property: Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing