We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoloutly beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Absoloutly beautiful setting”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The resort arranges airport transfers from and to the airport and I was met at the airport on time with an ice cold water and face towel which I thought was a really nice touch.
The resort is set over the river from Luang Prabang and is reached by an old wooden bridge which may not be to everybody's likeing however tow can be reached by a slightly longer route avoiding the bridge if you want.
The resort is set in beautiful gardens bordering on the Meekong river. The staff are really friendly and helpful. I stayed in a cabin which was spotless. The bath is huge. The cabin has a verandah overlooking the garden.
There are umberellas in the room to borrow as well as slippers and bathrobes.
As others have said bikes are free to hire and really are worth taking in to town.
Luang Prabang itself is stunning. The alms giving is, in my opinion, worth getting up to see you can either go in the resorts mini bus, walk or cycle to town. If you do decide to go please stand a respectful distance from the monks.
Although the resort advertises that it has wifi the signal is not always that good so don't depend on it.
I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The private chalets really are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Ian,

It was great to have you with us and we thank you for your warm comments about Le Bel Air. A refreshing bottle of water and a cool face towel are the very least we can offer guests who have been on route. People seem to appreciate that a great deal.

Agreed, Luang Prabang and the location of Le Bel Air resort are both stunning and offer serene comfort, tranquility and terrific sleeps. Our bicycles are in fact free for guests at any time and the center of town is about a 5-10 minute ride from the hotel.

And yes, our private bungalows keep receiving glowing reviews from our guests. They really are perfect little get away spots on the Namkhan river. We're happy you liked them.

Again, thank you so much for your comments Ian. They are very useful to us and the greater traveling community. From everyone at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort and Villa we wish you a very happy, safe and healthy new year. If you are ever in the Luang Pranag area again we will be delighted to take care of you.

Kindest regards,

Jean-Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    228
    54
    8
    2
See reviews for
89
362
90
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mexico city
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a great hotel to have a full experience in Luang Prabang. The hotel staff is very very friendly and helpful. The walk into town is short and you have to cross a bridge over the Mekong River which gives you a different perspective of the city. You can rent a motorbike from the hotel which is very convenience to visit the area or you can use one of the bikes the hotel has in order to move around the city. Getting a bungalow is definitely the best option, it gives you a lot of privacy. They are in very good shape. Laundry service is good and cheap. Don't miss having dinner at the Tamarind Restaurant!!! Is the best in town....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Mariana,

Thank you for staying with us and for your very generous and kind review of Le Bel Air. It was a pleasure to have you with us.

Yes, apparently our staff is becoming famous on Tripadvisor for their smooth and consistant service. Many of them are mentioned by name here. Like any hotel, however, at very busy times in the day we can really be put us to the test. We train for these moments and look forward to oppotunities to improve service at these times.

It seems to be unanimous, our bungalows are one of the best choices of rooms in the entire city, with respect to its peace and quiet, privacy, ammenities, and especially so once you consider our range of services and location.

Thank you again, Mariana. Everyone at Le Bel Air wishes you a happy, healthy and safe new year. If you are ever in the Luang Prabang area again it would be our pleasure to serve you.


Very best regards,

Jean-Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a stunning resort just across the old bridge from town. The setting along the river is lush, spacious and peaceful. The rooms (we had one upstairs) are absolutely beautiful with gorgeous wood, great bathrooms and comfortable beds. We only ate breakfast here, and were more than satisfied with the abundant selection. Staff was kind and always helpful. We frequently used the plentiful bikes and rented a moto to visit nearby falls and towns. We (30 yr old couple traveling for several months) would highly recommend for other couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, General Manager at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear npj11,

Thank you for you staying with us and thank you for your very kind comments about Le Bel Air. Yes, it is true, our location offers the best of tranquility, privacy, ammenities, value, and service. It is especially our private bungalows that famously receive such reviews but we are very pleased to hear you had a similar experience in one of our Deluxe rooms.

And yes, people speak highly of our buffet breakfast, both regarding the selection and service. Our kitchen staff really do excellent work.

Thank you for your recommendation to other couples. Although our guests span all ages and types of traveler, it is true we more often draw young couples, families and groups who desire a relaxed setting and plenty of conveniences.

Again, thank you npj11, for your warm comments and recommendations. Your feedback is very important to us. If you ever happen to return to Luang Prabang it would be our great pleasure to serve you again.

Sincerest regards,

Jean-Paul Sara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Initially we wanted to stay our 5 nights in My Dream resort but we could stay only 3 nights there and so we booked the first 2 nights in Le Bel Air, next door to My Dream.
The room (3A) was in the old building, ground floor. It was dark and smelling horribly. A mix of cold cigarette ashes and urine (yes, urine). The toilettes were not properly cleaned. Then we heard the neighbours speaking next door. We could hear them like the wall was just a piece of paper. The ones above wake us up at 5h45 every morning, we could hear them walking on the wooden floor that was obviously not sound proof either.
We complained several times to the front desk about the smell and asked for a spray or perfumed candle but they did nothing.

We were so glad to leave, especially to arrive to My Dream resort which is a heaven of peace, beautiful and clean.

The only good things about Le Bel Air were its breakfast, free bicycles and location. Without that I would definitely have rated it as "terrible".

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NFLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear 'NFLB'

Thank you very much for your reviewed.

We are very very apologize for the room was happened, we are going yo block this room for a few days in this week. for our Manager to stay as a guest and solve this problem.

If we had known you were having these problems we would have fixed them. We encourage all guests, wherever they are staying, to will management immediately if they have any problems. A good hotel want to hear from you !

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and have a good trip back home.

With best Regards

Nilatsa Santhavixay (Director of Sales & Marketing)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sits on a beautiful site. The units are quaint. The bathtub/showers are deep steps and not for anyone who is unsure of footing. The dining area is covered but open with good food and good choices. It is located on the other side of the river from downtown. You must either walk or scooter across the high bridge that spans the river just at the end of the property. There were loose boards on the pedestrian walk ways. However, there are taxis to take you around to the vehicular bridge and drop you off in town.
We got up early one morning and attended the giving of alms to the local monks. This is a daily 6 a.m. Parade of the monks draped in their orange robes. They walk with a strap over their shoulder which is attached to a covered food bucket. They life the cover as they pass you. This allows you to put some type of food in their bucket. Our group had sticky rice ready for us when we arrived to the sidewalk. You make a small ball of sticky rice and drop it in. They depend on the townspeople for their food.
We also went to an elephant refuge while here. We rode them and learned about their plights.
The hotel is a bit out of e mainstream but that isn't always so bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmcdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear 'Jmcdawg'

Thank you so much for your taking your time to post. which were shared with the team. We delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

In the meantime wishing you all the best and welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

With Best Regards

Nilatsa Santhavixay (Director of Sales & Marketing)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We loved the location next to the river. Food was good and the restaurant was placed next to the river. The room was of high standards compared to other rooms in Laos, while of course it it not a 5-star hotel it is amongst the best you will ever find in Laos.
Staff were friendly and you can “rent” bikes for free.
An added bonus is the it is nice and quite at night.

Room Tip: choose a room as far away from the bridge and the main road as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirportWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear 'AirportWB'

Thank so much for your very wonderful comments, which were shared with the team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Best Regards

Nilatsa Santhavixay (Director of Sales & Marketing)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous resort ,,, I spent my holidays with my beatfriend there for 2 nights,,, it was wonderful .... We could have wine and see the sunset very relaxing. Not too far from town....it's about 10minutes riding bicycle .... I wish I had a chance to go back there again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nouanenipha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello 'Nouanenipha P'

Thank you so much !!! We really appreciate your taking the time to post.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

With Best Regards


Nilatsa Santhavixay (Director of Sales & Marketing)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
356 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
395 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#36 of 69 in Luang Prabang
90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#35 of 69 in Luang Prabang
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Property: Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing