We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bungalows for a change”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Ranked #24 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
NH
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bungalows for a change”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sits on a beautiful site. The units are quaint. The bathtub/showers are deep steps and not for anyone who is unsure of footing. The dining area is covered but open with good food and good choices. It is located on the other side of the river from downtown. You must either walk or scooter across the high bridge that spans the river just at the end of the property. There were loose boards on the pedestrian walk ways. However, there are taxis to take you around to the vehicular bridge and drop you off in town.
We got up early one morning and attended the giving of alms to the local monks. This is a daily 6 a.m. Parade of the monks draped in their orange robes. They walk with a strap over their shoulder which is attached to a covered food bucket. They life the cover as they pass you. This allows you to put some type of food in their bucket. Our group had sticky rice ready for us when we arrived to the sidewalk. You make a small ball of sticky rice and drop it in. They depend on the townspeople for their food.
We also went to an elephant refuge while here. We rode them and learned about their plights.
The hotel is a bit out of e mainstream but that isn't always so bad.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmcdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear 'Jmcdawg'

Thank you so much for your taking your time to post. which were shared with the team. We delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

In the meantime wishing you all the best and welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

With Best Regards

Nilatsa Santhavixay (Director of Sales & Marketing)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    228
    54
    8
    2
See reviews for
89
362
90
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We loved the location next to the river. Food was good and the restaurant was placed next to the river. The room was of high standards compared to other rooms in Laos, while of course it it not a 5-star hotel it is amongst the best you will ever find in Laos.
Staff were friendly and you can “rent” bikes for free.
An added bonus is the it is nice and quite at night.

Room Tip: choose a room as far away from the bridge and the main road as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AirportWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear 'AirportWB'

Thank so much for your very wonderful comments, which were shared with the team. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With Best Regards

Nilatsa Santhavixay (Director of Sales & Marketing)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Gorgeous resort ,,, I spent my holidays with my beatfriend there for 2 nights,,, it was wonderful .... We could have wine and see the sunset very relaxing. Not too far from town....it's about 10minutes riding bicycle .... I wish I had a chance to go back there again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nouanenipha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Hello 'Nouanenipha P'

Thank you so much !!! We really appreciate your taking the time to post.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

With Best Regards


Nilatsa Santhavixay (Director of Sales & Marketing)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked a classic room but were upgraded free of charge to a superior - beautiful room, spacious, lovely balcony, just perfect - right down to the rose petals on the bed and the bowl of fresh fruit in the room.
The breakfast was always lovely and the staff super friendly and very sweet.
Be aware though there is a man in reception who's english isn't good but he just says Yes, so you might think you've booked a trip/bus/meal and you haven't - always good to double check!

Room Tip: you do have to walk over a wooden bridge to get to town - it really is OK but if heights are your th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feeanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hi 'feeanddee'

Thank you so much! We really do appreciate your taking the time to post.

Thank you very much again for your comment about the breakfast & restaurant staff i will print your comment to our staff, i thing they will happy with this one.

For the some of receptionist the communication is not so good especialy English not well. we are going to solve it as soon as possible.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the not too distant future.

With Best Regards

Nilatsa Santhavixay (DOS)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I very much enjoyed this hotel and stayed here twice, once of the way to go trekking and once when back after trekking. I stayed in both the regular rooms and also in a bungalow. There are lots of new places going up in Luang Prabang and many are quite nice but I think that Le Bel Air has a great sense of comfort and old Laotian style in the room. The people are very nice, the breakfast great and it's reallly nice to be able to just grab a bike, head over the old wooden bridge and then be in the middle of town in just a minute.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcb0540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hi 'jcb0540'

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment.

Your valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence and achieve our vision to become the finest hotel in the world.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the not too distant future.

With Best Regards

Nilatsa Santhavixay (DOS)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have just spent 5 days in this maravellous hotel.
I do not know how give thanks to Mr. Nilatsa and his team, all staff has been very professional, and overall friendly, like a family.
I decided spent my 5th aniversary in this hotel and it was the best decision.
The hotel is located in a very beautiful river side, very relaxing and with romantic gardens.
Really it is worthy the money. Recently reformed, even now it is better.
I recomend you highly this hotel.
Thank you very much Mr. Nilatsa.
All the best for you and your staff.

Room Tip: Bungalows are very luxuruy and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EvaFresita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear 'EvaFresita'

Thank you so very, very much, for writing such a detailed, thoughtful and balanced review. It's greatly appreciated. Especially your comment about feeling you had and about our staff friendly, like a family. We very very pleased to make your feelling 'Le Bel Air' like your home a way from home.

Thank you again 'Evafresita' for your comment and your comment is valuable and encouraging comments will certainly motivate us to continuously strive for excellence and achieve our vision to become the finest hotel in the world.

In the meantime, wishing you all the best and looking forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful hotel in the not too distant future.

With Best Regards

Nilatsa Santhavixay (DOS)

And Management Team

Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was the ideal spot for me in Luang Prabang. It is located about a 10 minute walk from the tourist centre, just the other side of the Nam Khan River which means you are far enough out to enjoy local life but close enough to benefit from all the provisions made for tourists, visit the temples, palace, etc and see the Mekong.
The hotel not only runs a shuttle service into town for those wanting to take it easy but they also provide basic bicycles for anyone wanting to explore on two wheels.
Breakfast in the open air restaurant is good with plenty of choice. The same can be said about dinner - a good variety on the menu and everything well cooked.
The staff are permanently smiling and eager to help make your stay a pleasant one, even down to the old groundsman.

The hotel also offer a free airport transfer service - the airport is only about a 5 minute drive away, but don't worry, there are very few flights so noise is rarely an issue.

While I would strongly recommend this hotel I would caution anyone with special access requirements to make enquiries as to whether this was a suitable place for them.

Room Tip: I had one of the bungalows and found it wonderful. A veranda out the front to relax with a good book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Skatexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeBelAir R, Director of Sales at Le Bel Air Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Hello 'Skatexplorer'

Thank you so very, very much, for writing such a detailed, thoughtful and balanced review. Especially about breakfast in the open air restaurant so we can serve like this style and make nicer better service for next time.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Nilatsa Santhavixay (DOS)
And Management Team
Le Bel Air Boutique Resort & Villa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
355 reviews
1.3 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#36 of 69 in Luang Prabang
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bel Air Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bel Air Boutique Resort

Property: Le Bel Air Boutique Resort
Address: 1 Old Bridge, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Bel Air Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bel Air is a unique hotel in Luang Prabang, Laos and indeed most of the world. It is located less than five minutes drive from the airport, nestled in two hectares of unspoilt garden and natural vegetation, along the banks of a major river. The centre of town is a short walk, the air is fresh and quiet. The river a never ending, ever changing painting of tranquil rural life, Laos style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Bel Air Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Bel Air Boutique Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing