We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, well-located, great value”
Review of Villa Chitdara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Chitdara
Ranked #9 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well-located, great value”
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Villa Chitdara is centrally located on a street that runs parallel to the main Sakkaline Road, and is steps from many excellent restaurants including Tat-Mor, Cafe Ban Vat Sen, Arisai, l'Elephant and not far from others such as Cafe Banneton and Blue Lagoon. LP is so walkable that if you're located somewhere in the middle of the peninsula, most things are close. Monks walk down the street each morning around 6:30AM and you are never more than a half block from groceries, drinks, bike rentals and laundry services. The property and rooms are relatively new (opened in 2007) and built to modern European standards. The beds, pillows and towels are decent, the floors, walls and ceilings are clean, there are few mosquitos (at least in December when we were there) and the (non-flat) TV worked well. There was air conditioning, handy power points, wireless internet that worked as well as anywhere in LP and a (noisy) fridge which we unplugged. The rooms are not too dark, and have a reasonable number of surfaces upon which to place your belongings. The eating area is a separate pretty pavilion overlooking a garden. A modest breakfast (eggs, fruit, toast, pancakes, coffee or tea but no meat items) is provided. You choice of rooms is either ground floor or second floor, front or back. Every room has a small balcony with table and two chairs, the back rooms more private and peaceful as they face the garden, while the second floor balconies facing front would allow you to watch the monks as the parade each morning (still wearing your pajamas). Probably the least desirable rooms would be ground floor facing the front, but they're not that bad. The street itself is relatively peaceful most of the day. Be prepared for 4AM temple drumming, roosters crowing and dogs barking, but it's not worse than anywhere else in and around town. The owner/operator Alex speaks good English and fluent French, and the staff are quiet, friendly and helpful. l would definitely stay again for the price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    114
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
172
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

I picked this hotel because it has some good recommendations and was available.
The room wasn't particularly big, but as there was only me it was adequate. It was upstairs with a balconly which was nice.
The shower is rubbish. It's electric so you get hot water, but the shower head is small and it sprays everywhere (what little water there is).
I didn't have breakfast at the hotel because it wasn't included but there are lots of places to get a good breakfast.
The hotel is in a good location and you get to watch the monks at 6am from your balcony if you are too lazy to go and take a close up look. (i recommend you go out on the street).
I also recommend a cookery course. I did it through Tamarind and it was one of the highlights of my trip.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyAnne62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton NJ
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2009

The location of this hotel is one of its main assets. There are 3 streets that run down the peninsula: the main street with most businesses and restaurants, the street facing the Mekong with its riverside open-air eateries, and the middle street with very little traffic and great access to both the others. This is where Villa Chitdara is located, so it was within 3 blocks of almost everything, but very quiet at night (except for neighborhood roosters). Especially easy access to the tip of the peninsula where the Mekong meets the Nam Khan and where the most interesting Wat Thong is located. The monks go right by the front door (we counted over 200 between 6 and 7 AM!). The rooms are spotless, with highly polished teak floors (everyone leaves their shoes outside their doors) and nice decor. We would have liked to have some drawer space so we could unpack, but it was just a minor inconvenience. Breakfast in the garden pavilion was very good. Alex, the manager, was extremely charming and accomodating, jumping up each time we needed to leave or retrieve our room key so we would not have to doff our shoes.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OldLadyVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed here in September 09 for five nights. This is a two-storey villa around a year old. The rooms are classy with all the mod cons. Upstairs rooms have either a view of the street where the Monks walk past each morning or of the lovely back garden. There is a small balcony off each room. Breakfast is included and is served in a very pleasant pavillion in the garden. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is quiet and within an easy walk of the main street and temples. Great place!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jiguma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ettalong Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2009

We stayed several nights here in July 2009. The rooms are good value for the price ($US 25 in wet season, $50 in peak times). Breakfast outside on the enclosed terrace was plentiful, the staff are very helpful and the location is ideal ... just one street away from both the main drag and the mighty Mekong. A bonus is that the morning procession of monks goes right past the door, as shown in the attached photo. I would certainly recommend this place to anyone seeking quiet, central and reasonably priced accommodation in this beautiful town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

I extended my stay because I not only fell in love with Luang Prabang, but I also really enjoyed my comfortable stay at Chitdara. The room was spotless and the location was unbeatable. You don't have to go far to witness the early morning alms as the procession passes right in front of Chitdara. Breakfast was lovely in the outside veranda like setting. The staff is helpful although they don't all have a particularly strong command of English. Only thing I would make this place perfect is if they had wireless access. Not a big deal as they do have a laptop next to the reception desk for guests to use.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimSamSoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

This hotel is nice enough and the reviews on here are not inaccurate. I'm giving it a poor rating for the following reasons:

- At the time (beginning of May 09) there was building work next door making morning sleep / enjoying breakfast unlikely.

- I was served mouldy bread for breakfast. When I pointed this out they shrugged their shoulders and I wasn't offered anything else. The bowl of fruit that was covered in fruit flies didn't appeal either

- There is wifi internet in room however it is painfully slow. Almost unusable.

Overall the room was ok for the price ($35 USD) but with the slow internet, loud building work and finally the very questionable breakfast I was out of there. Checked into the Ancient and love it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tha_event
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara

Property: Villa Chitdara
Address: Khounsua Road | Ban Vat Nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Chitdara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa CHITDARA is a new refined family guesthouse located in the heart of the old district Luang Prabang. You will not find a more central place to enjoy your stay here.All the staff will be very glad to welcome you at VILLA CHITDARA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Chitdara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing