We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended!”
Review of Villa Chitdara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Chitdara
Ranked #8 of 271 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2009

We hadn't heard much about Villa Chitdara, but what a great find this was! Great value for what we paid.

We arrived at LPQ and had previously arranged their shuttle to pick us up - no problem.

Upon check in, we were given two rooms, next to each other. While the rooms are small, the bed is very comfortable and the room is VERY clean. There is a TV, but no room phone, and despite the heat, the room was cool enough that we didn't need a fan or a/c. There is a western style bathroom - toilet and shower/sink. There is also a balcony, which smokers may find of use (unfortunately for us non-smokers). Villa Chitdara has one computer in the lobby for which you can use to go online, free of charge. Breakfast was included in our room rate - bread/toast/ some other pastries, and eggs any way you would like preffered, along with juicy/coffee/tea. While this wasn't the best breakfast i had, it was good enough to hold us over till lunch.

The location was also great - very close walking distance to "main street", and also in direct line of the monks walking to the Wat, so we didn't have to walk far to see this in the morning. The staff arranged alms for us to give to the monks as well. One minor draw back was that you could hear most conversations through walls of nearby rooms - but I think this is true of all villas in Luang Prabang. (For example, I overheard the entire conversation of our neighbor calling his mother to wish her merry christmas).

Villa Chitdara is by no means a resort hotel with a spa/pool/restaurant - it is a small and simple accommodation. But I would highly recommend it to anyone, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank halankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (367)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 367 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2008

Luang Prabang was crowded a few weeks ago. I was trying to find a place to stay last minute and all the top listings on Trip Advisor were occupied. I found a Luang Prabang hotel agency using google and they recommended this hotel. I was a little concerned as it wasn't even listed on Trip Advisor, but I was quite happy with it.

It is just a block off the main road, so you don't have to deal with the noise from the restaurants and is two blocks from the night market and museum.

They were lovely. The rooms were clean. Each room has it's own little balcony which is open to the balcony next to it.

Breakfast is served outside in a covered area in the garden.

The one thing that is important to point out is at the airport, the taxi stand is not familiar with this hotel so be sure to bring the address. There is a guest house with a similar name - Chitlada, which is where the taxi tried to take me, until I got him on the phone with Chitdara.

I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Didier22520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lpennacchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Glap022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank fabrybona62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HofratResch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 71 in Luang Prabang
918 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Villa Maydou
Villa Maydou
#16 of 71 in Luang Prabang
403 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 271 in Luang Prabang
1,032 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Lotus Place
Golden Lotus Place
#2 of 271 in Luang Prabang
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara

Address: Khounsua Road | Ban Vat Nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 271 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $47 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Chitdara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa CHITDARA is a new refined family guesthouse located in the heart of the old district Luang Prabang. You will not find a more central place to enjoy your stay here.All the staff will be very glad to welcome you at VILLA CHITDARA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Chitdara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing