We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Villa Chitdara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Chitdara
Ranked #10 of 261 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

For the price this hotel was in a great location that allowed you to easily walk around to restaurants, shops and attractions. The staff was friendly and provided good service. The morning breakfast was average and minimal, nothing too exciting.

Room Tip: Recommend the backside to the front side as the motorbikes can be quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 668Willamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    115
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
49
174
46
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Beautiful Villa in a very central location only 2-3 minute walk from the main street in Luang Prabang. Upon arrival, my partner and i were greeted with very friendly staff who escorted our bags up to our room. The owner is a beautiful french lady who is always very welcoming, smiling and ensuring your stay is of the highest service.

The breakfast every morning was sufficient, bread, eggs, fruit, coffee juice. Located out the back in the beautiful garden area. Would highly recommend this to any traveler visiting luang prabang.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Curt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We were welcomed by the charming owner manageress who spoke very fluent French with my wife, having lived in France for decades. Our room was small, but really clean and very well furnished (everything we wanted was there). The property seemed well soundproofed as we could never hear our neighbours either side. As others write, there are cockerels nearby but frankly they are everywhere around the town, so do not let that put you off. Apart from that, it was quiet at night - very imporant to us. We were pleased to have a room on the upper floor at the back and liked to sit on our balcony with view of the tropical garden. The Villa is in the middle of the promentary; extremely central as both rivers are just a few minutes' walk away and there are many restaurants nearby to choose from. We walked everywhere. On arrival, we were told what time to get down (6.45am) to watch the hundreds of orange robed monks pass in front of the villa, collecting their rice from the Villa's owner and other locals nearby. We did this twice, keeping a respectful distance. It is amazing to watch this tradition. We were happy with our choice of accommodation and were pleased we spent three nights in Villa Chitdara.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and on the upper floor (there is only a ground and first floor) are furthest away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishtravelfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful villa, immaculate rooms, great bed, easy access to everything in the old town, good breakfast, moderate price, nothing to complain about, would stay again if in Luang Prabang. There are a few noisy cockerels around the hotel, which adds to the atmosphere, as does the middle of the night drumming from the nearby temple (half an hour around 4am on a Saturday night).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

this guesthouse is so close to everything. there was an error with our booking; mrs. chitdara was very apologetic and instrumental in finding a new hotel. everyone was friendly and helpful. it has a lovely garden, nice breakfast area, noisy rooster(s), not so much hot water... cheap laundry (by the kilo) across the street. the chanting of prayers at 5:15 pm at wat nong sikhunmuang, just down the street, was a wonderful meditation. the monks pass by the hotel in the morning and are given rice. the p.mixai restauant just down rhe street served good food in more-than-ample portions. the spa garden just down the street has great massages... gooood location!

Room Tip: back garden has a rooster - or two... front rooms have a balcony, but the road is not toooo busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
200 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We really enjoyed the ambiance of this guest house & the staff are very helpful. The rooms are a good size but the beds are very large & do take up a lot of space. The TV, minibar, tea/coffee facilities & safe means the room has everything you could want. The WIFI signal was at times poor. The breakfast is served in a lovely area in the garden & has a very good selection. We stayed here 4 nights on 3 separate occasions over 8 days & we stored our baggage whilst on trips from Luang Prubang. When we returned our luggage was already in our room. Our rooms always had the garden view which we loved & it is still easy to get up & watch the morning monk alms procession at the front gate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The owners are friendly - the staff are friendly - Laos is friendly!

The quality of woodwork & maintenance cannot get any better than this. Lot of effort goes into preserving the place.
Rooms & toilets are very clean. Like most of the Laos instant water heaters, the water cannot get very hot when volume of water is high. Want hot water - reduce the volume of water.
Staff are very helpful. Some of them have difficulty with English - sign language works!
Breakfast is simple. The best part is the tranquil setting of the breakfast pavillion.
Location is also fabulous. At dawn, the monks walk past the villa - if you are lazy, you could just watch them from the room balcony. very close to riverside, temples et al.
Their airport pick-up/drop off is expensive. Just opt for a local tuk-tuk. For a cheap local meal, head to the local old market & pay 10,000kip for a fabulous buffet dinner!

Room Tip: Avoid lower level road facing rooms. Opt for upper level road side rooms if you want to see the monk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumaresh_sekaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara

Property: Villa Chitdara
Address: Khounsua Road | Ban Vat Nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 261 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Chitdara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa CHITDARA is a new refined family guesthouse located in the heart of the old district Luang Prabang. You will not find a more central place to enjoy your stay here.All the staff will be very glad to welcome you at VILLA CHITDARA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Chitdara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing