We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Villa in Central Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Chitdara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Chitdara
Ranked #9 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa in Central Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful villa, immaculate rooms, great bed, easy access to everything in the old town, good breakfast, moderate price, nothing to complain about, would stay again if in Luang Prabang. There are a few noisy cockerels around the hotel, which adds to the atmosphere, as does the middle of the night drumming from the nearby temple (half an hour around 4am on a Saturday night).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    113
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
49
170
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

this guesthouse is so close to everything. there was an error with our booking; mrs. chitdara was very apologetic and instrumental in finding a new hotel. everyone was friendly and helpful. it has a lovely garden, nice breakfast area, noisy rooster(s), not so much hot water... cheap laundry (by the kilo) across the street. the chanting of prayers at 5:15 pm at wat nong sikhunmuang, just down the street, was a wonderful meditation. the monks pass by the hotel in the morning and are given rice. the p.mixai restauant just down rhe street served good food in more-than-ample portions. the spa garden just down the street has great massages... gooood location!

Room Tip: back garden has a rooster - or two... front rooms have a balcony, but the road is not toooo busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshine187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
206 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We really enjoyed the ambiance of this guest house & the staff are very helpful. The rooms are a good size but the beds are very large & do take up a lot of space. The TV, minibar, tea/coffee facilities & safe means the room has everything you could want. The WIFI signal was at times poor. The breakfast is served in a lovely area in the garden & has a very good selection. We stayed here 4 nights on 3 separate occasions over 8 days & we stored our baggage whilst on trips from Luang Prubang. When we returned our luggage was already in our room. Our rooms always had the garden view which we loved & it is still easy to get up & watch the morning monk alms procession at the front gate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The owners are friendly - the staff are friendly - Laos is friendly!

The quality of woodwork & maintenance cannot get any better than this. Lot of effort goes into preserving the place.
Rooms & toilets are very clean. Like most of the Laos instant water heaters, the water cannot get very hot when volume of water is high. Want hot water - reduce the volume of water.
Staff are very helpful. Some of them have difficulty with English - sign language works!
Breakfast is simple. The best part is the tranquil setting of the breakfast pavillion.
Location is also fabulous. At dawn, the monks walk past the villa - if you are lazy, you could just watch them from the room balcony. very close to riverside, temples et al.
Their airport pick-up/drop off is expensive. Just opt for a local tuk-tuk. For a cheap local meal, head to the local old market & pay 10,000kip for a fabulous buffet dinner!

Room Tip: Avoid lower level road facing rooms. Opt for upper level road side rooms if you want to see the monk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumaresh_sekaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at Villa Chitdara in December for 4 nights. It is in a very good location in Luang Prabang, close to the river and the main street with all the cafes and night market. The monks walk by around 7am, great if you don't want to walk too far to see this morning ritual. The staff are friendly and helpful. The bedrooms are lovely, if a little on the small side, with extremely comfortable beds, crisp linen and the bathrooms are spacious. The breakfast is fine, we really liked the yoghurt. The owner is French and some more french style pastries and pancakes would make a change from the usual egg station. The only downside is the neighbours cockerels, so if that might bother you, ask for a room away from that side of the property, although I have a sense that there may be no escaping noisy cockerels Luang Prabang.
We would recommend this to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Singaporeslingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights in December and we had a very good time in Luang Prabang using this friendly hotel as our basis. The staff was very helpful, the room (we had a room on the ground floor with garden-view) was nice and clean. Breakfast is also good. The Hotel offers free-WiFi, which is always a welcomed bonus. We would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LenaManuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

The hotel is around 2 years old, i believe, but it still maintained its cleanliness and meticulate sweetness. Those who complain about simple breakfast may realise that this is the "norm" across Laos. simple yet balanced with fruits .
When watch alm giving procession, try to walk around the streets to witness as well "reverse alms giving" where monks give back to street kids who beg from them.

The restaurant is just 2min walk from elephant restaurant - > if u want to try fine dining French as a decent price... this is the place!

Room Tip: this place is fully booked all the time, book ahead of time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoAllPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.9 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Chitdara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Chitdara

Property: Villa Chitdara
Address: Khounsua Road | Ban Vat Nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Chitdara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa CHITDARA is a new refined family guesthouse located in the heart of the old district Luang Prabang. You will not find a more central place to enjoy your stay here.All the staff will be very glad to welcome you at VILLA CHITDARA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Chitdara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Chitdara Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing