We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khoun and Khone..the place you will want to be.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Khoun & Khone Bungalows
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Khoun and Khone..the place you will want to be.”
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Our 2-nights stay at Khoun & Khone Resort was a pleasant, memorable and fun experience. This family-run resort , nestled among lush greenery and a good distance from the city ,may be your best bet for a quiet and relaxing vacation. You don't have to go anywhere for your meals - they are readily available here and , believe me, they are really good! But the best part about this resort is their service rendered : they will try to see to your every needs, and whatever they can't possibly provide, they'll somehow find it somewhere else to fulfill your request. Sadly, we only got to know them for such a short while but we are very happy and proud to be associated with them.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank danong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed here for a week. Very nice surroundings, authentic bungalows, nice hosts. We went on one of the tours on offer by the guesthouse. The value of the bungalows & breakfast was excellent, the tours were a bit on the expensive side, you can rent a motorcycle if you ask them & just tour around yourselves.

Recommended if you want a chilled out special experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pabloeskimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2010

My sister and I stayed with Khoun and Khone in one of their bungalows for 6 days in Feb. 2010. They are very specail people who went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and happy during our stay. We were shuttled to and from town whenever we requested it , so please do not make the distance from town a reason not to enjoy this lovely place.
I would highly recommend the bungalows for your stay in Luang Prabang.
Deb and Sher

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlet50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Wow, my husband and I....together with a couple of friends, LOVED this place. It's a little bit of a drive out of town but worth it. So lovely! A real family business, which makes it so much special, you get a genuine insight into the Laos way of life. Khoun and Khone are terrific, they will cook for you, entertain you, and really look after you. Imagine a beautiful garden with a few rustic huts, this is exactly what it's like. We wish we could go back. Luang Prabang itself is amazing, you will really fall in love with it, but your experience will be made so much more memorable with a stay here!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRBReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershiire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2010

We stayed for 6 nights as part of our 5 week travels through Northern Thailand and Laos. I booked this place on the recommendation/comments from this site and Travelfish. The reviews were spot on and I wasn't disappointed,
Yes, the bungalows are a little way out of town (10 min driv e) but we wanted a little chill time. Khoun organised a rental moped for us so we were able to come and go as we pleased but they were more than happy to drop people into town and pick them up.
They are a great family, Khoun, Khone and their children Mina, Fly and Mimi (not sure if I've spelt their names correctly!). Khone's brother was great too, he did most of the driving around when we stayed, They were all so welcoming and friendly.
If you stay dont go into town every night - Khone's cooking is FAB - the meals are amazing and they make you so welcome. I loved the green curry and the rice/coconut dessert! I would also recommend the chinese tea - I loved it and Khone kindly got some from the chinese market for me.
The rooms are rustic and quirky, We stayed in Bungalow 3 which I think was one of the biggest and the interior walls were great (not plasterboard). The bathrooms were fab but if you're not a fan of insects you may struggle as we were visited by spiders (not small!) and slugs! PLEASE dont let that put you off though.
If you choose to stay here I know you'll have a great relaxing time,

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmsglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We stayed here in November 2007, and it was the highlight of our trip. The bungalows are wonderful, the setting amazing, the food is superb, but making friends with Khoun and Khone was the best part. We enjoyed being in their lives for the all too short time we were there. We loved the jeep trip with Khoun to the Hmong village.

They asked that we pass along this contact information, and Khone said that it is best to first make arrangements through email, then call from Luang Prabang to be picked up. Khoun and Khone Bungalows, Ban Nadad, Luangprabang, Laos - Mobile [--], [--]. If you google Khoun and Khone you will find their website.

Don't miss this if you are going to be in Luang Prabang. We stayed in town for a few days, then called Khone and she picked us up and we stayed several more with them.

If you search on YouTube with the terms "Webmoment," "Khoun" and "Khone" you will find dozens of videos I posted. We really love these people and their place is one of the best we have stayed at in many years of traveling.

There are photos in my review, under "Khone & Kaan's Bungalows."

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webmoment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adliswil, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Khoun and Khone Bungalows are located about 5 kms outside of Luang Phabang town. I e-mailed them through their website and asked them to meet us off the slow boat which they did. They run you in and out of town for free as much as you like so being out of the town is not an issue. The bungalows are beautifully handmade by the couple - they have six. When we stayed we were the only guests so they cooked for us every night and we ate with them. This was an experience in itself the food was amazing, local and very tasty. The garden is full of exotic fruit. We stayed 4 nights which was perfect. I think it must be the most welcoming and friendly place I have ever been! Breakfasts were also brilliant, they did our washing, organised trips etc....
Thankyou you were the highlight of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling_everywher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.9 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang
Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang
#33 of 69 in Luang Prabang
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
763 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hillside - Nature Lifestyle Lodge
Hillside - Nature Lifestyle Lodg...
#2 of 152 in Luang Prabang
93 reviews
3.2 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 264 in Luang Prabang
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khoun & Khone Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khoun & Khone Bungalows

Property: Khoun & Khone Bungalows
Address: Ban Na Dad, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 152 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Khoun & Khone Bungalows Hotel Luang Prabang
Khoun And Khone Bungalows

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing