We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Villa Saykham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Saykham
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Have to agree with the positive reviews here - perfect location, just off Sisavangvong/Sakkaline Road, close to the Royal Palace museum and the Night Market. Staff is friendly and helpful and rooms are spacious. We had no problems with the hot water. WiFi is free but don't expect 4G speeds.

Luang Prabang is a delightful place to visit. I usually find guidebook statements like "a relaxed place where your pulse slows down" to be nothing more than hollow cliches, but for Luang Prabang it actually rings true. Our favourite was the Kuang Si waterfall. We took a boat to a village close to the falls (took about an hour) and then our boatman, mr Atdee, helped us arrange a truck ride for the final 20 minutes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simonza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Villa Saykham
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 107 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights. It's location is superb. Just off the main street that runs through Luang Prabang, a few minutes stroll down to the Mekong River and the many restaurants that line its banks, and a short walk to all of the main sights that Luang Prabang has to offer, including many temples, the night markets and the Royal Museum. The UNESCO World Heritage city of Luang Prabang is just a delight to visit, and having all so easily accessible from this hotel was fantastic. The hotel is next door to a temple complex,so be prepared for the daily sounds of temple life, even if they start around 5 am. It was not a problem. I was in a room at the rear of the hotel, upstairs. The room was clean, functional, and restful. All seemed to function - the hot water, the air conditioning and the wifi (which was included in the price!) Yes, the TV was small, but there is so much to see and do in LP that I did not eve turn it on at any time.
Hotel staff were friendly, helpful and willing to do all. Breakfast was included. This was outside in the open courtyard area. It was very pleasant. Breakfast was simple, fresh and there did not seem to be a lot of choices: a small platter of fresh fruit, eggs / bacon any style, and a crusty baguette. There are quite a number of wonderful French bakeries in the city, and loads of lovely restaurants. We also participated in the daily alms giving for the monks - this was wonderful to witness and just a few minutes from the hotel (at 6.30 am). I would certainly stay here again on a return visit to Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Go sit on the bed!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldTraveller08901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

In the end we were pleased with our stay at the Villa Saykham, but there were a few aspects that we found disappointing considering the price. As noted by many, the location is fantastic, the rooms are quite nice, kept very clean and in a generally pretty quiet location.

The disappointments were:
- wifi was awful and basically did not work the entire time, especially on our phones and tablets. Even loading simple webpages was a challenge and often timed out.
- the 'hot' shower was not hot at all, only getting Luke warm. Not nearly as good as many other cheaper hotels in laos and Thailand that provided hot showers
- breakfast was decent, but there did not appear to be much choice. However on our last day we asked for something other than eggs and got a delicious noodle soup! We recommend asking for it. In fact, if you have a choice.. Don't even get the breakfast included as there are many other wonderful cafes in Luang Prabang
- final thing was that the tv was the smallest one I have ever seen. Really nice to get a good number of channels, but the tv was tiny. Not a big deal, but worth noting for the price.

The front desk staff did end up being very kind and helpful and led to us being overall satisfied with our stay in the end.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in Luang Prabang in this hotel and it coudn't be better. Our entire schedule was thrown off by 1 day due to internal flight cancellation and we had to call to ensure our booking via Agoda was not affected. It was not a problem at all and the person who answered the call had no problems in English.

Location of the hotel was great - just off the main street and one can see the Alms giving procession each morning just outside the hotel. Bathroom was kept clean although we had problems controlling the hot water from the shower. Nice firm beds and very clean sheets. The room we had was a triple room facing Sisavang Watthana street and there was ample space. Only complain was that the TV was a little small for such a big room. We were woken up about 4 - 5am on our first night stay due to the hotel being next to a Wat. There was some special occasion hence the gongs going off early but the hotel did place a sign to apologise for the inconvenience. It's all part & parcel of a unique experience!

Hotel staff were very friendly although limited English. They could recognise us each time we got back to the hotel and didn't have to ask to be given the right room key! We could walk easily to the daily night market, the river and one can simply walk to the pier to get onto daily tour boats to Pak Ou caves (65,000Kip per pax). There are also many tuk tuks you can hire to bring you to the Kuang Si waterfalls (around 200,000Kip for a half day tour). We were astounded by the colours and number of levels of the falls and mind you, we have seen quite a few!

Breakfast was basic - simple western food or Laos noodles. The waiters & waitresses were excellent in their service and very alert to customer needs without being asked - we asked for hot water so that we could have our own instant coffee (not used to Laos coffee!) and they brought it to us without fuss.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Luang Prabang. Good value for money!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breeze262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Ideal for the river or the town. Next to a lovely temple. Good standard of most things for Laos. close to the 'Alms collection' by the Monks. Can walk all of the town and river from here. Great resturants close by.

Room Tip: Larger rooms better
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Good location in Luang Prabang, but at the same time quiet, with a delightful little garden where breakfast is served. The standard rooms are rather small, but on a second stay we had a larger room, probably superior. Prices for accomodation are high in Luang Prabang, but I would consider this good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwedenBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Picked this hotel after reading reviews and getting reasonable rate off agoda. Excellent location. Room very clean. Couldn'nt ask for more

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
883 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#17 of 68 in Luang Prabang
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Saykham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saykham

Address: Sisavang Watttana Road, Near Wat Paphay | Xiengmouane Village, Luangprabang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $39 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Saykham 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Villa Saykham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saykham Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing