We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Ban Lakkham
Nearby Hotels
$125
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$99
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$98
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$88
$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$66
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$57
$46
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$86
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$410
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveler rating
153
118
27
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
118
27
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe nam khan riverthe riverthe main streetnight marketfirst floortuk tukwestern breakfastfree bikesevery morningprivate balconyupstairs roomreasonable sizebeautiful roomstayed for nightsfew minutes walkperfect locationroom number
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 303 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2008

Hotel rooms in Luang Prabang are expensive in comparison to the rest of Laos and indeed expensive in comparision to other developing countries. For what you get though, this is good value for Luang Prabang.

Located on the waterfront of the Nam Khan River it has spotless clean rooms furnished with lovely wooden furniture... and a balcony with a view to the river. The owner is a retired medical doctor. Breakfast is served in a garden area right next to the river.

The price on the website appears to be higher than what you actually pay - stayed in high season 2008 but the rate was $55/night including breakfast for 2.

It's more pleasant than staying on the Mekong side as the Mekong side is very busy (plus there is a line of trees so you won't have views of the Mekong from your room even if you do stay that side). The Nam Khan River side is much quieter and still an easy walk to everywhere.

For half the price of other boutique hotels, this place is totally worth it. Check it out before it gets listed in the Lonely Planet guide and the price doubles!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spn28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, General Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2015

Dear Value Guests,

We would like to say thank you very much for your helpful and informative review.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so delightful to see you have a good time at our Villa, at the same time I am sure I will share this to everyone as your feed back is always important for us for further improving.

Once again, thank you very much for your time.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

My friend and I arrived in Louang Prabang with nothing booked - just to add to the adventure a bit! - and had already spent some time walking around the old town working through the list of recommended hotels from our guide book - with no luck. We had been turned away from several hotels until we walked a few yards along the street from the 'Aspara' to the Ban Lakkham.

We asked about the availability of a room for 3 nights, and while the register was being checked we were treated to an ice cold glass of Orange Juice straight off the bat! Very welcome in the heat and humidity and hassle of the day. Shoes off at reception, which seemed reasonable as, besides being polite, the hotel looked to be quite new so they wanted to keep it that way and it kind of made us feel more welcome.

Luckily a room was available - the hotel didn't seem to be busy despite everywhere else being rammed - and having agreed a very good rate - US$35 per night the very nice man at reception offered to upgrade us to the upstairs deluxe room at no extra cost after one night in the downstairs room.

The rooms were very clean, bright, with lots of dark timber and hanging silks and the A/C in the room was magnificent - powerful enough to leave condensation on the outside of the windows! The en-suites were large and fitted out to a relatively high standard (the downstairs ensuite had a spa/jet/massage shower unit - no less).

The hotel runs an airport shuttle bus/minivan for US$6 one way, and can also arrange trips in the bus or help negociate a boat trip up the Mekong or Nam Ou river. The staff at reception were also more than happy to give us a wake up call at 6am on our departure day, early breakfast was, of course, not a problem.

The staff were very friendly and always able to help.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and was served on the private balcony/terrace whenever you seemed to be stirring.

The location is on the street which faces the Nam Ou river,and from the upstairs room we had river glimpses and views out to the jungle covered mountains in the distance.......with a bit of creative work with a machette. The hotel is about 20 metres away from some riverside restaurants, and about 100 metres away from just about everything you came to see in the old town!

Also the slippers they provide in each room are way funky! you can buy them from the night markets if they really ring your bell.

I defy anyone to find a better hotel, or better location, or better service in Laos for that price!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Dave_Maison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2015

Dear Value Guests,

We would like to say thank you very much for your helpful and informative review.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so delightful to see you have a good time at our Villa, at the same time I am sure I will share this to everyone as your feed back is always important for us for further improving.

Once again, thank you very much for your time.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We stumbled upon the Ban Lakkham while looking for an alternative to a hotel we were desperate to leave. We were drawn in by the friendly smile of the manager, Edwin, who showed us a lovely room for only $35 (low season--prices double in high season). Just down the street from the Apsara, which we also looked at, we found the Ban Lakkham to be a much better value. The teak-panelled room was spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated with weavings. The bathroom was also large, with the BEST!!! shower in Laos. Ample hot water and a large shower head, with a massage feature. We were served breakfast on our balcony daily on rainy mornings, and across the street on the banks of the river on sunny ones. We stayed for five nights altogether, leaving to go up north for a few days and returning to the same room. The location was excellent, just around the corner from the 3 Nagas, yet very quiet. Edwin was extremely helpful and concerned for our comfort, providing us with an extra umbrella, doing laundry on short notice, taking us to the airport., even storing some of our things while we were gone up north. I couldn't recommend this hotel/guesthouse more highly--it was our favorite of the half-dozen places we stayed during our three weeks in Laos.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cascadehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Front Office Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2015

Dear Value Guests,

We would like to say thank you very much for your helpful and informative review.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so delightful to see you have a good time at our Villa, at the same time I am sure I will share this to everyone as your feed back is always important for us for further improving.

Once again, thank you very much for your time.

We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 二階のテラス付きの部屋
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: 眺めの良い2階のリバーサイド
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews