We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff sets this hotel apart from the others”
Review of Villa Ban Lakkham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Ban Lakkham
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The staff sets this hotel apart from the others”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We got off to a rocky start at Villa Ban Lakkham, as we initially had a room on the ground floor that was dark. The next day we were moved to Room #9, which is a large, beautiful room that overlooks the Nam Kahn. We liked the location of the hotel; it was quiet, but a 5-10 minute walk to pretty much anything in Luang Prabang.

Breakfast every morning at The Indestructible Rock was enjoying. There are a variety of foods to choose from; you just need to ask. We also had lunch there twice, both times being very good. My husband loved their chicken laab.

The staff truly make this hotel special. From the front desk managers, to the staff at The Indestructible Rock, all serve as an excellent example of how people working in the hospitality industry should be. We enjoyed our time in Luang Prabang, but having a warm, welcoming place to stay really made a difference.

I would say the only cons would be that the bathroom had no counter space, there was not mirror in the room and the bed was a little hard. Other than those minor things, Villa Ban Lakkham is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Room #8 is larger than the other rooms. It also has shutters that can be opened to let in the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonfly727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    100
    22
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
127
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Parker, CO
Level Contributor
491 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Ban Lakkham is located on the Nam Kahn river side of this small town, just one street over from the Main street which makes it a bit quieter, I think. Easy to find. The hotel is across the road from the river, so rooms overlook the street to the river. The restaurant is across the street, and looks down over the river. Lovely with the lights at night.t Easy walk through wonderful alleyways to the main street, just a block away from a temple where the monks begin their procession every am.

My room was on the main floor (don't forget to take your shoes off in the main office). I had a nice terrace area, big bathroom with a 'spa' shower. Plenty of hot water, towels. Small refrig in room, coffee/tea, and a couple bottles of water each day. TV, fan, A/C - which I never used this time of year!

THe bed was huge but HARD, so I took the comforter and folded it in half to lay on it...extra padding helped. This is fairly typical in Asia, and I prefer a softer, yet firm bed....but all of the beds I've slept in in these countries tend to be hard.

All in all, a nice stay, Option for Lao or American breakfast nice touch (I had Lao)..great fresh fruit, but Lao food isn't as good as Thai (in my humble opinion).

No real negatives, but feel that it was slightly overpriced for the area...could just be the season.

Room Tip: Room on lower floor facing river nice, but light shone and walls are thin....however, was so tired e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTvlerParker_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Villa Ban Lakkham is located close enough to the main town but quiet enough to be able to relax. The breakfast was delicious, with homemade jam, toast, eggs, breakfast and plenty of coffee. Airport pickup, bikes and late check out made this a fantastic relaxing and affordable way to settle into Luang Prabang life.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linesax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here very much. The restaurant had excellent food. When travelling it is important to experience the local cuisine. They did this well. We went in to town for one evening meal which was not up to their standard , so we had the rest of our meals at the restaurant across the road. The staff were attentive in the hotel & in the restaurant. Part of the experience was the friendly people who served us. Staff were excellent.
The tuk tuk was free as were the new bicycles which we took advantage of. All other hotels we had had experience with charged for the bicycles.
Our room & bed were very comfortable. No problem with noise. We would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front may have a bit of road noise - but take earplugs, traffic stopped about 10pm!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We spent three nights here in November. We booked a river facing room, but after checking in we couldn't help but hear every word of the conversation being had in the room next door. We discovered a crack in the wall from floor to roof. We may as well have been sharing a room with our next door neighbour. Also, our room had noise from the road and hallway and we couldn't see the river from our patio. The hotel allowed us to switch to another room at a lower rate, which we appreciated while they worked on the crack in the room. Breakfast by the river was beautiful and quite tasty. Service at the restaurant was attentive and friendly.

The shower in our room had no drain and water would pool excessively in the entire bathroom. I'm talking suds floating in front of the toilet after using the shower.

Definitely not a terrible place, but our experience with our room obviously tainted our opinion.

Room Tip: Second floor is better than the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenWelker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
225 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had a very nice stay.

The services offered by this hotel are great. They offer free airport transfers in their Tuk-Tuk and will also let you use this, free of charge, to see the sights in the city (although we did tip the driver). There were certain other nice touches. The welcome drink is always nice, and although we didn't use it, guests have a discount in the restaurant. The staff are fantastically friendly and ask you about what you are doing for the day out of genuine friendliness/interest rather than trying to sell you something. We also met the Australian owner whilst we were here who is a nice man and appears to have an interest in running a good guest house rather than simply having a business.

The property itself is good, although the room holds some disappointments. The finishing was poor, in that we had a hole in our wall where a picture once was and also no shelf in the bathroom (although there was the remains of what was once a shelf). In general, there was little space to put things down in the bathroom (including no toilet roll holder) and the bedroom was very restricted for space. Our double room was in fact 2-single beds put together and this wasted a lot of space. Finally, the room was very dark and devoid of decent lighting. It is also worth mentioning that the villa is not the best for privacy (you can hear every noise in the other rooms at night) but this is not the fault of the hotel but the building and I guess is the same in many of the hotels in LP that are all similar, wooden villas, so it is perhaps a little harsh to make this a criticism.

Whilst we were quite disappointed with the room, there is an excellent balcony area and the villa in general is beautiful. This went some way to making the experience worthwhile and value for money, as did the service and location.

It also needs mentioning that the breakfast is pretty poor here. The scrambled egg and omlettes hugely overcooked/dry. My poached eggs on day had clearly been cooked in vinegar to stop them from seperating... but just tasted of vinegar.

It sounds from this review that the hotel is not worthy of 4/5 but I genuinely believe that it is. The place is truly very nice and in a wonderful location. Staff are perfect, as are the services the hotel offers. It is just the room that lets it down and all our criticisms are things that are easily rectified so we don't want to beat down on the hotel too much because of this. The breakfast, for us, is not a deal breaker and seeing as its included in the price we cannot complain.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NandyPengarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week here seeing the sights. It has a unique old worldly charm with beautiful staff that make you feel like coming back home after every outing. Thank you Mrs Kung, Mrs Yud and Mr Ono. They are very helpful with information and even first aid on my wife's ankle sprain.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torquay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#20 of 69 in Luang Prabang
299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
Sanctuary Luang Prabang Hotel
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ban Lakkham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ban Lakkham

Property: Villa Ban Lakkham
Address: 70/02, Soukaseum Road | Ban Vatsene, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ban Lakkham 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Ban Lakkham is a sleepy little slice of paradise on the banks of the Nam Khan River, the quieter of the two rivers that converge and frame the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Luang Prabang. It has only ten rooms, and is housed in two buildings that are more than 150 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Villa Ban Lakkham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing