We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet hotel facing the river”
Review of Villa Ban Lakkham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Ban Lakkham
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel facing the river”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Easy reservation thru email.
Hotel are located across the river in a quiet area but a walking distance to mount phousi, night market, wat xieng thong, morning alms ceremony etc.
Rooms with balcony facing the river, large and comfortable bed with lots of pillow, flat screen with cable channel, fan and aircond, large bathroom but the water pressure a bit slow for upper level.
Hotel provide airport transfer, welcome drink, free round tour with tuk tuk (no stop), full set of toiletries, coffee and tea in the room and free usage of bicycle. American breakfast is served at the restaurant across the hotel, next to the river. Wifi signal is good. All staffs are friendly and speak English. Look for Mr Ono he can help you with anything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanthus_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    99
    22
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
126
41
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2013

What a treat to stay at Villa Ban Lakkham. Luang Prabang is a beautiful, laid back town, and VBL is ideally located to enjoy it. Overlooking the Nam Khan river, many places are within easy walking distance, and the complimentary bikes were great for exploring nearby villages. We had intended only to spend a couple of days and venture further afield, but ended up not leaving Luang Prabang, as we were simply enjoying it so much. Mr Ono, Yod, Kung and Nui especially made us feel welcome and at home, from the moment we arrived. Thanks to them and all the other staff (and the smiling driver) for helping to make our stay so pleasant and memorable. They were all friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. They were able to provide good advice on everything from sightseeing and food, to where to buy a great hat! It was my first visit, but definitely won’t be my last, both to Luang Prabang and to Villa Ban Lakkham.

Room Tip: All the rooms have their benefits - upstairs balconies are lovely, and the room at the far end from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Villa ban Lakkham was the icing on the cake for my stay in the most amazing of travel destinations, Luang Prabang. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff at Villa Ban Lakkham. My sincere thanks to all the staff, including Yod, Kung, Mr Ono and Nui, who were warm and friendly, and always prompt and helpful with their assistance. By the end of my stay they felt like close friends. The restaurant, called The Indestructable Rock, has a sensational menu that integrates traditional Lao cuisine with a touch of French flair. You must try the tamarind fish dish-it is heavenly! Villa Ban Lakkham is a classic mix of French colonial and Lao architecture-beautiful polished teak abounds, quality artwork and crafted features throughout, and luxourous bedrooms with balconies overlooking the Nam Khan River, I hope that I will be lucky enough to be able to visit Luang prabang again and of course stay at Villa Ban Lakkham!

Room Tip: Both the upstairs and downstairs rooms are wonderful, with balconies upstairs, and verandahs downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trentham, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Villa Ban Lakkham represents some of the best qualities of my two week experience of Laos. The food is sensational, the staff warmly helpful with an unflappable lack of fuss, and the polished teak decor unmistakably and exotically Asian. It is exceptionally located, overlooking the Nam Khan River from the restaurant terrace and with the main street of Luang Prebang "a stones throw" over the back. There is so much walking opportunity to much of the town from here, even before you jump on one of the free bicycles to explore further afield. I'm so pleased to have spent a whole fortnight exploring the delights of this amazing place and to have done it from such a sympathetic and nurturing base. My warmest thanks to Nui, Yod, Keung and Mr Ono for their personal attention. I left deeply relaxed, wanting more, and with a warm sense of satisfaction at having had a real and rewarding experience.

Room Tip: Upstairs (with balconies) and downstairs rooms (with terraces) are equally good, though the upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great locations, peaceful surroundings, tidy room, clean toilet, 2 comfy single beds, free wifi, cute verandah and very friendly, helpful staffs which are a credit to the hotel. There is also a computer available for use in reception. Breakfast was simple but nice and fresh at the riverside open-air restaurant across the road overlooking the Nam Khan River.
We did not use the free bikes as we preferred walking. The main street (town centre) is 5 to 10 minutes stroll and has interesting shops, restaurants and night market, hangout places. We walked almost the whole stay in Luang Prabang and also visited the village across the Nam Khan River. We did not get lost as the LP is a small lovely town, the touristy places and wats are easy to find.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jebat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spellbinding ambience and heaps of local character make Villa Ban Lakkham probably the most unforgettable SE Asia inn/boutique hotel I have ever stayed at. The restaurant called The Indestructible Rock (on account of a very intriguing story about a rock that refused to be blown up even by dynamite) is simply phenomenal. Ask for recommendations, and make sure you sample these truly incredible dishes at least once:

- Tamarind Riverfish (the fish is so dense and flavorsome and the moist tangy yet complex sauce is unlike anything you've ever tried. "Nui" is the amazing restaurateur, fluent in French and English, who perfected the recipe.)
- Seafood Pancake (shredded vegetables and al dente shrimp inside - indescribably addictive)

As you can tell, food means a lot to me, I know I know it's shameful but fun fun fun. Now one of my yardsticks for judging a place is its coffee. Served in pristine glass cups, the coffee is ground and brewed by the cup, and better than any you'll ever taste. It's organic, rich yet not a trace bitter. At breakfast, team it with a fresh pineapple pancake and perfectly luscious warmed croissant with home-made tropical jam.

I am telling you, Villa Ban Lakkham is a place to experience at least once in this short lifetime. Aged dark polished wood, juicy tropical fruit sensations, free bicycles, warmest and gentlest staff, filtered light through shutters, huge beds with mountains of pillows, lovely river views, so wonderful and so authentically charming without any of the contrived Bali resort vibe that is just so passé. It's the real deal. The best place I have ever stayed at in SE Asia. Catch it before the Laos tourism sector explodes. It's a moment in time and it's magical.

Room Tip: Room 9 is infused with filtered sunlight and a magical ambience for sleeping. This insomniac slept d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandal, Norway
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A charming,old Colonial style hotel situated on a quiet road beside the Nam Khan river. We had a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the river. The hotel has a riverside terrace restaurant where breakfast is served. There is a good selection of Laotian and western food.
The reception staff speak good English and Thai and are very helpful.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the upper floor facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kham B, Manager at Villa Ban Lakkham, responded to this review, October 22, 2015
Dear Value Guest,

At the first of all, please allow us to say thank you very much indeed for taking your time to write us the helpful and informative comment.

A whole team at Villa Ban Lakkham are so proud and happy to see you have a pleasant stay at our hotel, at the same time we are so sorry for any inconvenient points that you may encounter during your stay with us.

We are truly agree with your feedback as it is always important guidance for improving us in the future.

We hope to have a good chance to serve you again soon.

Look forward to hearing and meeting you on your next trip come to LPQ.

Best regards,

Kham & VBL Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.9 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#23 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#25 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ban Lakkham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ban Lakkham

Property: Villa Ban Lakkham
Address: 70/02, Soukaseum Road | Ban Vatsene, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ban Lakkham 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Ban Lakkham is a sleepy little slice of paradise on the banks of the Nam Khan River, the quieter of the two rivers that converge and frame the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Luang Prabang. It has only ten rooms, and is housed in two buildings that are more than 150 years old. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Ban Lakkham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing