We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guesthouse, loud at night”
Review of Villa Luang Sokxay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Luang Sokxay
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights and were very comfortable. The staff were always friendly, the room clean and the beds comfortable. There is a shared balcony on the second floor that is nice in the afternoon for sipping a drink and reading a book.

The guesthouse is a short walk (5-10min) from the main street but there's lots of restaurants and shops in the vicinity also. There are also numerous bars in this area which can be a pro or a con depending on who you are. We like to head to bed early so the loud music from the bars was annoying but fortunately everything closes down around 11:30pm. If you're the type to enjoy going out in the evening then this guesthouse is perfectly placed. From what we could tell, it was the most happening part of town after dark (night market excluded).

We had a great stay here and the music from the bars was the only real negative. The value was excellent. Breakfast was not included with our room so we never did eat at there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 66 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night only and it was clean and comfortable.
The staff was friendly and helpful during our short stay and one of them speaks good English.
The room is quite nice and clean. The decor is notbad either. The food is so-so although you can find nice restaurants in Luang Prabang quite easily.
We would recommend it for the value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed here for one night in February this year.
When we booked, we organised (and paid extra for!) the guesthouse to meet our flight, and take us to the guesthouse. We waited outside the airport, and watched as everyone else from our plane was picked up by their hotels, friends or taxis. It was late at night, and freezing cold and they forgot us. They did pay for a taxi, but it was very inconvenient, and we had had a long day already.
The rooms were plain and unclean. There were bugs in the cupboard, hairs in the bathroom and the sheets and towels were yellow and stained. The music was loud, but worse was all the motorbikes coming and going! The manager was rude, and thankfully we insisted we would only pay for each night as it came, and not up front! The 'free' breakfast was awful, and definitely not edible.
As soon as we woke up, we wondered down the river and found an excellent little guest house that had just opened up, and left sokxai as fast as possible. Unfortunately I cannot remember the name, but it was clean, quiet, comfortable, spacious and they offered free wireless, and free use of a laptop to those without one. The people there were kind and did everything possible to make our stay as good as it could be.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hkbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Great place, with very comfortable and well decorated rooms, kindly owner (Mr. Phoutthasack) and good prices for Luang Prabang. The location isn't the best but it's still good (only 5 minutes to Sisavangvong Road).

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gabebritto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lucile568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Man kan få rum med balkong.Trevligt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann-Sofi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vanessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
6.1 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#36 of 71 in Luang Prabang
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
Villa Maly Boutique Hotel
#11 of 71 in Luang Prabang
915 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 71 in Luang Prabang
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Luang Sokxay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Luang Sokxay

Address: Phousi Rd. | Ban Aphai, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 163 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $20 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Luang Sokxay 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Luang Sokxay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing