We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chanthavinh Resort and Spa
Ranked #52 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Remant landscape under the trees and pretty flowers, seen on the Mekong at the bottom of the mountain without human trachea, we believed in paradise. it's rare to find such a beautiful landscape with western comfort.

Phayboun from Paris

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phayboun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

The one thing you have to know is that this hotel is not in Luang Prabang but a few kilometers away.

This is both a plus and a minus but being aware of that before booking really brought us what we were looking for:
- the place was a good retreat away from the city
- the views from the restaurant and when crossing the Mekong were amazing
- the staff was friendly and would pick you up anywhere in the city (however we were always going to their sister travel agency for them to call the shuttle)
- the room was gigantic
- the place was generally quiet

We also like the alternation between buffet breakfast and menu. The food at the restaurant was great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samlevysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2010

OK, my daughter and I arrived here quite by chance having hoped to find onward transport to Hongsa on the west bank of the Mekong. There wasn't any. This is not at all the kind of place we would usually choose and we stayed just one night leaving as early as possible the following day. We were extremely uncomfortable with the ostentatious luxury in a very poor village; we felt it offers actually nothing to the village except some very menial employment; we didn't like the locked gates. We hardly felt we were in Laos at all. And whatever else - it's in totally the wrong place! If you want to visit the wonderful city of Luang Prabang, which has a huge array of accomodation and all kinds of things to see and do, why would you base yourself on the wrong side of the Mekong? I have seent he river in full flood in the rainy season and I certainly would not have ventured to cross it by boat. Yes, the hotel does provide a free boat service - though, as we discovered next day, not to the city centrre - and it did seem that the few other guests were indeed spending most of their time away from the 'resort'. In consequence we dined that evening in solitary splendour - though very pleasantly and on a terrace overlooking the river.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happytraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

seattle wa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights,, family of 4. The service is great, The staff are nice and friendly and the rooms are comfortable and clean. The view over the Mekong is fantastic. Travel to/from town is taxing, so if you go out, you probably have to plan on staying out for the whole day... I don't think you have the option to go early for the monk procession. Dinner is rather expensive too.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

A very pleasant stay at Chanthavinh Resort and Spa! The view of Mekong River from the resort is surprisingly wonderful. Their staffs were very friendly and helpful which they are so attentive and took good care of their guests. The room is so spacious, very clean and comfortable in typical Laotian style. Their beautiful garden is also the highlight since I can relax in their peaceful garden with my book. The only access to the resort is by their own ferry which the resort provides a free shuttle bus to town as well as the ferry according to their timetable. Make sure you wake up early one morning for the morning alms!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polapolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
earth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2009

I've been to LPQ many times and always stay at Chanthavinh. I have a pleasent stay and good time for all my stay. Staffs were really helpful and attentive with a friendly expression. The resort gives a good impression of Lao style in all wooden building. A panoramic view of Mekong River is a must for your stay to have breakfast and dinner at the terrace to enjoy the view. Also if you have time make sure you walk around the resort to Ban Chan (the pottery village) to see their life and making pots and ceramics. Even though the resort is situated on the other side of Mekong river which you have to take the resort's ferry to get there but it's really worth it!

I must say Chanthavinh is a great getaway if you're looking for a place to take a break from work.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessy_j_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

the best terrace in Luang prabang.
stuning Makong river view.
I can found quite and peace Luang prabang@here. And also lovely staff

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auuuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.4 mi away
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrab...
#41 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.2 mi away
Villa Lao Wooden House
Villa Lao Wooden House
#36 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#39 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
#50 of 69 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.4 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanthavinh Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanthavinh Resort and Spa

Property: Chanthavinh Resort and Spa
Address: Ban Chan neu | Chomphet District, Luang Prabang 712345, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chanthavinh Resort and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chanthavinh Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing