We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Trip.com
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
14
21
16
9
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
14
21
16
9
11
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 71 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We were upgraded to the deluxe suite which means a huge room, nicely appointed, with a balcony overlooking the river.

The Good: stunning loction right on the Mekong. No other resort nearby means its quiet and tranquil (except of course for the omnipresent sound of construction we encountered throughout our travels in the region). Large, beautiful grounds. Nothing finer than a Laotian coffee on the balcony while watching the fishermen and local commuters drift by. The staff is very friendly, the manager is onsite and everpresent and their english is good. The breakfast buffet is perhaps the finest we had on our trip, though its worth noting it wasnt offered on our first night when we were among only one or two other guests at the hotel.

The Bad: a minor quibble here... inexplicably the quality of the bathroom and shower fixtures didnt match the luxury of the rest of the suite. There were bug parts litering the duvet cover. The non-buffet breakfast was limited in choice and in execution. The biggest problem: some will no doubt complain about the distance from the main part of Luang Prabang. From the center of town, you take a twelve-minute van ride, then a six-minute ferry across the river, then a rather steep climb up what might be two or three flights of stairs. It's not something you want to do four or five times a day and requires you to schedule your day. However: despite the staff giving us a schedule for ferry crossings, they were happy and willing to accomodate any request during the day and night, from pick-up to drop-off. Perhaps that may change when there are more guests to accommodate. And we found the journey a very small price to pay for the exquisite setting and quality of the accommodation. Indeed, the ferry across the mighty Mekong was a highlight rather than a drag.

The Bottom Line: In our three weeks in four countries we voted this our favourite hotel. But a good tip might be to stay at a more central location in LP for your first night to get your bearings, then move to this hotel afterwards, when you are craving peace and quiet.

Room tip: If you CAN, ask for an upgrade to the villas because they're more spacious. But the location of both the villas and the riverfront rooms are identical... same excellent view.
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I highly recommend the hotel Saynamkhan.
Firstly the welcome was very warm and the atmosphere was very friendly.
The room was very clean, mini bar and overlooking the Khan river with a beautiful terrace.
The breakfast was excellent with very good pancake.
Furthermore the hotel is very well positioned in the historic district

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyril78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Firstly, the worst thing about this hotel is it's location. Although they offer a boat and then car to the town whenever you wish, it is still a hassle to get there. They also don't like when you want to stay out late in the evening. The staff seemed displeased with my partner and i asking to be picked up at 11pm. There seems to be a management problem at this hotel. The staff were mostly trying to be as helpful as possible but seemed lacking in training. Daily cleaning forgot to replace our dirty towels that they took with new ones and it took two phone calls to reception to successfully get the message across that we needed towels while one of us was waiting in the shower. You would expect much more from the amount it costs to stay here. Would advise friends to avoid it.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tamara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

The most important factor with this place is the location. Its good because its lovely surrounds with a beautiful view over the Mekong. However its a major effort to get too and from. We had to make our own way as we received no replies to emails and we had to ask around alot before we found a Tuk Tuk driver who knew where to go. its a drive south out of LP and then a boat ride over. Once here the hotel is happy to organise things for you which makes it easier.

The rooms are nice, however not a huge step up from what you get in a nice guest house. IF you are the sort of person who likes to leave your hotel and walk the streets this isnt the place for you. If you like a bit of isolation and tranquility then it is.

Room tip: If you dont get a view of the mekong its not worth the effort.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huw M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

The hotel is very nice, unfortunately we missed the Spa and Swimming pool (not finished yet ?) We stayed in a bungalow, the room is spacious and new, I did not like the bathroom that much because it has a bathtub and not a real shower

Breakfast was good, no buffet but you can decide what you like to have.

To go to the center of Luang Prabang you have to use the hotel boat. They have a timetable, but they were very flexibel with pickup times for us.

I think if they do a pool and Spa area it will be a very unique place in paradise!

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews