We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chanthavinh Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
$97
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$222
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$87
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$380
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
15
21
15
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
21
15
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the riverswimming poolchoose this hotelboat rideminivanmekongtownbungalow
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 65 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The hotel is very nice, unfortunately we missed the Spa and Swimming pool (not finished yet ?) We stayed in a bungalow, the room is spacious and new, I did not like the bathroom that much because it has a bathtub and not a real shower

Breakfast was good, no buffet but you can decide what you like to have.

To go to the center of Luang Prabang you have to use the hotel boat. They have a timetable, but they were very flexibel with pickup times for us.

I think if they do a pool and Spa area it will be a very unique place in paradise!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mell27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We booked this hotel on line and be ware, the map location on trip advisor did not up date and we later discovered it was on the opposite side of the Mekong from Luang Prabang. However, it depends on what you are looking for in Luang Prabang as the hotel and staff are truly fantastic. They have their own boat and will take you over the river and drop you into the town with minimal fuss. Having said that it was difficult at times as you cannot just pop back to the hotel with shopping or for the afternoon siesta.
That being said the hotels location allows a wonderful relaxed environment on the edge of the jungle. The staff go out of their way to assist in anyway possible and Kim, the resident manager speaks wonderful English.
This hotel was great for us as we were half way through a 23 day holiday around Vietnam and Laos so the relax was welcome. This hotel is ideally suited for people who want to escape the hustle and bustle of traffic, motor cycles, street vendors and the obligatory Tuk Tuk drivers!
We fear this hotel may not last as there is a huge selection of guest houses and hotels in the town and this little gem is hidden away.

Room Tip: Just ask for the River view rooms
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Remant landscape under the trees and pretty flowers, seen on the Mekong at the bottom of the mountain without human trachea, we believed in paradise. it's rare to find such a beautiful landscape with western comfort.

Phayboun from Paris

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phayboun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2010

The one thing you have to know is that this hotel is not in Luang Prabang but a few kilometers away.

This is both a plus and a minus but being aware of that before booking really brought us what we were looking for:
- the place was a good retreat away from the city
- the views from the restaurant and when crossing the Mekong were amazing
- the staff was friendly and would pick you up anywhere in the city (however we were always going to their sister travel agency for them to call the shuttle)
- the room was gigantic
- the place was generally quiet

We also like the alternation between buffet breakfast and menu. The food at the restaurant was great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samlevysam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

OK, my daughter and I arrived here quite by chance having hoped to find onward transport to Hongsa on the west bank of the Mekong. There wasn't any. This is not at all the kind of place we would usually choose and we stayed just one night leaving as early as possible the following day. We were extremely uncomfortable with the ostentatious luxury in a very poor village; we felt it offers actually nothing to the village except some very menial employment; we didn't like the locked gates. We hardly felt we were in Laos at all. And whatever else - it's in totally the wrong place! If you want to visit the wonderful city of Luang Prabang, which has a huge array of accomodation and all kinds of things to see and do, why would you base yourself on the wrong side of the Mekong? I have seent he river in full flood in the rainy season and I certainly would not have ventured to cross it by boat. Yes, the hotel does provide a free boat service - though, as we discovered next day, not to the city centrre - and it did seem that the few other guests were indeed spending most of their time away from the 'resort'. In consequence we dined that evening in solitary splendour - though very pleasantly and on a terrace overlooking the river.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happytraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews