We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hangout but not a good place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spicylaos Backpackers
Supanburi, Suphan Buri, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good hangout but not a good place to stay”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Walking into the hostel it looked like a fun hippie commune. People were hanging out talking to one another, playing pool, and overall it was a good vibe. Then we were brought to the rooms...I felt like I was going back in time and not in a good way. There are no doors, just curtains, the mattresses are only inches thick. There are no screens on some of the windows, inviting any bugs in. Also, I woke up with a cat on me. A cat. The showers were decent and the toilets were at least not squatters. They overbooked the beds on the first night which resulted in my friend waking up to a drunk old man yelling that he was in his bed. Said man then wandered around the room later in the night. It is very cheap, but I stayed at a similarly priced place in Laos that seemed like a palace. On a positive note, there were some very nice hang out areas that were great for meeting people. A downside to this was that there were people talking and listening to music until about 2 or 3 am. Overall, I would look elsewhere and maybe use this place as a hangout only.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    34
    20
    17
    20
See reviews for
Families
0
8
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We spent two nights here and it was not good. Poorly lit rooms infested with mosquitos and terribly uncomfortable beds. Flooded bathrooms not very well maintained and no hot water. Conveniently located close to great street food in the morning is only thing going for this place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank coley1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hostel for two nights after a friend recommended it because it is a great place to meet other travellers.
The communal space is mostly outside and there is a very laid back atmosphere where you can sit round the fire. They organise a daily trip to the waterfalls for 30,000 kip which is good value.
There are about 100 people staying there at any one time - it's a tardis.
The beds in the dorm I was in were as hard as rock and gave me bruises on my hips. Some rooms have good matresses though.
Do not go here expecting a Thailand Spicy hostel as things have obviously slipped since the previous owner left. Cleanliness is not their priority! But if you want cheap, you've got it (25,000 per night).

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSE_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighouse, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place is ok but I can't say much else. The location is good but the organisation and actual hostel is only so so. We booked online and when we arrived they seemed to have no knowledge of the booking. 20 minutes later we were shown a room with some beds which apparently had other people in until 20 minutes earlier so not sure what happened. The beds were ok, not sure that the bedding was clean, more a thin mat than a mattress. But showers were hot.
The hostel does lack a bit of a social area though. There is a decent space but we were there for 4 nights and there were cars parked there, kids playing, laundry being done, diy being done. This hostel is ok but could be so much better with a bit of effort. In terms of meeting people I think it was only ok. You meet lots of people in bars and at the bowling.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you are not very very particular about presentation then this is the best place in LP to stay. Its cheap and has clean loos and washrooms. Just that there might be some broken windows (which was bad as it was 6 degrees at night, and it got really cold).

Initially when i went there i was really creeped out, but then in evening when you meet people there, it doesnt get better than this. The owner is very firendly and organizes cheap tours in afternoon to a location where everyone in the hostel goes out together. It has an awesome fireplace and a balcony where everyone sits together.

It was also one of the cheapest options I found in LP which is very close to the night market (Where you can get all you can eat buffet for just 10000 Kips, and has good Veg spread too).

Overall, met some really interesting people there and would recommend the place.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms to the right side of the building when you enter and not the main building. That ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohankothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Spicy Laos is a sociable, chilled out hostel. They arrange day trips to the various local attractions so it's easy to see all of the sights and meet the other people staying in the hostel. The wifi can be a bit unreliable but they have an internet PC that you can use if you need internet urgently.

The dorm rooms are reasonably spacious and have good quality mattresses so you should be able to get a good nights sleep. It's worth while asking to be put into one of the rooms round the back as the front area can be fairly noisy.

The manager is very friendly and helpful. My camera was stolen on the boat I took from the Thai - Laos border to Luang Prabang. He made several calls to the boat company for me in an attempt to track it down. We didn't manage to locate it unfortunately but the effort was appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wibble9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This place was pretty cheap but slightly like a building site with bricks and dirt all over the place. The guy that runs the hostel was helpful and helped us to organise a trip up to the waterfalls. The rooms were fairly basic, the cleaner didn't seem to do much. It was a fairly sociable hostel which was the only advantage of staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmab22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
DownTown Backpackers Hostel
DownTown Backpackers Hostel
#5 of 146 in Luang Prabang
57 reviews
0.0 mi away
LPQ Backpackers Hostel
LPQ Backpackers Hostel
#92 of 146 in Luang Prabang
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kounsavan Guesthouse
Kounsavan Guesthouse
#37 of 260 in Luang Prabang
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Central Backpackers Hostel
Central Backpackers Hostel
#76 of 146 in Luang Prabang
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khammany Backpackers
Khammany Backpackers
#33 of 146 in Luang Prabang
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vongprachan Guesthouse
Vongprachan Guesthouse
#12 of 146 in Luang Prabang
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicylaos Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicylaos Backpackers

Property: Spicylaos Backpackers
Address: 46 Hnuay 04, Samsanthai Rd, Ban Thong Cha Leaun, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Spicylaos Backpackers Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing