We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An overrated has been”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spicylaos Backpackers
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I am backpacking with two girl friends, and are pretty easy going with the expectations of hostels, but spicylaos was terribly disapointing, resting on the reputation of its former glory. We booked a tour with a constantly intoxicated, confused staff, who turned out to have charged us double and drove us on the back of his truck instead of hiring a bus. Make sure to book elsewhere. There are much better, nicer places to stay that won't leave a bitter taste in your mouth or taint your impression of the beautiful city of Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimi08_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 107 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

Amazing little relaxing,chilled out place to stay with lots of friendly people, all young travellers up for having a laugh. Rooms are basic, and shower room also very basic but this place is more about meeting people. Free breakfast of fresh baguettes and bananas, free internet, books to share and swap and comfy little area to sit and chat. Classic backpacker joint!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolmtalcum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Everything is free including wifi, drinking water, and also locker. Simple bed for dorm, the bathroom itself come with hot shower, nice atmosphere and you can meet a lot people's in this house. This is an very nice architecture house which is part of the Unesco Woled heritage house.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joeeu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Want to meet new people this is the place to stay!! Great lil area to chill and chat :) recommend stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukey87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

swung through spicy's for a couple of days and it's like a scene out of that movie "the beach." everyone staying there has thoroughly soaked up the southeast asia relaxed vibe and is content to hang out in the mostly outdoor common areas at spicy, drinking local beers, playing music, and enjoying quiet, slow nights like only southeast asia can bring. it's a great place to meet people for excursions in luang prabang or in laos in general, and it's not uncommon to run into people here from other southeast asia circuits you met before. in other words, for the backpacker that's been on the road for awhile in the region, it feels just like home.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HibiscusByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed in a 4 bed dorm that was only meant to have 3 people in it. There was no A/C and the rooms were extremely cramped. Toilets and showers not the cleanest. A bit of a walk into the town centre. There was a TV room and a court yard where people could play table tennis.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small and stuffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

On the surface, SpicyLaos looks ok. After a night there I can give it the title of worst hostel I have stayed at. Not clean, no wifi as promised and really aggressive staff made this an experience I'd like to forget. I went out to see the monks' alms giving at 5.30am and had to jump the fence to get out because the night security guy was FAST ASLEEP. When I cut my booking short to go elsewhere, the staff went crazy at me, swearing at me and screaming in my face. Customer service, anyone!? Truly AWFUL.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmarshall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
DownTown Backpackers Hostel
DownTown Backpackers Hostel
#7 of 159 in Luang Prabang
67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tony Central Hostel
Tony Central Hostel
#4 of 159 in Luang Prabang
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 70 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
831 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 70 in Luang Prabang
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spicylaos Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spicylaos Backpackers

Address: 46 Hnuay 04, Samsanthai Rd, Ban Thong Cha Leaun, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 159 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Spicylaos Backpackers Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing