We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Friendly Owner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alounsavath Guesthouse
Ranked #39 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
zurich
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and Friendly Owner”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

2 years ago (Feb 2010) we stayed in this B&B for 3 nights and we were impressed of their hospitality. The location is great, you can easily walk to town or night market. The breakfast near the river with fresh fruits.

I would love to back to this place again and highly recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheffroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    30
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
55
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is a beautiful guesthouse right in the middle of town overlooking the Mekong River. The rooms were great, the balcony overlooking the river was a nice place to relax, and all for a reasonable price.

I thought the hotel was on fire every morning as the next door neighbors begin cooking with heavy wood smoke around 5am, but this was a fairly minor complaint.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian88888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

in my recent trip thru laos.... i was unfortunatley bit by a dog in luang namtha.... the people at the clinic there said "no problem" however ms phonsiravan at alounsavath said could be a problem.... on a sunday she not only found a dr that specializes in rabies but took the time to drive me to him where he adminstered the first of the five shots .....this whole episode she did out of the warmth of her heart.... what a very pleasant experience during a troubling time.... this is only an example of the what you can expect of this great guest house overlooking the mekong.... the balconey rooms overlooking the river are a must!!!!!

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the balconey are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomtravelernewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

If you are looking for a great location, value for money and fantastic owner and staff, this is the place. I especially loved eating breakfast overlooking the Mekong River, which is right across the street where the dining area for breakfast is located or you can enjoy the table and chairs for lounging and watching life go by...The owner is outstandingly helpful in getting boat reservations or just overall information...Wish we could have had one of the front rooms, but given how popular the place is (thank you TripAdvisor), we couldn't arrange a nine night stay for two rooms. Our rooms were clean, comfortable, but quite dark. Who wants to spend time in the room anyway!...Be sure to book a head as we saw numerous travelers turned away. There are only seven or so rooms.

Room Tip: Two rooms upstairs have balconies and if you have a chance book one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlaskaWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Experience a front room to feel the peacefulness of the city and the beauty of the river. Would stay there again. The staff was most accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ref4219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

we stayed 4 nights in room 7 on the ground floor facing the Mekong river. The room is very nice with a kingsize bed. The room is on the street but we had no problems with noise. We enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace overlooking the river. The people are indeed friendly, but the service could be better.

Room Tip: book room 1 or 2 if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naatje67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Spent 4 nights here with my family. The 2 rooms with balconies look right out over the river. The location is perfect: 2 blocks from the main street, but still located on a quiet block across from the river. One thing I want to add is how nice the people are. One of us got sick and the staff (they are all related) drove us to the local hospital (which is a whole other story in itself) and made sure that the hospital staff provided treatment. This was above and beyond and was greatly appreciated. Check your bill, however. I think the people are very honest, but they do not have the best record-keeping system. There are just little pieces of paper and notes in a paper book. If you pay one person for something it may still show up on your bill later. I found this throught Southeast Asia, and they made mistakes in my favor as well so I am sure the mistakes were unintentional.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank haabmiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#36 of 69 in Luang Prabang
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
881 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaluenxay Villa
Chaluenxay Villa
#9 of 264 in Luang Prabang
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#32 of 264 in Luang Prabang
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
#3 of 264 in Luang Prabang
646 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#20 of 264 in Luang Prabang
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alounsavath Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alounsavath Guesthouse

Property: Alounsavath Guesthouse
Address: Khem Kong Road, Luang Prabang PDR, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alounsavath Guesthouse is a boutique accommodation choice on the banks of the Mekong River in picturesque Luang Prabang, Laos. Attention to detail, well appointed rooms and personalized service is the norm here. Ms. Phon the proprietress, goes out of her way to make your stay perfect and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Alounsavath Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alounsavath Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing