We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to go back”
Review of Mekong Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mekong Estate
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Want to go back”
Reviewed February 12, 2011

We where staying in the building they have in luang prabang center
And it is really great very central
Also we got a bike
I am the owner of the purist villas in ubub and Ryad dyor Marrakech
And the giri in Ibiza So I will recommend this to all my customers

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertocortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
69
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We had a wonderful 'golden week' staying at Mekong Estate in October 2010. Everything form the initial email communication, to the 'out of your face' but still attentive and personal service, to the the moment we had taken off on the flight was so genuinly warm. This made the week a very special experience. We travelled with a 7 year old and a 3 year old and I have to warn other families that the Mekong Estate is not built for small children: one side of the pool ends in a 3-meter waterfall where, should a child fall over she/he could get seriously hurt, there are no railings around the steep stairs etc. This is a perfect place for adults - and can be for children as well if you make sure to be cautious. There will thus, most likely, not be other children around. Another warning for those who want to be close to the center of Luang Prabang: Mekong Estate is outside of the 'action' it takes about 10 minutes to cycle into the center.
It is a very peaceful atmosphere, just on the beautiful and majestic Mekong river.
We really liked the fact that there is no reception, no 'hotel-feeling' there are just lovely people around to help you with absolutely anything. And if you want to be left alone, you will be left alone. Breakfast is served on your private balcony. We even had babysitting one night - that was not charged for.
I will never forget this special trip to wonderful Laos. And wonderful Mekong Estate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birgitta71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mekongestate, Responsable relations clients at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you for your objectif review. We agree with you about your comment concerning families with young children. We're so concern to the safety. Mekong Estate is a perfect place for adults and friends who want to share a property.
Good also to notice the fact Mekong Estate is not a classique hotel with reception. Like you all the guests enjoy the privacy of the villas or appartments, like "home-feeling" with breakfast served
on private terrace.
Hope to welcome you again in 2011.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2011

Mekong Estate offers you a collection of luxurious and beautifully decorated dwellings in different locations of Luang Prabang to choose from, most of them overlooking the majestic Mekong river. If you're into top-notch Southeast Asian design this is the place to be. We stayed at the Villa Saynam, a four-suite rental located just outside of town, offering all the peace you need when trying to escape the big city buzz (in our case Delhi).

If there is one thing to improve we would name service: language turned out to be a problem at times (we are both French and English spoken) which should not be the case in that price range. In-house/in-room food service would be another great option to add.

Overall, an excellent place and perfect retreat we highly recommend to anyone visiting Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cara-Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Just got back from a magical stay at Mekong Estate and can't wait to get back. We rented the Maison Rouge and the pictures don't begin to do it justice.

The management and staff really go out of their way to help with anything you may need. The neigborhood has a very nce tuk-tuk driver who will take you anywhere and pick you up.

Don't waste time going to the riverside restaurants for a sunset view, have a drink on the two wrap around porches as the sun sets, lighting up the \Mekong in your own backyard, and then head into town for dinner.

we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flyboy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
710 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Mekong Estate is a very comfortable, attractive accommodation situated on the Mekong. My room came with a separate attractively decorated and comfortable large living area and balcony, which overlooked the river.

The gardens are delightful and well maintained, as is the infinity pool. Service and breakfast are excellent. Tours can be organised on site. The cleaner was so painstakingly meticulous that I wanted to take her home!

While significantly more expensive than other places, I am very pleased that I had a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable week at Mekong Estate. I will return.

Don't be disillusioned by the relative short distance to town or the short trip down a bumpy unpromising road. When you enter Mekong Estate, you will be delighted with its attractiveness, attention to detail and service.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed here for a month during October - November 2010 and had the best of times. We even extended our visas to stay longer! (You could to this at the Migration office in town for 2 USD per extra day).
As some of the other reviews has stated; this is not a hotel. It's a luxurious home stay. Khamphanh is one of the most lovable persons we have met in travel. He is the perfect host; he and his staff is all very friendly and service-minded. We have had some bad experiences in the past by booking on the Internet so we set up a meeting with Khamphanh so that he could show us the unit before we decided. We decided on the spot when we got there! First we stayed in one of the renovated townhouses in the center of Luang Prabang. The house is a 2-storey unit with separate kitchen (w/h all essential equipments; big fridge), bedroom upstairs w/h balcony with view of the Mekong River. Wifi. Good shower. The interior design is very nice. The location is spot on. It's opposite a good bookstore and the well-known (but expensive) restaurant L'Elephant. The Wats is just around the corner. Free bicycles. You are allowed (and very much welcome) to use the pool at the main property outside of town as well. It’s about 15 min bicycle ride to get there. We used the kitchen a lot because it was such a nice experience to go to the local market to buy your own food. There are 2 mini-marts opposite the Dana Market where you could find a decent variety of imported goods, such as wine and cheese. Because we hadn’t book in advance the townhouse was however booked for a week and we had to move out. Khamphanh then offer us to stay in his private guestroom at the main estate outside of town. This we gladly accepted and stayed there another 10 days. The main property is the place with the infinity pool you see on the Mekong Estate website. As some of the other reviewers stated, it’s actually even better in the real life. What the web site is unable to truly capture is the magnificent view of the Mekong River and the surrounding lush mountains. Spectacular sunsets! This is a very romantic place and we were not surprise that one evening there was a actual wedding reception on site.
Also we got very good advice from Khamphanh’s wife about similar lodging in Georgetown, Malaysia, which was our next stop. (Sorry to say but it was fully booked).
On the whole we very much enjoyed our stay at Mekong Estate. Khamphanh went out of his way to make our stay an unforgettable experience by sharing awareness,his visions and thoughts about Laos and the Lao people.
The downside of staying at Mekong Estate is that you will compare all your future accommodations with this which will be very hard to match.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrik_Annika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2010

Believe me that you do not have to worry and regret about your spending time and money if you have ever stayed in this hotel. Peaceful and friendly place ever gave us a strong friendly feeling about this place and Laos country. We did not expected much when we got our plan to travel Laps, but it was much more than our thinking. Very good breakfast with variety choice. Really enjoyed to take a swim almost every morning in hotel’s swimming pool. Great and great, do not go anywhere else, come and stay here!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brubardleyphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.5 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 69 in Luang Prabang
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
641 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Estate

Property: Mekong Estate
Address: Ban Saylom | Mekong River Bank, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mekong Estate lives up to its name with five stately Lao-colonial style villas, all with a stunning vista of the majestic Mekong River and mountains. Each of the property's 10 well-appointed rooms and suites has a river view, private terrace and kitchen, and is designed to be your home away from home. Founded in 2005 as the first residence service in Luang Prabang, guests get to discover a local atmosphere and home-style comfort, an experience unparalleled to staying at a hotel in town. The rooms boast ample space, light, character and charm. Spacious living extends to the outdoors with verandas, immaculate tropical gardens, a 25m long swimming pool and of course, the property's namesake river. Quite simply, we have the best view of the Mekong in Luang Prabang; watch the world drift by and let time stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mekong Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mekong Estate Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing