We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“.Easy Luxury”
Review of Mekong Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mekong Estate
Ranked #37 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“.Easy Luxury”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were greeted at the airport by our guest relations host, Tui, who soon became our wonderful guide and help to see the most of this city as well as getting the most out of every day.
Mekong Estate is my pick as the most luxurious private and user friendly accommodation available in Luang Prabang. We stayed in the Bambou 3 then 4 House and loved both spaces so much it was very hard to justify moving on. In fact we doubled our time in LP in part because of here.
This place was very quiet and private at the time of year we visited, more suited to couples and older children as there is little fencing and extensive grounds with access to the water. The Estate offers a wide variety of accommodation styles suitable for friends, families and extended family gatherings.
The service we received from Tui and Vanh as well as the breakfast staff was practical perceptive and most welcome.The rooms were spotlessly cleaned every day by a lovely lady. Our location on the Mekong allowed us to enjoy beautiful sunsets over the river.
Tui checked in with us every morning to confirm our plans and ensure our daily needs were covered. I would highly recommend this estate to anyone seeking to unwind in delightful surroundings.
You pass through the midst of a village to leave the estate and a local guy at the shops on the main road put us onto the Boules and Karaoke place for food served till 9.30pm. Just a few minutes walk, on the corner of the estate road and main road. We were warmly welcomed, watched the boules for a while then ate an excellent cheap meal at the restaurant behind the big Karaoke building.
Overall Mekong Estate offered us the best accommodation and service during our month long stay in Thailand and Laos. We both look forward to our return and plan on taking family and friends whenever we can

Room Tip: We looked at a few different suites and accommodation styles and they all looked suitable for a vari...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherryblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
69
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We loved this place. This was the most pleasant and memorable hotel of our trip to south east asia. Ok so we were a family of 5 who had the hotel to ourselves for 3 of the 4 nights. The pool is stunning, the mekong is at the bottom of an immaculate garden. The rooms were large and full of character. It may not have all the things that you would expect to find in a hotel of this price but the owner explained to me that he does not really consider it a hotel, more his home where guests come to stay. It takes a pleasant 10 minutes to cycle to the night market at the town centre. Friendly staff would drive into town for dinner. We were not disturbed by noise at night or early morning - slept well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Garden Loft - 6 night stay
A home away from home!
Vanh, Toi and Nee, and Souk are just some of the staff who made our stay so comfortable .... Life long friendships have been made.

Early morning of Life on the Mekong with families and their long boats and local fisher people actively carrying out their daily duties was humbling.

Breakfasts - simple and made with love from Nee. We love you Nee :)
Staff can order in delicious meals from town if you want to stay in. Also any day trips staff can organise. A local map
In our room that highlights beautiful eating and local places well worth visiting
Our favourite eating was Tamarind and L' elephant ....

Phousi markets only 5 minute walk. Luang Prabang 20 minute.

Beautiful gardens and pool area.
I could go on and on . I am happy to answer any questions

Oh the short walk from Mekong Estate to the main road is a dirt road where there are local shops for cigarette, or drinks. Along the way the gorgeous children laugh and play and love to interact with many hellos and smiles.

We have nothing negative to say and go home now to save again for our return.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Don't usually feel a deep sense of loss on leaving a hotel, but we did here. We had a vast house to ourselves that was kept stocked and immaculately clean by friendly staff, and the most magnificent views over the 25 metre pool to the Mekong. Total seclusion yet a 10 minute (free) bicycle ride from probably the best town I've visited in the Far East. There was some music coming from the village but I'd rather feel part of local life than tucked away in a gated, faceless resort and it all stops at 11.30pm because of curfew. The people here were keen only to ensure we had a great time. Thanks to them, we did.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mutrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
195 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Five days in paradise, a.k.a. Garden Loft, Mekong Estate. What a beautiful place. Our own little house next to Mekong river. Mekong views from bed, living room, kitchenette. Breakfast every morning on own veranda. All very clean. I never wanted to leave.

Airport transfer included, bicycles for guests (free of charge), free WiFi, minibar, safe, hair dryer.
Nice pool with Mekong views as well. Very good service.

Location is fine, 10 min. slow bike ride or 2€/5 min. tuk-tuk ride away from the center. Sometimes can get a ride with a hotel car as well.

Very much recommended, although this paradise might be best kept a secret? ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed in the Bamboo Suite and Garden Loft with friends. The staff was great, food was good, the rooms were excellent. Only draw back was the renovation work going on in the Mekong river. We were informed earlier and got a discount on the rooms. Lesson learned is to get rooms further away from the river if renovation work is going on again. Noise from the trucks and all traveled fast and loud to our rooms.

Room Tip: Bamboo Suite - Nice room layout. Felt like a really nice apartment. Two things I didn't like, 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EeChian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehra Dun, Uttarakhand, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

I must have spent 20 hours doing accommodation research for Luang Prabang and I must say it paid off. In my opinion Mekong Estate is by far the best and most atmospheric place to stay in LP! I saw many of the other resorts, tried the spas at Phou Vao, de la Paix, Maison Souvannaphoum, had lunch at Amantaka and did walk-throughs of Three Nagas, Satri House and Luang Say. In my opinion, none of the places wins over Mekong Estate's combination of the wonderful atmosphere (luxurious yet warm - which oddly enough seems to be a hard combination to come by in LP), swimming pool, directly situated by the Mekong, and the lovely decor of the rooms and houses. Some details:

Rooms: my room (terrace room in Sunset house) was beautifully decorated in luxury Lao style. It had plenty of closet space and was extremely clean and well kept. The private terrace where your breakfast is served was so serene and lovely and overlooked the Mekong as well as the pool.

Pool: the pool area is great and this is hard to come by in LP if you don't want to stay in one of the much more stiff places (some listed above) and pay a small fortune. As most people are out and about during the day it was fairly quiet around the pool and very peaceful.

Staff/breakfast: I mostly dealt with the staff when they came and served me my breakfast every morning. They were all very sweet and nice. Breakfast was good and you get a few different options from an á la carte menu. It should of course be noted that there is no restaurant at Mekong Estate and that there is nothing within a few minutes walking, you should be prepared to hop on your bike or take a tuk-tuk. Supposedly you can pre-order evening meals to your room from some outside contractor, but I never tried this option.

Location: yes, it is not situated in town, but if you want a swimming pool, no hotels will be in town (because of UNESCO regulations). I liked riding the free, good quality bikes that Mekong Estate lends you. For me it took 8-10 minutes to ride in to town and it's flat and easy. I thought the traffic was fine. I seriously cannot believe some of the reviewers on here that complain about the fact that the hotel is on a dirt road in a normal Lao neighbourhood. To me, this is a bonus of this hotel as it is a great opportunity to see how some of the locals live and all the neighbours seemed very friendly.

Atmosphere: it is laid-back, yet exclusive. I didn't see any places in the area that were able to combine that. It is very small and feels more like you're dream apartment than a hotel. The garden is lush which adds on to the cosy feeling of the place.

All in all - from what I saw (and I did get around a fair bit to other places) this is BY FAR the best place in Luang Prabang. I can't believe there is not a wait list for the rooms. I plan on going back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sofia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.5 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
1.6 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.5 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Estate

Property: Mekong Estate
Address: Ban Saylom | Mekong River Bank, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mekong Estate lives up to its name with five stately Lao-colonial style villas, all with a stunning vista of the majestic Mekong River and mountains. Each of the property's 10 well-appointed rooms and suites has a river view, private terrace and kitchen, and is designed to be your home away from home. Founded in 2005 as the first residence service in Luang Prabang, guests get to discover a local atmosphere and home-style comfort, an experience unparalleled to staying at a hotel in town. The rooms boast ample space, light, character and charm. Spacious living extends to the outdoors with verandas, immaculate tropical gardens, a 25m long swimming pool and of course, the property's namesake river. Quite simply, we have the best view of the Mekong in Luang Prabang; watch the world drift by and let time stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mekong Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mekong Estate Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing