We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I've ever stayed”
Review of Mekong Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mekong Estate
Ranked #38 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
288 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“One of the best places I've ever stayed”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Mekong Estate has got to be one of the best hotels I've stayed in. A set of 3 bungalows set against the Mekong river, it is perfect from the get go.

My husband and I stayed in the Sunset house where we turned out to be the only residents, so we practically had the whole house to ourselves. The Sunset house directly overlooks the pool and beyond that the river, so it is probably the best of the 3 bungalows. We initially took the room on the ground floor, but then moved to a bigger room upstairs.

The entire hotel is done up by someone with really good taste - from the charming wood flooring, even in the bathroom, to the simple and elegant furniture and the touch of Laos in the indigo blue bathrobes and cushions.

The hotel is located away from the main street of the town, keeping it peaceful. They provide bicycles free of charge if you want to peddle into town. Alternatively you can flag down a tuk-tuk - this is also advisable post sundown since the roads are not very well lit making bicycling a tad dangerous.

The hotel doesn't have any restaurants, but provides a wonderful breakfast and complementary cocktails & local snacks from 4 to 7, as you lounge by the pool. If you want to dine in, you can order food or do a takeaway from one of the restaurants - which we did one night.

Mr. Khamphanh and the staff at the hotel were very gracious and helpful and made our stay that much more memorable. The only hitch is that since its located amidst local houses, occasional loud music and dogs barking can be a little annoying. Off late the local government has also decided to start dredging on the banks of the river and uses the road behind the hotel to get down - making it a little noisy during the day (but thankfully not at night)

I'm looking forward to my next trip to Luang Prabang and my stay at Mekong Estate once again.

Room Tip: Go for the Sunset house
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MekongEstate, Directeur général at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you for the compliments that we’ve already forward to the staff. Everyone needs encouragements.
In June, from the rise in the water level of the Mekong, the place finds again its serenity until January at least.The presence of machines in the bed of the river is a temporary embarrassment. Most of the residents visit the city and the neighborhood in the working hours, so they aren’t bother to much. They take advantage of the swimming pool and the garden from 5pm, time of the appetizer offered and shared in the cheerfulness by admiring the sunset.
You stayed at Sunset House a villa (340 sqm) at Ban Saylom Riverside nearby the main city market and as you remark easy to get the Heritage area by bicycle or tuk-tuk.
Mekong Estate is not a concept of bungalow but villas and apartments with services in four different areas of the Luang Prabang all with balcony, terrace or garden overlooking the Mekong River.

Many residents order catering or do a takeaway from one of the restaurants to enjoy more the privilege of having a sweet home away from home. However, the city has a large range of excellent restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
50
69
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This review is longish because it covers two different apartment opportunities under the Mekong Estate banner. Their website is not entirely clear to the uninitiated.
We spent three weeks with the Mekong Estate in early 2012. Most of the time we were at the Ban Saylom location in the south end of Luang Prabang, about 8 minutes by bicycle (faster by tuk tuk) to the centre of the Historic Zone. We spent three days as well right in the centre of town at their Vat Nong Downtown triplex.
At Ban Saylom we stayed in Bamboo 3, which is a one bedroom teak wood apartment on the lower floor of a modern two storey house. It was a delight. The apartment was large and featured a wall of floor to ceiling glass doors overlooking the Mekong and affording a splendid view of the sunset every evening. The bedroom was big with lots of closet space, air conditioning/heating, and a room safe.
There was a small kitchenette, enough to cook up something light but you wouldn’t use it to construct Christmas Dinner. We found that restaurant eating was so good and so inexpensive in Luang Prabang that it really didn’t make sense to waste holiday time cooking. Or it’s easy to arrange for prepared food to be brought in, either from a restaurant or from a local cook.
One of the big plusses at Ban Saylom is that the owners live on site. They are on top of every little thing and quick to solve problems. Our housekeeper was a woman called Mit (pronounced MEAT) and she was terrific. She brought us a breakfast every morning (we set the time) and she cleaned the room every day. She was pleasant and enthusiastic. Our breakfast, by the way, was orange juice, eggs, a variety of breads and croissants, jam, fresh fruit and coffee/tea. But they accommodate your tastes.
The whole complex is situated on a sweeping stretch of lawn overlooking the Mekong. At one end there is a long modern infinity-style swimming pool about three lanes wide. So you can swim lengths if you want. It is deep, there is no shallow end.
The complex by the way is located in a working class area of town and you will get an eyeful of how people live as you make your way to and from the Historic Area. Local life revolves around the huge Phosey Market, to which you can walk, and where you can pick up fresh fruit or vegetables for a song.
There are regular fresh flowers in your apartment, free 4:00 p.m. drinks and treats by the pool several times a week, one day laundry service (very inexpensive), and the use of free bicycles.
In summary this location would be ideal for someone seeking peace and quiet, with a pool and luxurious accommodation.
If you want to be closer to the action, then you might prefer the Vat Nong location which is right down in the heart of the Historic Area. As I say, we were there several nights. It is a very different experience. There are three townhouse units, each with a downstairs living room and kitchen and bathroom/shower, and an upstairs bedroom with bathroom and shower. There is a balcony overlooking the street off the bedroom. You can just see the Mekong off to the left.
Being downtown these units are smaller and less luxurious than the Ban Saylom apartments but are still very spiffy. You get the same food and cleaning and bicycle arrangements, but of course there is no pool. The advantage here is that you can walk out your door at 6:00 a.m. and join the alms-giving ceremonies with the monks in a few seconds. Or just troll around town doing whatever you want. People staying here are invited to use the pool at the other location if they want, and I saw several guests doing exactly that. I assume they came by tuk tuk. (don’t pay more than 10,000 Kip per person).
My wife wants to go back to the busier downtown location, I want to return to the quieter spot. A decision must be made.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment that Mit is responsible for. She is a great housekeeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marathonwinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VITORIA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at Mekong State with my girlfriend in August 2011. I have to say it is the best place I could see at Luang Prabang for staying. It is located in a very quiet area just beside the Mekong River. The views are wonderful. Having the delicious breakfast every morning looking at the Mekong was a dream. And the swimming pool is really good for Luang Prabang as It is very hot. There are very few hotels with Swiming Pool at Luang Prabang.You can choose differtent types of rooms depending on the price you can pay. All of them have views to the river. It is located just 10 - 15 minutes walking from the city center, and with a Tuk-Tuk you can get in three minutes for a very cheap price. It has not got restaurant, but they have an agreement with some restaurants who bring the food quickly if you want. I have to say thank you to all the team at Mekong State for their hospitality, mainly to the French Woman who helped us a lot as my girlfriend was two days in bed with flu. Many thanks for everything.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FOFITO76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MekongEstate, Public Relations Manager at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Thank you to encourage travelers to stay in Luang Prabang during summer. No monsoons in Laos but you’re right it’s hot (30 C) and some like hot…nobody is perfect. The locals call it the Green Season because it’s raining mostly after sunset and everyone can enjoy deep blue sky at day time. The Mekong Estate infinity-pool is a must in Luang Prabang. Unesco don’t allow swimming-pool in the heritage area. Mekong Estate also provide accommodation in the Heritage area: Duplex Downtown and Reader’s House (the residents can use the pool on request).
Catering is available at all the Mekong Estate Residences and it’s really appreciate to feel the privilege of being served at home.
Also important to point that is better to stay in a kind of family running residence when some day we aren’t feeling well.
We’ll be pleased to welcome you at Mekong Estate again and longer. We wish you nice trips in 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
203 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The hotel has 2 sites, we stayed near the river. Room big, lovely decor and old wooden floors etc really beautiful. Staff friendly and try their best, We stayed garden room first floor and a friend in jewel second floor. the jewel suite was amazing, really lovely interconnecting rooms. Breakfast served every day by the pool (pool too cold to swim in as unheated and LP is cool in December!) and the hotel is in a little Village about 5 mins tuk tuk from town, The big fancy hotels are out of town and we prefered to be close to the markets etc. We visited the other site they have in town- nice rooms, decor a little dark but again lots of beautiful wood and traditional touches. Both sites child free. lovely river views too.
Improvements- breakfast was lovely but exactly the same every day, more choices would be really nice. Also IPOD docks would be great as we had trouble connecting ours up. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: book both jewel suites or 2 apartments in the town site and you can have interconnecting rooms and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MekongEstate, Public Relations Manager at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Mekong Estate Residence has 4 locations in Luang Prabang city. All the villas and apartments with services have a view on the Mekong River. You stayed in Sunset House at Ban Saylom Riverside by the pool. To leave in the heart of the Heritage City book at Duplex Downtown or the Reader’s House with its tropical private garden, better choice for family with children.
Thank you for your suggestions. Next time, feel free to ask the staff to get different breakfast; we even serve Lao breakfast on request (rice soup). IPOD docks, notebook, mobile phone are provided on request (see the in-room guest book).
Don’t hesitate to ask we’ll do our best to make your dream a reality but don’t forget that we are in Laos a place faraway from the modern world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

My partner and I and our two children stayed in the Sunset House (2nd floor) for approximately one week in mid-November. This is a pretty spectacular property. The second floor alone consists of (1) a huge master bedroom and bath, with a balcony overlooking the Mekong River and the beautiful pool; (2) a huge entrance area, where you could actually host a reception party; (3) a large second bedroom with two full size beds, including a separate bath and toilet area; and (4) a large office with daybed, also with a balcony overlooking the Mekong. This is not a traditional hotel. But there is a woman on staff who will cook, clean and sew for you on request. They will also gladly book you various trips (e.g., boat rides, etc.)

It is a rather opulent residence amongst the poor of Luang Prabang. So you go down a rather bumpy dirt road to get to the residence, with a view to a number shanty homes, chickens and dogs. Don't let that turn you off. It's a wonderful way to see and hear the real Luang Prabang, not the upscale hotels further in town. You get to see and meet wonderful children and families. The only negative, but this is throughout Luang Prabang, is that the locals cook over burning wood. The air can get thick at times.

You are served a breakfast of eggs, fresh breads, croissants (the best I have ever had, even in Paris, period!!), fruit, etc. I might suggest they add a little Muesli or other cereal for variety. We took bikes everyday (offered for free) into and around town. Too far really to walk to the center of town, but an easy 10 minute bicycle ride. All in all, I would not stay anywhere else in Luang Prabang. Period.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for one week recently. I booked following the reviews here for two reasons - it looked like a nice place, and it appeared to be very quiet and peaceful.

On arrival we were picked up at the airport. They provide this service free of charge and this is a big plus. When we got to the Estate (the main one down by the river), it was all very nice. I had booked the Jade Suite, and whilst everything that the website says about it is correct, it does not mention that it is actually the bottom floor of a two storey building, with a permanent residence above it. More to follow.

Anyway we settled in and it was indeed very nice inside. A nice living area, impressive kitchen, nice bedroom (the bed was slightly small, but no big deal) and a great private terrace. Breakfast was served every morning on the terrace and it was very good. Fresh fruit, eggs as you like them and ample fresh breads/croissants. There was good wi-fi, easily strong enough to catch up with work when required, and the swimming pool is very nice as described on the website.

We were specifically looking for a quiet, reaxing holiday however, so the biggest issue we had was the NOISE! As I said, factually the Jade Suite is correctly described in the website, but I had maybe assumed it was a stand alone unit. One of the joint owners (I think) lives upstairs however. Whilst not deliberately noisy, we could hear the thump thump thump of footsteps and fairly loud, distinct telephone conversations well into the evening (easily beyond 11pm). If you discount the full-of-backpackers bowling alley and nightclub, there is nothing in Luang Prabang after about 11pm, and we would have liked some earlier nights in bed. This would not have been such a problem was it not for the cacophony that gets going sometime just before 6am. Not only an assortment of animals (which is nature and cannot be avoided), but also the big house boat thing on the river just outside that started work at the same time. I don't know what they were doing, but there was all manner of mechanical clunking and scraping sounds. This was what disappointed me the most. I had wrongly assumed the "Jewel in the Crown" would be a bit more peaceful than this.

A couple of other niggles - quite often there were not enough bicycles available. It's nice that this place is out of the main part of town, but without a bike you have to walk up to the main road and then you may or may not be lucky and get a passing Tuk Tuk. Bicycle is definately the best way to get around the town itself though. We also did not experience the really friendly nature of the place that many others seemed to have. A lot of reviews mention the "smiling Mr Kamphanh" and his warm welcome. I don't think we saw him the whole time we were there, unless he was the less than friendly and certainly not smiling gentleman who took the balance of our payment on our last day. I do experience judgemental attitudes on my travels as I have a Thai partner (even though she is long term and about the same age), but I don't know if this was the case.

Overall, Mekong Estate is a nice set up. I can't really fault the decor, furnishings, facilities etc, and you do get great views over the Mekong. I was just really disappointed that it couldn't provide the relaxation I was looking for (I live and work in the constant bustle of Bangkok), and that to us it just didn't have that special welcoming feel that other reviewers seem to have experienced. As I said though, physically it is pretty nice.

If I returned to Luang Prabang I would probably try somewhere else, but if I did return to Mekong Estate, I certainly would not pay the premium for Jade Suite.

Room Tip: Suggest one slightly back from the river, as it may be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AndyL30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

My wife and I were in the Bamboo Suite #3 and we had an amazing time. The room overlooks the Mekong River and is part of an estate that is very quiet and very pretty. The staff was extremely friendly and while the location wasn't a short walking distance to the main part of town, we always were able to find a tuk tuk within a few minutes of walking out of the property. Overall, we would highly recommend this location to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and romantic time in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.5 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#26 of 69 in Luang Prabang
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
641 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Estate

Property: Mekong Estate
Address: Ban Saylom | Mekong River Bank, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mekong Estate lives up to its name with five stately Lao-colonial style villas, all with a stunning vista of the majestic Mekong River and mountains. Each of the property's 10 well-appointed rooms and suites has a river view, private terrace and kitchen, and is designed to be your home away from home. Founded in 2005 as the first residence service in Luang Prabang, guests get to discover a local atmosphere and home-style comfort, an experience unparalleled to staying at a hotel in town. The rooms boast ample space, light, character and charm. Spacious living extends to the outdoors with verandas, immaculate tropical gardens, a 25m long swimming pool and of course, the property's namesake river. Quite simply, we have the best view of the Mekong in Luang Prabang; watch the world drift by and let time stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Mekong Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mekong Estate Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing