We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stunning - could have stayed there for weeks and so could the kids!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mekong Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mekong Estate
Ranked #38 of 70 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“stunning - could have stayed there for weeks and so could the kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

The Estate is a 5 minute tuktuk ride outside the beautiful Luang Prabang centre but in a world of its own. Approached by a bumpy track with snoozing pigs and giggling children playing, it really is a hidden gem. The property isnt really a hotel, its a collection of apartments from cool and chic to colonial & palacial rented out by the month, week and occasionally a few days. We stayed in the Garden Loft for 3 nights, a stunning bungalow style house overlooking the Mekong with romantic netted bed and lovely furnishings - a perfect honeymoon pad. We had our 7&9 year olds and they adored the place too - from breakfast delivered to the terrace to splashing around in the infinity pool & chasing lizards and the house cat. The owner is charming and his team wonderful. Cant imagine anywhere better to stay in this amazing town - the highlight of our trip.

Room Tip: With 2 kids, ask for the Garden Loft - they convert the sofa into a lovely mosquito neeted den for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theritsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mekongestate, General Manager at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
We do like your description “cool and chic to colonial & palacia renting place”. Thank you for the great compliment. To accommodate family we prefer rent villas, it’s much more comfortable. Garden Loft is more convenient for a couple. However, when the residence it’s fully booked we can extend the service for kids in the loft. For those who are looking for a family house (120 sqm) more central and no pool but a lovely tropical garden overlooking the Mekong, we advise “Maison Vat That” (up to 4 people).The “Duplex City” (70 sqm each) are also recommended to families.
Just a tip for travelers coming soon in Luang Prabang, please note that the famous “long tail boat race” will take place on 28th August. Don’t miss it and take the opportunity to watch the training on the Mekong from you balcony at Mekong Estate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    30
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
69
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is a really nice place that is very relaxing. It is not close to town so you need a tuk tuk for the roughly 5 min ride into town and back (20,000 kip for two people). The rooms however are right on the quiet relaxing Mekong, not across the street. We had a great unobstructed view from our room/balcony. The rooms have bedroom, shower, sitting area/desk/daybed, breakfast area and little kitchenette. There is a very useful mosquito nets around the bed.The pool is maybe one of the nicest i have seen in a hotel. It very long/large with a view of the river. Its a fairly luxurious place but and there is a but...its on a muddy (in august) side road. a 2 min walk to the main street to get a tuk tuk. There is no front desk to ask for assistance and there is no restaurant for lunch or dinner. You do get breakfast in your room ( nicely done eggs, croissants and coffee) but after a long day of sight seeing you don't always feel like dragging yourself out in the rain/heat to eat dinner especially if you've forgotten to order a tuk tuk and you need to walk up the muddy road. All in all, i did enjoy my stay here but beware of the lack of food options on site and the distance from town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mekongestate, General Manager at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for your review which will be obviously useful for new travelers looking for an atypical place to stay on Mekong river bank. Mekong Estate is located in Luang Prabang city, close to the main market (Phosy) and other interest targets as Ock Pop Tok weaving centre, banks, restaurants, handicraft shops, etc. The post office and heart of Heritage area are around 5 mn far by tuk-tuk as you notice.
For the reason you described, many of our guests choose to eat at their villa so we provide, on request, catering from restaurant or home with a large menu of Lao or international cuisine. Some people by food at the market and reheat in their kitchen. We also call drivers to pick-up guests at anytime, boat for day trip, professional for massage on site, books in different languages, etc. All information is inside “guests’ book”. We are always keen to reach the need of our guests so thank you for your objectives comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here, in the Garden Loft, for about a month. The location is the best I've found in Luang Prabang - you can spend hours just watching life on the river pass by. It's a little way out of town, but easy enough to bicycle your way in or take a tuk-tuk. The pool, which overlooks the river is beautiful, and at 25m great for swimming laps. All of the rooms have wonderful river views. Personally, my favourite room is the Garden Loft - it's more private than the others as it's tucked away around the corner from the bigger buildings and the pool with a lovely lawn that leads to the river bank.

This is not really a hotel, which I think a big part of what makes it special. If, however, you want service on demand and cocktails by the pool then this may not be to your liking. It's very relaxed, informal and unpretentious. The design sits beautifully in it's environment and it's all tastefully done but understated.

There is no restaurant here, but they do serve breakfast in your room or on your balcony. You will have to go into town for your other meals, or you can order dinner in from L'Elephant.

Mekong Estate is situated in a local residential area, down a dirt lane. I enjoyed this aspect, although it can be noisy if one of the neighbours has a party, which happened while I was there. They're usually over early though, so it's not so much of a disturbance and does give you a bit of a local culture experience! The only downside of the location was that there was a lot of rain over several days of my stay and the road became very muddy - one night my tuk-tuk got stuck and I had to trudge through the mud. No big deal though, and actually quite a lot of fun.

All in all, a great option for a quiet and relaxed Luang Prabang stay.

Room Tip: Garden Loft for privacy, or one of the higher rooms for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveladdikt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mekongestate, General Manager at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
In term of accommodation Mekong Estate makes the difference in Luang Prabang especially for traveler like you who come for a long stay. We are happy that you appreciate Garden Loft and in general our concept of residence service. On your review you’ve perfectly described it. Thank you for that. Your “word of mouth” will convince other travelers. Mekong Estate offers a “Special week rate”.
This year June had been particularly wet and made the road in Luang Prabang very muddy. Hopefully as you say it isn’t a big deal, even inconvenient, as that doesn’t last
long. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our only mistake was that we didn't stay long enough! We had 3 nights in this beautiful spot. The location is perfect with our balcony overlooking the Mekong. We stayed in the Red House and it is furnished in a comfortable but upmarket way. We overlooked to the infinity pool - a joy to come back to after roaming Luang Prabang. The stroll up the lane was always fun as we watched and were watched by the locals. Tuk tuks were always available on the main road. The staff at The Mekong Estate were friendly and welcoming from when they picked us up at the airport to when we left. It will certainly need a return trip for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mekongestate, General Manager at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you for this warmly reviews. As many guests you noticed that 3 nights isn’t enough to enjoy the beauty of Luang Prabang and especially in Mekong Estate. It’s for this reason that we offer a “Special week rate”. In September everyone can get a 15% discount on all accommodation (minimum 4 nights). It’s wise to book early, some villas are still available.
Mostly our staffs live in the residence area. We are proud to provide them good incomes. The village people are friendly with visitors and happy to say Sabaidee (hello) or learn language. We are looking forward to welcome you again longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

What can I say about this place, I loved it so much that I made it my "home" when I take my bussiness trip. Great services wonderful buidings perfected distance from everything and it made me felt so comfortable everytime I was there. Matter of fact, I told all my family members and highly recommend my friends to stay there if they are in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kayjitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mekongestate, General Manager at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Thank you for your loyalty since Mekong Estate opened in 2006. Like you more and more of our first guests start to come back for a longer stay (eg. 1 month). They enjoy the luxury of a residence service and the friendly atmosphere of Luang Prabang. Sometime they join us at traditional ceremony, wedding party, picnic party, meeting people, etc. They really appreciate to get more of the real life of this amazing county.
We’re delighted to see how our guests feel at home here. Now, it’s wise to book early for long term stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in May - it is absolutately amazing and unique just what all the other reviewers said.

It is set up as a home abroad with great personal touches - the staff are lovely.They even drove us into town one night as it was torrential rain and the tuk tuk wouldn't come out to us.

We used the bikes every day and found some great places - this was one of our highlights on the trip.
We saw life on the Mekong from the balcony of Bamboo 3 and each day brought a surprise.The gardens are beautiful and the butterflies the size of dinner plates.

if you like tranqulity and a unique venue in amongst the local people with the luxury of a beautiful house for your stay - this is the place to be.If you want a european hotel then stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LPBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breiz, General Manager at Mekong Estate, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
Our team is proud about Mekong Estate and does its best everyday to make our guests happy to stay with us. So your review is the best incentive. As you well notice, Mekong Estate is not a standard European hotel. Our concept is a residence service based on friendly atmosphere. We provide complimentary as airport transfers, bike, notebook, free wifi, various books in different languages, mobile phone on request. Guests also enjoy having catering and eating at home especially them who stay few weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

The management and staff were terrific and the ambience idyllic.
We were very sad to leave this oasis of peace and relaxation

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivnlaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.1 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#14 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
1.6 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#6 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 70 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#10 of 70 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mekong Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mekong Estate

Property: Mekong Estate
Address: Ban Saylom | Mekong River Bank, Luang Prabang 06000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mekong Estate 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mekong Estate lives up to its name with five stately Lao-colonial style villas, all with a stunning vista of the majestic Mekong River and mountains. Each of the property's 10 well-appointed rooms and suites has a river view, private terrace and kitchen, and is designed to be your home away from home. Founded in 2005 as the first residence service in Luang Prabang, guests get to discover a local atmosphere and home-style comfort, an experience unparalleled to staying at a hotel in town. The rooms boast ample space, light, character and charm. Spacious living extends to the outdoors with verandas, immaculate tropical gardens, a 25m long swimming pool and of course, the property's namesake river. Quite simply, we have the best view of the Mekong in Luang Prabang; watch the world drift by and let time stand still. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mekong Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mekong Estate Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing