We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect boutique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Lao Wooden House
Ranked #40 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Just lovely! Situated on quiet leafy road parallel with the Mekong, and very close to the main streets, this is a great place to stay. The owner and his 2 sons are very helpful and speak quite good English.. It's a little gem, with 6 rooms ,and a courtyard area with cushioned seats.
There are several restaurants just a short stroll away , (notably Cafe Toui...excellent) with prices much less than on the main streets. I also noticed a laundry and a small grocery store nearby. There are bicycles available from reception.
The rooms are quite small with dark wooden ceilings and walls , but the lighting is good. Our upper floor room (203) has a thick carpet which helps deaden the noise for the room below. There is a fan and an air conditioner. The bathroom is basic but perfectly adequate with plenty of hot water. The safe is an added advantage.
We made our reservation through Booking.com and check in was very straightforward.
The procession of monks passes by from 5.45 onwards.....great location


This made a perfect ending to our visit, and we would thoroughly recommend Lao Wooden House

Room Tip: Now that there are carpets on the upper floor, it doesn't matter which room you are in.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OTG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for Villa Lao Wooden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 143 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

So the situation is like this: If you stay on the river you'll find it too noisy (unless you are a heavy sleeper); if you stay in a typical wooden hotel you'll hear every move from the upstairs rooms. So after a bit of trial and error we moved from the Apsara to The Wooden House, and were very happy we did. The Wooden House is a small hotel, with only 6 rooms, a nice patio and sitting areas where you can relax. Because it is off the main street it is quiet, and because the upstairs rooms have been carpeted you don't hear the noise from above. The owner was extremely accommodating. We arrived without a reservation and got a downstairs room for the first 2 nights, a room in another hotel across the street for the 3rd night, an upstairs room for the 4th night, and another downstairs room for the rest of our stay. Since we travel light this was not a problem, and we became experts in all the double rooms (see tips). Breakfast was better than usual and we enjoyed sitting in the patio and chatting with the other guests. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The biggest rooms are 102 and 202, which are identical in size, but 202 has more natural light.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susana61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a small (6 rooms), family run establisment located off the main street in LP. We stayed in the rooms upstairs as previous reviews had noted the lower rooms can be slightly noisy with footfall but to be honest you will be woken by the roosters at 5am. The rooms are dark (I think this is the case in a lot of the accommodation in LP) but the beds are very comfortable with plenty of hot water for the shower. The breakfast was adequate and is served in the courtyard. The owner is friendly and helpful. We arranged our own mini van trips to the waterfall (50,000 Kip) and to Nong Khiaw (80,000 Kip) via a travel agency next to the Post Office (both were very good and worth using).

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are carpeted to reduce noise transfer to those people staying in the rooms below...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keebo_925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Our family of three stayed at Lao Wooden house for 6 nights. It is central enough to be walking distance to most of the things you want to get to, but off the main strip, so it was quiet. We concur that Vong and his family are extremely helpful and did many things to make our stay easier, including a trip out to the Kuang Si Falls with a special stop at the newly founded Butterfly Farm and arranging a packed breakfast for our slow-boat trip. We would absolutely recommend this place.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank heafah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a small hotel with just six rooms. The owner cannot do enough for you. We had him arrange tours for us and even drive us to the Waterfall and Bear sanctuary. The breakfast is freshly prepared and served in the nicely decorated courtyard. It is very central and even the morning parade of monks (at sunrise) passes by the front gate. The only drawback is if you have a lower level room the noise of the people walking on the floor above can be quite intrusive. Overall a great little hotel run by great people. I would certainly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floor
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ericon991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My family (including two teenagers) recently stayed for five nights at Lao Wooden House. It is a charming guesthouse with just six rooms. It is located in a quiet street and is an easy walk to both the rivers, the night market and all of the restaurants. The guesthouse is owned by Vong and his family who were extremely welcoming and very attentive. Vong is very efficient and happily organised a number of outings for us. The rooms are comfortable and clean and a good size and the price is very reasonable. As others have mentioned, there is a peaceful courtyard where breakfast is served and gorgeous verandahs where you can relax after a day's activities. I would highly recommend this guesthouse and would definitely go there again if we ever have the chance to return to the wonderful Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 255060Traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a five week trip to Cambodia and Laos. The last week we spent at the Lao Wooden House and we loved every minute of our stay there. The location could not be better as we seemed a world away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist attractions but it was actually just a short block to either the center of town or the riverfront shops and restaurants. Breakfast was delicious and generally served on the very pretty front brick patio....juice, fresh fruit, bread that was delivered every morning, eggs, and ham if you would like. Almost right across the street their is a small convenience store, a laundry, and a place where you can get a traditional Lao massage. All in all our week in Luang Prabang was a wonderful experience and, if we are very fortunate, we will go back again and stay at the Lao Wooden House!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmrhoads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 68 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lan Kham Riverside
Lan Kham Riverside
#38 of 68 in Luang Prabang
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#23 of 68 in Luang Prabang
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#36 of 68 in Luang Prabang
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Lao Wooden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Lao Wooden House

Address: Ban Wat nong, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $22 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Lao Wooden House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Lao Wooden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Lao Wooden House Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing