We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Lao Wooden House
Nearby Hotels
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$192
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
$124
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$82
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$73
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
62
64
23
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
64
23
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmr vongthe main streetguest house was perfectcity landmarksfreshly baked baguettesshort walkingfelt immediately at homebook transportnight marketoutstanding locationbeautiful dark woodtamarind jamthe riverlaundry donekuang si waterfallluang probangdownstairs room
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 154 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here. The room was fine, bathroom could do with an upgrade, but it was great to have an area to sit outside. Room had tv, fridge ac etc plus a basic breakfast was included. The staff were really friendly and the location was good within walking distance to everything. Wifi worked well in the room as well as communal area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Beautiul , bit rugged old house with charm and grace. Staff very friendly late night by our unannounced arrival with four children! Rooms spacy and wellcleaned, beds allright.
Breakfast an experience by itself in openair roofed setting by beutiful garden with madame serving by the tables.
In all a pleasant stay!!!

Room Tip: Higher floor for more peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed here in January for 3 nights.
The location was perfect, just a short walk to main street or the river.
Just 6 rooms available in a quiet street.
Rooms were very clean and breakfast was served outside each room on the balcony or in the small courtyard. Close to all sites of interest and restaurants.
Would certainly recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maggy1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

The wooden house is alright at best. Certainly not worth the $40 per night, but luang prabang is an expensive place and we stayed at a worse place for the same price on our first night. Positives: the location really is excellent. Just a street away from the river on one side and the main street on the other. Easy walking distance to the night market and many nice restaurants. The rooms are very clean and quite large for a guesthouse. The shower had the best pressure of any other shower I've had in SE Asia. I was very sad to leave it behind!
Negatives: the walls are very thin. We could hear the man next door to us snoring at night and you can hear other people going to the toilet. Not ideal. As mentioned in previous reviews the rooster behind the guesthouse really is horrendous. It is like the lead rooster, as in the one that starts first and all the other roosters in the area follow. The noise started at 4am on the dot every morning. I know it's common on laos, but it is quite disruptive. The breakfast that is included is very ordinary just a microwaved baguette (when there are bakeries selling fresh every two or three buildings!) and and apple. The staff are not very attentive. The manager is ok, but he wasn't there very often and the other staff spoke hardly any English. This made organizing day trips and transport rather difficult.

All that being said it was still far better than the place we stayed on our first night (villa merry 3) and seemed full the whole time we stayed there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in late June 2011 (1 week ago). We loved it. The room was large, clean, cool and quiet. The staff were attentive and helpful and gave us a good rate when we turned up on their doorstep after a 13hr bus ride. Breakfast wasn't included, but we were glad for it. There are so many great places to grab a nice breakfast in Luang Prabang that it's great to get out of the hotel early.

The room had a real historical antiquey feel, which added to it's charm, but it was still very well equipped and large!! The bed was big and comfortable, then room was well equipped, the room was large, the shower was hot and had good pressure, free wireless in the rooms, and the location of the hotel is pretty much perfect.

The only thing that I would agree with the other reviewers on here is that the walls are a bit thin, but we were on the top level and there are only 3 rooms up there, so you don't here much from anyone. The most noisy thing was the rooster next door, but you get that in most hotels in Laos!

Room Tip: Look for top floor rooms, and on the end if poss.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshfromMelbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews