We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay”
Review of Rama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rama
Ranked #59 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Breakfast is very limited... Room is old... Lobby is hot... Staffs are very friendly... Quite some walk to the market...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YulitaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rama, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Rama Hotel

Thank you so much for taking your time to review Rama Hotel. It helps us to improve in our guest relation and services. Luang Prabang is very hot and I am sorry that my staffs did not turn the Air con at the Lobby. I have noted and discuses at length with them so that what happen to you will not happen again.

I want to thank you for your input about the breakfast too, it help us to improve on the breakfast menu.

We are doing our best to improve on everything for which we have just re-refurbished the whole hotel. Please do visit us again so that we can offer a better service to you.

Best Regards
Rama Hotel Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    21
    12
    7
See reviews for
8
20
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
worldwide Brits
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

If, like most people, you arrive in Luang Prabang via the boat from Thailand, the hotel is not actually far from the jetty so be careful when agreeing a tuk tuk price. Not that you'd want to walk of course but there you go.

The hotel is clean, the rooms are a good size with a fridge and TV. Shower room was OK too. The air con in our room dripped a bit.

The staff here are really nice and helpful.

The hotel is a fairly short walk to the main street in Luang Prabang so a good location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilsonandmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rama, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Valued guest,

Greetings from Rama Hotel

Thank you for taking your time to review Rama Hotel. I want to thank you for staying with us and giving your valuable information here. I am very sorry to hear that the air con in your room wasn't working well as it should be and your comment is taken seriously. Your comments helps us to give better service to our guest. We have just refurbished the whole hotel and I am very positive that you will have a better experience with Rama Hotel in your next visit.

Please do visit us so that we have another opportunity to serve you.

Best Regards
Rama Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Very polite and friendly staff, helpful with anything you need. Good breakfast, clean rooms with hot shower and TV, nice roof terrace.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rama, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Valued Customer,

Greetings from Rama Hotel

Thank you so much for staying at Rama Hotel and taking your time to review.
Thank you for your gracious review and I hope you will visit us again soon.

Best Regards
Rama Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Well priced at USD 40 per night, the RAMA is in a great location just a few minutes walk from the town center and other great attractions such as the view point and temple. The pilgrims cafe, right next to the lobby, makes great Indian food and serves up a very good cappucino made from Lao coffee. The masala tea is also very good. Clean and confortable rooms and the helpful, friendly staff make a stay at the RAMA a nice experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEGA-ASIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Rama, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Dear Valued customer,

Greetings from Rama Hotel.
Thank you so much for staying with us at Rama Hotel and for taking your time to review.

I am really happy to know that you had a good time at Rama and also like our food.
You are now part of our family so please feel that Rama Hotel is your home away from home.
We hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes
Management
Rama Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Me and my wife decided to stay in this hotel when we meet the manager in pligrim's cafe as it is managed by the same person.The room we stayed was a delux room and it was very cheap,clean and good.The staff were the best i would say so helpful.The earlier hotel we stayed in luang prabang main city was not like this and was over priced.It took us 10 min's to walk to the night market which is very close and the best thing was it is the oldest Hotel out there and the tallest.Old hotel but well managed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The rooms were quite old but very clean and the beds were very good like any other 4* or 5* hotels.We stayed in a delux room and we loved it. The staff were so helpful and the manager helped us alot with all tours and transport.Located in the perfect place away from the main noisy crowd.The night market is just around 10 mins walk from the hotel.Peace and lovely place to stay

Room Tip: delex room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenna t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We checked into the Rama after having to leave our previous accommodation as the beds were just too hard for us. The beds at the Rama were a delight – soft and comfortable. The room had a desk with a proper computer chair, tasteful modern pictures and plenty of storage space. The aircon unit was quiet and efficient. Whilst the bathroom did everything required of it, it was in need of updating and of some shelving for toiletries.
The staff on reception were always helpful and friendly and the manager, Danny, was always available to help with any problems or attend to your needs. He booked our flight from Luang Prabang to Siem Reap for us.
Breakfast was a huge disappointment with very little to offer. There was bread but no toaster, eggs (fried or scrambled and cold) and fried rice or cold chips. The teas on offer were ginger or fruit and the coffee was lukewarm and horrid. There were options that you could buy and I had an amazing granola and yoghurt – highly recommended, though disappointing that you had to pay because the inclusive breakfast was inedible.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.7 mi away
Chang Inn
Chang Inn
#45 of 69 in Luang Prabang
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
#46 of 69 in Luang Prabang
78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrab...
#38 of 69 in Luang Prabang
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 69 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
Manoluck Hotel
Manoluck Hotel
#57 of 69 in Luang Prabang
27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
Villa Laodeum Nam Khan View
#35 of 69 in Luang Prabang
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama

Property: Rama
Address: Visounnarath Rd, Luang Prabang 186, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rama 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rama hotel's aim is to provide comfort and high standards at economical rates. It is centrally located within walking distance from many famous bars and restaurants, ancient temples, the famous night market, Nam khan and the beautiful Phousi Mountain, making it the perfect choice for travelers looking to revitalize their bodies. Rooms feature the latest modern amenities including satellite TV, high speed Wi-Fi, hot shower and a fridge. You'll feel right at home at Rama Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing