We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cafe de Laos Inn
Nearby Hotels
$105
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$99
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
$136
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$98
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$88
$74
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
$46
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $52/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$86
$83
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$298
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao(Luang Prabang)
$410
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
30
42
20
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
42
20
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschang innthe main streetburasari heritagemonks walklpalmsprabang
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 109 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2008

From the moment we stepped off the plane from Hanoi, we could sense a peacefullness in Luang Prabang.

The Chang Heritage Hotel is very new and because all developments in this UNESCO town need to conform to strict heritage guidelines, it s obvious that the owners have blended modern facilities with a design that fits with the beautiful surroundings.

The location is on the banks of the Nam Khan River which joins the Mekong about 250 meters away. Just around the corner is the main street (LP only has 3 or 4 streets) where a number of temples and all the other things you need to see are located. Being at the northern end of LP, this is a great position to see the alms offering to the monks at 6am every day.

We were shown to a beautiful living room and offered a welcome drink on arrival. The staff then showed us to our first floor room that was decorated with silks, art and contained all the modern facilities you would expect.

Breakfast was served in either their indoor restaurant or the little outdoor restaurant that overlooked the Nam Khan River.

This property may not suit if you want all the facilities of a bigger international hotel, but if you want to experience truly personalised Lao hospitality, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HobartResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2008

I stayed for 8 nights at The Chang Inn during the end of monsoon/buddhist lent festival.

The location is great. Just out of the main area but easy walking distance to all the major temples, sites, night market, both rivers, lots of restaurants. The appearance of the hotel is very quaint and many people stopped to take pictures of it. It looks especially good at night.
I was collected at the airport in a vintage Mercedes 280S with a driver and staff member. A lovely cold lemongrass tea awaited me and then I was shown to my lovely room(4) at the front of the hotel. It was very quiet while I was there apart from one group of Thai tourists who stayed two nights. The rest of the time there were only one or two rooms booked. November however, appears to be fully booked. One of the most comfortable king sized beds I have ever slept in and a room full of antiques inside of gorgeous (locked) Thai furniture.This hotel is Thai owned and the entire lobby/living area is full of interesting (some bizarre) artifacts. There are only 8 rooms in this hotel but a bigger, new hotel called the The Chang Heritage has opened just around the corner. Rooms 4 and 7 appeared to be the pick at The Chang Inn and cost slightly more. The walls are quite thin so you can hear the phone in reception ring all the time which was annoying especially when it was the middle of the night.
The bathroom let the room down as it was very small and dark and I had some plumbing issues in the shower which resulted in my bathroom flooding each time I had a shower. When they removed the drain, it was fine. There was also no facewasher in the bathroom so I had to go and buy one. I would have expected a hotel of this level (for Laos) to have these as well as a clock in the room. All soaps and shampoo are liquid in a pottery pot which is cute.
I was informed afterwards that the cushions on the bed were Jim Thompson which I now know is impressive.
There is a nice communal balcony at the back of the hotel to sit and read on. Breakfast is served either in the palmed courtyard behind the hotel or on the front porch and the breakfast staff are so polite. A couple more choices would have been nice as I ate fruit, yoghurt and baguette every morning as I didnt want an American breakfast.
All staff are so welcoming, polite and attentive. They are constantly smiling and happy to provide any advice. A lovely touch was a Thai desert delivered each night to my room (complimentary)
The hotel is right on the route the monks take to receive their alms so I sat on the front step each morning with one of the staff members to just watch them walk past literally a metre away. The staff were more than happy to answer my questions. Some of them had been monks so had plenty of information. You can't help but wake to see this as you can hear the commotion out on the street and can actually see the monks from one of your windows. I couldn't believe the behaviour of some other tourists running at the monks to get photos and even cutting through the procession. The hotel can arrange an offering for you to give out the front but I didn't feel this was appropriate for me.
A slight mix up with the bill was swiftly rectified and my transfer back to the airport was lovely.
Overall, a gorgeous boutique hotel with great staff which just needs a couple of slight changes to make it pretty much perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradletn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

This place was fantastic. After one night in a very poor guesthouse, we looked for somewhere better and found this place.

We were a party of two couples and although the rooms were small and a little dark, they were well furnished, air conditioned with great showers and bathrooms and spotlessly clean. The two rooms we were in had use of a balcony at the rear overlooking the courtyard garden at the rear. Perfect for a beer or coffee at sunset.

Breakfast was served either on the balcony, in the rear garden or on the verandah at the front where we could sit and watch the world go by.

The staff were wonderful, so friendly and helpful and made us wish that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

During our month long trip to Thailand and Laos, we stayed in Luang Prabang for 3 nights. We did not prebook any hotels prior to arriving and walked around the city center looking for a hotel.

We initially stated at at Villa Santi ($100 US/night) and was an older hotel. Not very impressed with the hotel, as they have 2 wings. One main section, where the reception desk was and the other wing across the street. Thought it was a pricey for what you get. Old rustic feel, which if you are into that, is great, but not for $100US/night in Laos.

Second night, we ventured into the Chang Inn. Which at the time when we went was opened for only 2 months. It was new and clean, with various antiques in the lobby. It looks like a converted house, which was perhaps why I felt like home. Mind you, with this in mind, be prepared for the thin walls, as mentioned, it is an old converted house with about 10 rooms or so.

Price was descent ($60US for downstairs room and $80US for upstairs larger rooms). The staff was absolutely the friendliest and niciest for any hotel I've ever stayed (be if high end luxury or pure and simple). Breakfast is included in the price, which you will get to enjoy in their restaurant out back. It's very tropical and you feel as if you are eating in a someone's lovely garden.

The Chang Inn is expanding and building a larger hotel one street over from their current location.

The Inn was across the street from the 3 Nagas hotel, and is in the center of the city.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank worldnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BurasariGroup G, General Manager at Cafe de Laos Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews